We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical but not cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Ranked #586 of 1,068 Hotels in London
PACA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Practical but not cosy”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On the plus side, the hotel is well-situated, well appointed and clean.

However, we did not actually feel welcome. The receptionist's attitude was more like that of a landlord than of a hotel receptionist. You also need to be aware of lack of lift and that the stairs become ever steeper and narrower as you go up. The soundproofing between rooms is unsatisfactory and there was a very audible buzzing in our room when we got to it. Having negotiated the steep descent to reception (3rd floor, no phone in the room) and then climbed back up with the receptionist, it turned out to be the extractor fan in the next room's bathroom. They were asked to turn it off, and we were made to feel guilty about this.

The fan was turned on again at 05:30 the following morning.

Overall, a shame because it could easily leave a much better impression, but I would never go back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kikPaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    107
    39
    17
    11
See reviews for
35
77
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Empuriabrava, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a small and very low priced hotel in the center of London. It is close by Baker Street Tube Station and 10 mins walk from Oxford street shopping. Lots of interesting places to eat nearby and on Baker Street. It is excellent quality and service for the price with very clean modern rooms.. The reception is very friendly. The only slight downside is it does not have a lift and I was on the fourth floor. It was not a problem for me in fact I enjoyed the exercise but if stairs are a problem then be sure to ask for a room on the lower floors. It would be difficult to find a better value hotel in the center of London.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Headed for a night out in London and this place is everything you could ask for, clean, modern and large rooms. Ours had a sofa, kitchen area, double bed, wardrobe and a large bathroom, all for £85 per couple, bargin! Only a £10 taxi back from Mahiki as well so ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 428Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here one night and enjoyed our stay. We checked in without a problem and were taken to our room on the third floor. There doesn't seem to be a lift but then again I didn't look for one.

The room and bathroom were both clean. There was a fridge and microwave in the room and a sofa bed too. The bed was fine.

There was wifi but for some reason all the guests could only get it in the stairwell and not in their rooms. We found this a problem too.

Upon checkout we were allowed to use the hotel's computer and printer to print off our boarding passes for our flight free of charge which was very kind.

I would certainly recommend this friendly small hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Marylebone hotel last weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We found the food, accommodation and especially the service to be absolutely excellent. The staff were so polite, obliging and helpful - every single staff member we engaged with were so courteous and professional. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Marylebone hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianabc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

There are plenty of high rate luxury hotels in London. But if you just need a decent place to stay, in a strategic area to visit the city, this small hotel is a good option. Yes, the man at the reception does not dress like a London Lord, but he is very kind and does his best to meet your requirements, e.g. an early check-in, or an immediate help to find the company of the taxi where I left my backpack. Our room had a well equipped kitchen, and all confort needed after one day walking, TV included. There is not elevator, but this is not unusual in London.
Just a few minutes from the Baker Street underground station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

There's almost never anyone at the reception and you can forget about room service, but given the price, rooms are fairly spacious and well appointed: you even get a kitchenette. Also, it can get very hot in the summer, and you'll have to climb a lot of stairs. But the location is great, Marylebone is such a cool neighborhood, and the nearby Baker Street station connects to just about all of London. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregglac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#449 of 1,068 in London
663 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#255 of 1,068 in London
180 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#268 of 1,068 in London
235 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,068 in London
3,470 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#611 of 1,068 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marylebone Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marylebone Inn Hotel

Property: Marylebone Inn Hotel
Address: 119 Gloucester Place, London W1U 6JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marylebone Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marylebone Inn Hotel is definitely a great spot from which to explore all that this fantastic city has to offer.Our en-suite rooms provide the perfect alternative to a hotel. We have 22 fully refurbished en-suite bedrooms available. Each has its own brand new kitchen and bathrooms with plasma TV's and broadband in every room.Our desire is to ensure you feel entirely at home, which is stylishly furnished and boasts a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, sure to appeal to business and pleasure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Marylebone Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickenhall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing