We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest staff, great location”
Review of The Marylebone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marylebone
Ranked #55 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nicest staff, great location”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location. It is one block away from Oxford Street and around the corner from Marylebone High Street. The rooms are clean and the bed very comfortable. There is a trendy bar on the ground floor. What really made this hotel great for me was the unbelievably friendly staff. The lady who checked us in rang our room to wish me a happy birthday and shortly after sent a bottle of complimentary wine to our room. All the staff we encountered were just so lovely and couldn't do enough for you. I travel quite a bit and stay in London alot. I will not think to stay anywhere else on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

Such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you thought our staff was “unbelievable friendly”, I know they will all be thrilled when I share your feedback. We firmly believe that our employee’s will always create the foundation for truly brilliant service and we therefore recruit, select and nurture people who genuinely care for others and want to be part of our guests’ hotel experiences. Comments such as yours serve as a wonderful motivator for us all and help us to gauge where we are at in terms of our service delivery.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Marylebone Hotel in the very near future.

Yours faithfully

Frits

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,356
    801
    188
    40
    28
See reviews for
621
1,257
188
860
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Over the past number of years, I have been a guest of the Marylebone hotel on many pleasure and business trips. I know and have experienced that the Marylebone hotel's management and staff care about their guests. On the very rare occasion I made a complaint that something was not quite to my satisfaction, my complaint was acted upon without delay and always to my complete satisfaction.
Each time I return to the hotel, which is superbly located for business or pleasure, I am greeted warmly by the Hotel's staff and welcomed back with great sincereity.
I would recommend this hotel to any would be guest. The staff, location and facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid being placed right beside the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

Please allow me to start by thanking you for your continued loyal support of the Marylebone Hotel. You have been with us for a number of years and it is a true pleasure to have you with us, it is wonderful to have you return to your home away from home. I am delighted to read that you feel recognized and cared for, as a regular guest of ours it the least we can do to show our appreciation for your valued custom.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours faithfully

Frits

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

In a great neighborhood and easy to get to most places in London from the hotel's location. The service and staff were excellent and extremely helpful. I would definitely go back there and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamweaver227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thought the service and our team was “excellent”. Brilliant to read that you will return, please do contact me prior to your next visit and feel free to pass my details to your friends, it would be fantastic to meet them and welcome them in person.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours faithfully

Frits

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Nothing bad to mention about this at all. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean, well equipped and quiet rooms. Amazing swimmingpool!
Only about 5 minute walk to Oxford street so even location is very good. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return! So pleased you wrote about the swimming pool in The Third Space, a truly wonderful haven for relaxation and fitness, with the brilliant before mentioned 16 meter swimming pool!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours faithfully

Frits

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is very nice. It has a lovely entrance, relaxing lounges and a spa and pool if you want it. The rooms are modern and well done although the bathrooms need updating (the shower over the bath wasn't great). Noise levels are a problem as the walls are remarkably thin, even for a London hotel - you can hear next door in the bathroom!!
The quality of beds and linen are a very good quality though.
The breakfast is very impressive with great service although rather frustratingly they charge extra for a cooked breakfast or anything hot!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucksCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay even thought there were one or two niggles. We take your feedback very seriously and firmly believe we can only improve by listening to our guests. I fully take on board your feedback regarding the noise levels and would greatly appreciate it if you would let me know in which room you stayed so I can personally investigate. As a general rule we get very few negative comments regarding noise and I would therefore want to fully investigate to understand the cause.

Regarding your breakfast experience I am guessing that you had continental breakfast included, which does not unfortunately include hot items. We have and will continue to add to our continental selection which now includes a wide variety of cold meats, smoked fish, cheeses and fruit as well as a pastry, bread and build your own muesli section. We are also in the process of reviewing our offering again and will be sure to include some new and interesting seasonal additions.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel in the very near future.

Yours faithfully

Frits

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

What can I say; Alone in London, staying at the Marylebone Hotel for 5 days on business with a bit of pleasure mixed in. WHAT A TREAT. On arrival after a long flight from South Africa I was greeted with much cheerfulness and incomparable service. I felt like I was the only guest. Received by the most responsive Reception in specific “Fiona” and the most proactive concierge “Raffele”, I felt like a star. The accommodation was above average for London in size and in décor. It was very clean and the staffs on a whole were exceptional. I will go back without a hesitation. Thank you Marylebone, for such a wonderful experience. Mrs Dos Santos

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDSSANTOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

Wow, I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and thought it was “outstanding”! I am so pleased that Fiona and Rafael made you feel welcome and at home, every one of our employee’s genuinely love looking after our guests and when we receive feedback such as yours it serves as a wonderful motivator for us all. I will be sure to pass on your very kind comments.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel in the very near future.

Yours faithfully

Frits

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

London is a very expensive city, and if you are used to four/five star hotel accommodations around the world, London room rates will seriously set you back. This is where the Marylebone becomes interesting, at reasonable prices, the hotel offers a great location in central London, at a five minute walking distance from the busy Oxford street and Bond Tube Station. On the downside, the rooms and bathroom are a bit small, and the hallways leading to the rooms have a low sealing. On the upside, the hotel in generally very clean, and the staff is willing to help and assist.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMRif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMaryleboneHotel, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Marylebone Hotel.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thought we offered good value for the service, location and facilities. It is our intention to offer the very best service, facilities as well as value for our guests and always remain competitive given our location. I am therefore very glad that we ticked all the boxes for you and very much hope to see you return.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to welcome you back to the Marylebone Hotel in the very near future.

Yours faithfully

Frits

Yours faithfully
Frits Potgieter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,122 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone

Property: The Marylebone
Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in London
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of the finest hotels in London, The Marylebone is a haven of understated and contemporary luxury that turns even the briefest of stays into a genuine pleasure. Located five minutes walk from Bond Street Station in the heart of the fashionable Marylebone Village, the hotel offers a variety of guest rooms that are light filled with Italian marble bathrooms and contemporary furnishings. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and still and sparkling water. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to London's trendiest health club, The Third Space, with a fully equipped gym, 18m swimming pool, daily fitness classes and spa with a range of treatments from Dr. Murad. A variety of meeting and private dining rooms are available for social occasions and business events. The vibrant 108 Brasserie and 108 Pantry, combine bar and restaurant to provide chic all-day dining offering simple British dishes made from the finest locally sourced ingredients. Be sure and try a super healthy juice or smoothie from The Juicery at The Doyle Collection, also available across the three London hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Priceline, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marylebone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing