We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, average value for money.”
Review of The Marylebone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marylebone
Ranked #61 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location, average value for money.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I spent three nights at the Marylebone Hotel and the most striking feature is actually its location, which is conveniently close to Oxford Street for connecting to all other London zones via public transport, but also, and most importantly, is right in the middle of the Marylebone district, with its shops, bars and restaurants.

Upon arrival, we couldn't check in due to a problem with the IT system.
The staff was understandably frustrated with the nuisances this was causing to all arriving guests and did make some efforts to compensate, specifically by providing vouchers for free drinks at the very nice bar within the hotel (six in total, equivalent to almost 100 GBP).
The overall attitude of the staff was positive and sincerely apologetic (shout out to Zohora for being so kind with us!).

When we finally made it through check in, we were welcomed in a nice room. Contemporary furniture, adequately spacious (considering London standards), nice bathroom.
Housekeeping service has proved to be top notch for the entire duration of our stay.

The main issue, and the only one to be honest, was the bed size: a queen bed in what was called a doublebed room for two adults. While this may be practice for some hotels, it came as an awful surprise, given the standards this hotel apparently aims to set.
The bed was simply too small to comfortably accommodate two adults and three sleepless nights subsequently ensued.

Given the rates at this hotel and that sleeping well is the primary need that a room must satisfy, while objectively beautiful, I can't really support the Marylebone Hotel as much as I'd like to.
I would suggest evaluating other options unless you're booking business/suite rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antonio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long V, Guest Relations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel in the Marylebone Village, with a majority of London's attractions reachable within walking distance. I am however sorry to learn that our system caused some inconvenience to your stay but also very happy and proud to hear that the team managed it so well and in particular Zohra, who will be very pleased to hear your lovely comments!

In regards to the bed size, we provide our guests with the option of queen and king size beds for most of our room categories. Kindly contact me directly at long_voong@doylecollection.com for your next visit to London and I will personally ensure that we find a room and bed that is more suitable to your needs.

Thank you for taking a moment to share such valuable feedback to our team and I sincerely hope we get an opportunity to welcome you back to The Marylebone Hotel.

Warm regards,

Long Voong
Guest Relations Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,413
    819
    192
    41
    30
See reviews for
637
1,292
190
881
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary by way of a change we decided to stay here the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble we booked a superior room which was very nice modern and clean with a comfy double bed. The bathroom however was very small so I would look at booking a different room when we go back, yes we would return here without a doubt we were presented with a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates on our wedding anniversary which was a lovely gesture.

Room Tip: Make sure if you like a big bathroom you look into which kind of room you need to book. we stayed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanna1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long V, Guest Relations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay during your recent visit to London and I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion as your wedding anniversary. I am honored that we could be part of your celebrations.

I very much appreciate the kind comments in regards to the superior service that we are so proud to deliver and I will be thrilled to share your comments with our team.

Once, again thank you for your lovely review and the entire team is very much looking forward to welcoming you and your partner back to The Marylebone Hotel for more wonderful experiences and celebrations.

Warm regards,

Long Voong
Guest Relations Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here and the hotel has it all nice rooms good restaurants and bars
Friendly staff and great fitness/spa section with a big pool a plus is the free wifi in the rooms this is not written on their site just common areas.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank waytogo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long V, Guest Relations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It gives me great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the state-of-the-art facilities at the Third Space Gym & Spa, that all our guests have full access to. With an 18-metre swimming pool and an abundance of first class spa treatments, it is certain to leave you rejuvenated and ready for another day in the bustling city of London.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we are very much looking forward welcoming you back to The Marylebone Hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards,

Long Voong
Guest Relations Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

very good theatre break in london ,ideal location for our visit to buckingham palace and hyde park.selfridges just 10 min walk from hotel.very good mix of bars and eateries on doorstep.nearest tube station bond street[on central line] so straightforward access to covent garden/leicester square.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terence Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long V, Guest Relations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable weekend break with us. The location of our hotel in Marylebone Village is without a doubt one of our highlights, with many of the major attractions in London reachable within walking distance. Thank you for your lovely comments and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to The Marylebone Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Long Voong
Guest Relations Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Was able to spend four relaxing days at the Marylebone property. The stay was wonderful - the staff was very attentive and was checking to see if there was anything they could do to help us. We had breakfast included in our stay which was a wonderful way to start each day. Beds were extremely comfortable - we had been traveling prior to this and when we got to the Marylebone, these were our best nights of sleep. The Hotel is conveniently located to Bond station (be aware Jubilee line does not currently stop at Bond due to work) and Baker Station. Great restaurants in the neighborhood so you don't have to go far.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Darbydog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long V, Guest Relations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a memorable stay and I very much want to express my appreciation for acknowledging our decisive commitment to superior service. We put a great emphasis on maintaining the excellent level of service that our team is so proud to deliver, and I am delighted to learn that we have successfully achieved that during your stay with us.

Our excellent breakfast is indeed probably the best way to start off a day in the bustling city of London and I am thrilled that you got to experience that. I will be very pleased to share your comments with the team and I am certain this will only motivate them to continue going the extra mile for all our guests. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to The Marylebone Hotel for another special and memorable stay in the near future.

Warm regards,

Long Voong
Guest Relations Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from The Marylebone having been to watch Les Miserables. The hotel had Friendly staff, the room was great (we got an upgrade without even asking!) the bar is cool though drinks were very pricey. The cooked breakfast was perfect too.

Perfect stay, would certainly use again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AGT31970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long V, Guest Relations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us! I am in particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the superior service that we are so proud to deliver. We very much appreciate your kind words and I will certainly share your positive comments with the team who are always eager to hear from our guests.

Thank you for choosing The Marylebone Hotel and we very much looking forward to preparing another wonderful stay for you in the future.

Warm regards,

Long Voong
Guest Relations Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A relative newcomer on the scene, The Marylebone rivals unnamed five star Mayfair mainstays in everything except the price - hugely leaning in The Marylebone's favor! It's first class. The room was super tiny, but thoroughly luxurious. Every detail has been anticipated. Spring for the breakfast as well, particularly if you can get it included in the price. Convenient and delicious options to start the day. The spa facilities and common areas are lovely as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelationshipGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long V, Guest Relations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had a first class experience during your recent journey to London. I am particularly pleased that you chose to stay at our hotel despite the other prestigious options that are available in the area. We certainly put a great emphasis on anticipating our guests’ needs, only then can we truly exceed the expectations and provide the level of service that we are so proud to deliver. I will be thrilled to share your comments with the team who are always eager to hear from our guests.

Once again, thank you for such a brilliant review and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home, hopefully in the near future.

Warm regards,

Long Voong
Guest Relations Manager, The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#30 of 1,068 in London
508 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#23 of 1,068 in London
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#55 of 1,068 in London
3,213 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#182 of 1,068 in London
1,935 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone

Property: The Marylebone
Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in London
#26 Spa Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Luxury Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of the finest hotels in London, The Marylebone is a haven of understated and contemporary luxury that turns even the briefest of stays into a genuine pleasure. Located five minutes walk from Bond Street Station in the heart of the fashionable Marylebone Village, the hotel offers a variety of guest rooms that are light filled with Italian marble bathrooms and contemporary furnishings. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and still and sparkling water. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to London's trendiest health club, The Third Space, with a fully equipped gym, 18m swimming pool, daily fitness classes and spa with a range of treatments from Dr. Murad. A variety of meeting and private dining rooms are available for social occasions and business events. The vibrant 108 Brasserie and 108 Pantry, combine bar and restaurant to provide chic all-day dining offering simple British dishes made from the finest locally sourced ingredients. Be sure and try a super healthy juice or smoothie from The Juicery at The Doyle Collection, also available across the three London hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marylebone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing