We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Ranked #421 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a theatre package for 1night. The reception staff were very accomodating and friendly with any questions we had. The room was clean, we had twin beds, tea and coffee facilities and a reasonable sized bathroom. Many reviews stated that thw rooms were "tiny", they are a comfortable size and had plenty of room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolina_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsBloomsburyPark, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. There are plenty of theatres in the Bloomsbury Park area so hopefully we’ll see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    440
    174
    56
    29
See reviews for
184
339
55
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Bloomsbury Park for one night on New Years Eve. Check in was quick and easy, we had arrived early but our room was available straight away. The room was clean and tidy with plenty of tea and coffee supplies and bathroom items. The bathroom was a bit small, with a shower but no bath. Plenty of clean towels.
The hotel is located between Holborn and Russell Square tube stations and very convenient.with many attractions within easy walking distance.
We had a drink in the hotel bar before going out for the evening, it was a nice relaxing atmosphere.
We choose this hotel as we were able to walk to the embankment to see the New Years Eve firework display. We had a great night. It did take longer walking back because of all the crowds! but an ideal location for us as no queuing for the tube.The bar was still open when we returned and our room was lovely and warm.
Breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to set us up after a late night. Plenty of choice and friendly staff. As it was New Years day breakfast was being served all morning! There are plenty of coffee bars and restaurants in the area.
Our room was at the front, so a bit noisy but we were really tired so not a problem for us!
Lift was really small and rather slow but we only had light luggage, might be a bit awkward if you had large suitcases.
We would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Traffic noise can be heard on rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1147GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsBloomsburyPark, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear VisitorGG

Thank you for your review and for spending the new year with us. Glad that we could make the start of your 2014 extra special. I'm particularly pleased to see that our staff maintained their excellent standard of customer service throughout.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of the Bloomsbury Park and found the whole experience of our two night stay excellent. The rooms are very clean, modern and well equipped. The reception staff are very pleasant. The hotel is ideally located to the Russell square tube station for airport transfers and the hotel is only a short walk to Covent Garden and all other attractions. We would highly recommend this hotel and would most defiantly stay again. The only very very very small negative is the floor in room 104 made a lot of squeaking when walked on. Over all a great city centre hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JandDatOCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsBloomsburyPark, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear JandDatOCD

Happy new year!

Thank you for your positive review and for bringing to our attention the issue regarding room 104. I'm going to speak with George, our maintenance manager, and see what we can do to rectify this.

If you're ever in London again please feel free to give us a call directly- that'll ensure you get the best available rate.

Kind Regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a theatre break, and it's perfect. Good location, very friendly, helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. Quiet, comfortable room with all requirements. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsBloomsburyPark, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear ggatsby

We really appreciate your review and it's this positivity that drives us to excel in our jobs every day. Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Always find booking hotels in London a nightmare but this place was a gem. 10 minute walk from theatre land, lovely staff and great food. The room was small but our one at the back was very quiet and clean. Beds were also comfy. Would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsBloomsburyPark, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear emmaf14

We're definitely blessed with such a central location and are also lucky to have such great staff. The recognition is very much appreciated so thank you.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is on Southampton Row, right between the Holborn and Russell Square tube stations, a short ride to anywhere in London, and quite a short walk to the British Museum. The room was small but comfortable, though there was no tub in the bathroom. Very reasonably-priced overall, including the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LGevarticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsBloomsburyPark, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear LGevarticus

Thank you for your great review - and on Christmas day!

Happy new year. We look forward to seeing you if you're ever in London again. Always contact us directly for the best rate.

Kind Regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights this week while my daughter was in the nearby hospital. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was cleaned every day, including clean towels. The food was excellent without being too rich. The hotel is perfectly placed for Covent Garden and Oxford Street as well as the Theatres. We will definitely stay at the Bloomsbury Park again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsBloomsburyPark, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Anne H

Thank you for your review. It's great that we were able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#335 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#293 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#478 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Bloomsbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Property: Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing