We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location at a good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Ranked #404 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Spent 6 nights at the Bloomsbuy Part in April 14. I was greeted by the staff when I arrived and provided with a map of London and some additional information such as tips on ways to save money on the train and to get a prepaid SIM card (life saver by the way).

The location is perfect, I walked to everything and never had any issues. You are about 20-40 mins from a huge number of popular locations whether you are visiting for tourism or fun. There are some great restaurant very nearby and the hotel restaurant is superb. I had dinner twice downstairs before going out. The food was very good and the prices were great.

There are coffee places everywhere when you exit, you could try a new one every day and never repeat over the course of 10 days or so.

The rooms are average size with comfortable beds. They have a modern feel and include all of the basics (iron, hair dryer, tea pot, TV, clothes hangers, etc.) The bathroom was a bit tight but useable. Plenty of hot water and supplied body wash and shampoo and bar soap. The was an electronic safe in the small closet which is a nice feature as well.

My room had a view of the street which was nice, but noisy. A siren seemed to come down the road a least 5-6 times a day during the few hours I was in the room. They did offer me a room in the back of the hotel and did say that they were much quieter than the street side.

The WiFi was incredibly fast for a hotel (18Mpbs down, 23Mbps up). I was able to do research for trip planning and watch videos no problem.

My only issue is breakfast is not included and if you do not purchase a voucher from the front desk they charge 23 pounds for it. Way overpriced, the voucher is 10 pounds which is a bit more reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a SIM card for your phone with a data plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thung88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Feel free to contact us directly if you're looking to stay again in the future.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    423
    165
    51
    28
See reviews for
177
325
53
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Spent 4 nights here during the London marathon. Place is ideally situated, 10 mins walk to Covent Gdn and 15 mins to Trafalger Sq. Hotel room was spotlessly clean as was the hotel in general. Staff were fantastic, polite and courteous. Breakfast was fantastic with everything you could wish for.
The only reason I've given this hotel 5 out of 5, is because there wasn't any more stars to tick!!!!
This is the place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. If you're back next year then please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for one night whilst visiting London for our wedding anniversary.
Got an upgrade for minimal cost and when we returned later a large bowl of fruit and a card from the hotel was in the room
Every member of staff we came into contact with was professional, friendly and cheerful.
The room was one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in, housekeeping way above it's 3 star rating.
Location is good for all the places you are likely to go and if like me you prefer to drive into the city parking is close by.
Only ate breakfast but again it was of a high standard.
we will definitely use this hotel again when we travel to London

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad that we were able to make your wedding anniversary extra special. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great location, with in easy reach of a number of attractions. Walked everywhere.
Room was a typical hotel room in style and furniture but very clean and had everything we needed. Hairdyer, iron, kettle etc. Bed was extremely comfy and this made for a good nights sleep.
Staff great, very friendly and helpful.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollymuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I'm particularly pleased to read that the staff were their usual excellent self.

Hopefully we'll see you again if you're looking to stay in this part of London.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A group of 10 were booked into this hotel on business for between 1-2 nights. We were all booked into doubles, but the Thistle had somehow overbooked and 4 of our group were put into singles. This was not at all acceptable and on complaining we were simply offered a couple of bottles of wine. I later discovered that my room was missing a hairdryer and the tv was disconnected from the mains and when I complained again we were offered accommodation at a sister hotel in London, but this was several hours after check in and inconvenient by that point. My single room was absolutely tiny. I'm not even convinced the bed was a normal size single, it was so narrow. The mattress was covered with a mattress topper, which was lumpy and unpleasant to sleep on. The room was essentially clean, but tired looking. Windows are single glazed and so any noise outside can be heard clearly. The walls between rooms are also very thin and you can hear all the movements of people in the corridor. A colleague was disturbed both nights of her stay by rowdy neighbouring guests in the early hours of the morning. On both occasions she informed reception, who failed to do anything. She also reported that her room smelt of faeces. Breakfast was ok, but there are cheaper chains that provide a much wider range of fresher options. There was also no working lift, which is extremely inconvenient when you're staying on the fourth floor. Overall, a very disappointing business visit with little recognition that reducing the rate to the company (but only to reflect the fact that we stayed in singles, but doubles) would not compensate such a disappointing stay. Avoid - we're certainly not returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MelMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

I can assure you that this was looked into very seriously at the time and whilst you were clearly not satisfied, this is not the type of scenario that defines us.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

10 min walk from Euston train station. Between Russell Square and Holborn tube stations. This hotel is possibly the cleanest we've ever stayed in. We usually stay in 4/5 star this place is a hidden gem. All areas that we saw were well maintained. No dust or fluff in room, Mirrors and glass surfaces polished to perfection. Bedding like new. Bed very comfortable. Kettle in room. Iron and board and a fan in wardrobe. Decent full sized high power hairdryer in room. Toiletries in bathroom. Safe in wardrobe. Everything you could need. Free wifi. Only slight issue being at the front of hotel was we could hear the pedestrian crossing until about 10pm ( its goes off constantly). Loads of eateries and shops within yards. Pizza, Indian, Italian, Subway, Tesco, gift shops and independent stores. Staff were brilliant. Seemed happy to be there, even the cleaners were cheerful. We didn't eat in the hotel but it does offer gluten free items on the menu at great prices! I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from road crossing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words. You've highlighted many of our best features.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

With a deceptive entrance you enter the reception area which is tucked in and walk narrow stairs to reach your room which is small for two becomes a crowd, neat, tidy and decent. Staff very supportive and breakfast very good. Well located with lots of dining options in and around. All essential requirements provided in the room including an iron with a table neatly tucked at the back of the cupboard. Stayed for 2N and found it comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhishi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#327 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#310 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#447 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Bloomsbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Property: Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing