We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to fault” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Ranked #407 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I have just spent a long week-end here. We arrived before official check in time - no problem. The room was a good size with a huge comfortable bed and we had 3 very quiet nights. The hotel was in good location, with plenty of restaurants nearby and no more than a 20 minute walk to Covent Garden and a 15/20 minute walk to King's Cross. The pricing was good. A big plus is the staff. They are uniformly friendly, helpful and informative; Nothing is too much trouble for them. One downside on hot nights might be the lack of air-conditioning; it didn't affect us and rooms are supplied with a fan. Unlike many hotels wi-fi is free. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationsip Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

I'm very pleased that you and your wife had a great stay. We're always here if you're back down in London so please feel free to get in touch with us directly for the best rate at the time.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    423
    167
    51
    28
See reviews for
178
325
53
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of my hen do and cannot fault the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff with good sized rooms at a good price. Bar opened for us on arrival back at the hotel after our night out, nothing was too much trouble! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

It always makes me happy when we're part of important occasions. I'm glad that we were able to make it extra special.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

booked hotel as part of a theatre break,rang hotel before arrival and explained night was a anniversary treat for wife as a surprise I requested a room upgrade this cost a additional £20 but I feel it was well worth it......room was spotlessly clean,nice and quiet and the bed was huge and incredibly comfortable.Fifteen minutes after getting in our room there was a knock on the door and there was a waiter with ice bucket and complimentery bottle of wine from the management.The chap on front desk Sharma was his name I believe couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant overall a thoroughly enjoyable break made even better by a excellent experience at this hotel....highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mills705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and for providing a perfect real life example of the personalised service we provide at the Bloomsbury Park Hotel.

Hopefully we'll see you again if you're down in London.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Myself and my boyfriend were just in london for a few days and this was perfect for us. Other than a slight issue with the shower not draining straight away there were no issues we came across. It really was in the best location. surrounded by restaurants and only a ten/fifteen minute walk to leicester square and theatres. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you had a great time. Thank you for pointing out that particular issue as well.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel was very easy to find and in easy walking distance from Kings Cross and the main London attractions.
All of the staff were very courteous and pleasant, the room was exceptionally clean and tidy and the food was very reasonably priced.

The room was small though and we had a wall as our view, but the whole stay was a great experience. Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad that we were able to help make your trip so memorable.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

On arrival I was greated by smartly dressed staff you informed me that i had been given a free upgraded room.
The room was really nice and smelt fantastic all of the usual amenities were there and the room was really quiet which is great for a London location.

Hugely impressed will stay there again without doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for the internal rooms that dont back onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review and for highlighting some of our best features. If you're in London again and wanted to stay with us then please feel free to contact directly for the best deal.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I work for an international organisation and have travelled all over the world for years. We've stayed in countless hotels including many in London but none have exceeded our expectations like the Bloomsbury Park. Yes ok, it's not that fancy or plush but it's well decorated, good value, clean and the customer service is amazing. Really it's the attitude of the staff that make this hotel so very good. Nothing is too much trouble for them including giving us a larger room with a travel cot for our baby when we had originally only asked for a single occupancy at no extra charge. Literally every member of staff from front desk to housekeeping, from maintenance to waiters have been so friendly and helpful (not that common to find in London). I will certainly be back and would encourage others to try this little gem of a London hotel too.

Room Tip: The lift is very small and slow so a lower floor means you have the option of using the stairs. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. We thrive off friendliness and positivity here at the Bloomsbury Park hotel, so it's great that you noticed.

Kind regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#329 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#302 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#55 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Bloomsbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Property: Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing