We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, Smaller Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Ranked #420 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience, Smaller Property”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Thistle at Bloomsbury Park is a smaller boutique style hotel. We stayed there for 5 days on a school trip and really enjoyed my stay.There are a few downfalls such as, 1 small elevator, small rooms, few electrical outlets, and no air conditioning. They do offer free wifi and smart board for web browsing in the lobby, as well as a friendly and helpful staff. There is a restaurant and bar beside the lobby that is top notch. The breakfast was very good every morning and the service was exceptional. Since we are college students and like to drink, we spent a good amount of time at the bar. The staff was extremely friendly and professional. It is really interesting that the staff has their home flag on their badge. Mo(UK) was the bartender the first night and did some really cool bar tending flare. Antonio( Italy) was really cool and gave us great traveling advice to out trip to Italy after our stay in London. Iwonna (Poland) was the manager at night and went above and beyond making sure we were taken care of. It was amazing how well she would multitask from the guests, employees, and management duties. The prices were very reasonably priced. They also had the cheapest beer we found in London! We were staying there during the release of their new menu and computer system and the staff never skipped a beat which is very impressive. Overall I would definitely recommend this property to someone who wants to save some money and does not want to stay in a fancy resort style hotel.

Room Tip: There is no AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive words. Mo, Antonio and Iwona are particularly please with what you had to say. Feel free to contact us directly in the future if you're looking to stay in London again.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    445
    179
    56
    29
See reviews for
188
345
56
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on business travel. Everything was upto expectation regarding check in, room decor and amenities. Can't be faulted on that. Overall a decent London city option but for two flags. On both days I had breakfast in the restaurant, picked up the plates and they were scummy on the bottom. On the second day actually had to go through a few before I found a plate I could use. In the bathroom, that faint ring in the bathtub and the residue in the sink when the water was draining slowly was very off putting. Get cleaning !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalMsafiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We take all comments of this nature seriously and I assure you that it has been investigated since. Our housekeepers and staff in general are well trained and are being continuously developed. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My company provides a lot of business to this hotel as it is not far from the London Head Office, and is at a convenient location. I have stayed at the Thistle Euston before, with no problems. I refuse to stay at this one again, as do some of my colleagues.

Five of us checked in - this took some time. Two of the five rooms had issues with the state of repair / small size. One of the rooms could not be entered (top floor) as the key did not work. Reception found this amusing.

Cost was approx. £180 per room, per night. There was no air conditioning, hence I had to open the window as far as it would go (not far!). Noisy Central London traffic and the smoke and noise rising from the pubs below, plus the heat, meant I got about 2 hours sleep. Not great.

A group of us came into the hotel bar at around 11.30pm. We asked is the bar was still open. The Bar manager must have had a bad day - she ignored us first, then grudgingly served us, taking my Room Number. She then came over and then loudly announced that this was not acceptable, and I would have to pay now. No problem! By midnight, she turned all the lights off in the bar and restaurant, leaving us residents in the dark, and left without speaking.

I went looking for a manager, but there was only a lad at reception who was unsure what to do.

Never, ever again! The manager apparently emailed some mealy mouthed apology to the travel company that books our business accommodation, offering a future discount of 25% - but I'd rather stay elsewhere.

Central London complacency - employing young (probably inexperienced staff - probably well underpaid) staff, no obvious management, and a very rude bar manager, who should not really be in the hospitality industry. Charge top money for poor service, because they know they will fill the rooms.

Room Tip: Five of us did not find a good room - we are surveyors though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I can assure you that we take all comments of this nature quite seriously and some of the issues raised have been investigated.

One thing we're particularly good at here is customer service, and I can assure you that training is our number one priority. Our staff has a fairly wide age range, so I was surprised when you mentioned they were all young. In addition we do have management at reception all times of the day, so all feedback is welcomed there so we can do everything in our power to help you and make you completely satisfied.

If you're ever looking to stay again in the future on a personal basis then you're more than welcome to give us a call directly for our best available rate on the day.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Thistle Hotel is a far, small and expensive hotel. Stayed for six days on tour the breakfast spread was consistent and was not changed at all. Lone restaurant was very clean and organized though and the staff warm and accommodating. Fluffy pillows, clean comfort room, modern style fixtures but no window, poor acoustics and small elevators. The hotel was basically an old apartment converted to a hotel. I would want to try other areas in London sometime where there is more action such as Piccadilly, West End or Trafalgar area.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the swinging separator doors. guests are disturbed when people go thru
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunJacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're always looking at ways of improving our product so this is very useful. It's a shame that you did not get to fully appreciate Bloomsbury though. We're right in the centre of London and have many hidden gems - we're also very close to all of the places you've mentioned.

Hopefully we'll see you again.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here on business a few times, always comfortable, staff very welcoming and friendly. Rooms are a bit 'bijou' and those at the front a little noisy in the evening with the street noise (and opening a window is the only ventilation). Centrally located and just along from my Indian restaurant of choice (the Chambeli). TV selection is a little minimalist, but the free wi-fi is a real bonus (which more hotels should do, and as a business traveller, would make me come back). I agree with some other reviews - the lift is VERY slow!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us and of course for your continued custom.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in a family room.
Pros: Location - is between 2 tube stations surrounded by eating places and easy access to pretty much anywhere in London. Beds are very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and polite. Free wifi.
Cons; double glazing in our room was poor so a lot of traffic noise. As others have commented rooms are small. Bathroom was possibly smallest I have ever used. Virtually nowhere to put your toiletries and shower drained very slowly.lift is slow and when we returned after the show it said out of service so we had to walk up 3 flights, which isn't a problem except I have a medical condition that made this difficult. When we got to our floor we saw the lift doors were stuck open so assumed that is why it wasn't working.
We considered eating there but there are no menus on display outside the bar/restaurant and none in the room so the only way to see one was to go into the restaurant and ask to look at one. We did this and felt quite uncomfortable as we felt staff were waiting for us to decide, so we left and ate elsewhere.
Suggestion: menu in the room would be really helpful so people can see what's on offer.
if you are looking a for clean comfortable accommodation with helpful staff in a good location this is fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as front rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for review and for providing us with some suggestions. We really appreciate this and will consider them going forward.

Best regards,

Seb Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel over a bank holiday weekend in May. We had originally planned on travelling by train, but ended up driving at the last minute, so we hadn't looked into parking options. The hotel does not have a car park, but we were directed to the car park of a nearby hotel, which was only a couple of minutes' walk away at a rate of £18 per 24 hours. The only lift is tiny and slow, so it could take a while to reach your room. The room itself was tiny, but perfectly adequate for our purposes. The bed was very comfy with a great big duvet, which was lovely, but very warm on this hot weekend. Location was great - we didn't actually use the Tube but the hotel is quite close to Russell Square and Holborn stations. No problem getting a taxi on the street outside. Plenty of nice local restaurants and a couple of chains nearby, with a couple of convenience stores and coffee shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebwilliams, Relationship Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. If you're looking to stay again in the future then feel free to get in touch with us directly for the best available rate.

Best regards,

Seb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#345 of 1,067 in London
2,063 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#292 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#502 of 1,067 in London
526 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Bloomsbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Property: Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing