We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but request a room away from the street!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marylebone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Marylebone
Ranked #51 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but request a room away from the street!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

This hotel is ovely. Lots of little alcoves and lounge areas. The decor is lovely with a boutique feel in a large hotel.
The room was nice although the bed was not very comfortable.
The room we had was at the very back of the hotle o the 1st floor. We were woken very early with noise from dustbin men and people outside the hotel. The room was not very wel sound proofed either with alot of noise from the floor above and other rooms being heard easily.
The Breakfast was nice with a large fresh choice of food.
The Staff were friendly and helpfull and it is ust a 7-8 min walk from Bond street.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic70_09, Operations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
Dear CandkW ,
Warmest greetings from The Marylebone Hotel in London.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am very pleased to read that you find that our hotel is lovely and well designed. Also I will make sure to pass on your positive comments regarding breakfast to the supervisor in charge, Daria Prawucka and our Executive Chef, Norman Farquharson. But I am sorry to read that you found your bedroom not quiet enough. We installed sound proofed windows that surely will help reducing the noise level in most of our bedrooms.
I look forward to welcome you again at The Marylebone Hotel.
All my very best wishes,

Frederic Billet
Operations Manager
The Marylebone Hotel - London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,332
    792
    187
    38
    27
See reviews for
614
1,244
188
849
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

Spent a week-end in this lovely hotel in Feb 2010 , reception staff were very friendly and gave us a great welcome. Hotel room was lovely , Locaation was excellent. eat in the bar food was good. 10 out of 10 to all the staff they exceeded our expectations. Would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparks1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic70_09, Operations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Dear Sparks1953,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments about our hotel.
Here at The Marylebone, we do strive to offer the best hospitality possible. Our team members are indeed very friendly and accommodating.
Norman Farquharson, our executive chef, just created a very exciting bar menu and I am glad you enjoyed it.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back.
All the very best,

Frederic Billet
Operations Manager - The Marylebone Hotel - London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

we always make at least one visit to London per year. I always use Trip Advisor prior to booking.This time we were on a budget and when I secured a double room here with brekky for under £120 I grabbed it. I normally stay at one of the hotels in the top 15 ratings so i was nervous regarding the standard. I needn't have been !! It was in a fab location, love this area. The room was more spacious then other expensive hotels. It was clean, warm and a beautiful quality. Yes , the bathrooms are small, but have a great shower, fluffy towels. robes and slippers. Everything you need is provided.
We had the included continental brekky which was ample and fresh. My only criticism was though offered varied coffees , there was quite a wait for them , but we weren't in a desperate hurry but a nice gesture and great value as included.The staff were friendly and efficient and on departure given water to see us through our day. We left our cases and had a fantastic day , really helped by a quality hotel. Next time will stay longer and use the leisure centre provided. Should be higher on the ratings !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendi24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic70_09, operations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 10 April 2010
Dear Wendi24,
I sincerely extend my deepest thanks for your very positive review in relation to your recent stay at The Marylebone Hotel. Such great feedback is surely helping us going up in the London TripAdvisor rating. Dominique Richardson, our Executive Head Housekeeper and her team are making sure that our bedrooms are kept to the highest standards as possible. I have passed your comments to the restaurant team regarding your experience at breakfast and they are currently looking at ways to improve the speed of service.
After a busy day shopping in town, please do pay a visit to our wonderful swimming pool at your next visit and indulge yourself with a relaxing sauna and Jacuzzi.
Please let me know, when you next want to stay with us and my team will make sure that you have a memorable time with us again.
Warmest regards,

Frederic Billet
Operations Manager
The Marylebone Hotel - London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
373 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

I got the room with breakfast for £150 per night and although I was a solo traveller the price would have been the same for two.
The location is very convenient being only minutes from the centre of Oxford street, yet Welbeck street is very quiet at night and a good sleep is guaranteed.
Nearest tube (Bond Street) is just under a ten minute walk away and the hotel is easy to find once you have 'googled' it beforehand. Door to door cost from me from Heathrow by tube was £4.50.

The bedroom, while small had everything required and was very well appointed and clean.
The hotel was well refurbished about a year ago and it shows in every detail.
The lounge beyond reception is a very nice comfortable place with lots of chairs and couches to choose from.

Breakfast served in the very comfortable restaurant was cold buffet (hot food costs extra)and was excellent and plentiful with a superb and friendly service. Front of house staff are genuinely willing to assist. Reception staff were lovely, doormen, very friendly.
The business centre has two internet terminals. The Leisure centre in the basement is a revelation and a great place to chill out in the evening. Staff there also very friendly.

There is a good hotel restaurant there with a varied menu but I did not have time to eat there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic70_09, Operations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Dear Bryno,
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor and for the great feedback you gave on our fabulous hotel, our excellent employees, the quality of breakfast and hotel services in general. We are surely extremely proud of reading such positive comments.
The Marylebone Hotel is indeed located in an amazing neighbourhood and also close to many famous attractions and shopping districts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With my very best regards,

Frederic Billet
Operations Manager - The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

We had an extremely enjoyable stay in this hotel over mid term break. The only two complaints I have are that the times when children are permitted in the swimming pool are very inconvenient and don't suit a family who are out sight seeing all day. We were informed that we could use the pool between 15 h and 18h on Saturday and Sunday during which time we were at a show and on the London Eye !

The other complaint I have is that the restaurant web site ( 108 bistro) contains a children's menu which did not materialise and neither the restaurant manager nor the hotel manager seemed to have heard of. As a result we had to eat in the bar one of the nights. I never got a reply to my query about the children's menu. In addition when we asked for restaurant recommendations locally, we specifically asked if there was a branch of GIraffe and were told no. On a walk about the next day down Marylebone High Street, we came across the branch of GIraffe we were looking for and several other restaurants. The only recommendation that the concierge on duty could make was the chipper across the road. I am told it is an excellent chipper but surely they could have come up with better recommendations !!

The location was faultless for walking to Hamleys and Oxford Circus. The hotel appeared spotlessly clean and the staff were charming - particularly the door keepers. The continental breakfast was pleasant but the full English wasnt great and bearing in mind the location, if you are on a room only basis I would save the money and have breakfast/brunch in one of the many pleasant eateries on Marylebone High Street.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mum07Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic70_09, Operations Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Dear Mum07Ireland,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about The Marylebone Hotel. I want to express my gratitude, as your feedback is both valued and extremely useful.
I was very glad to read that you found our employees charming and that you had a very enjoyable time with us.
Regarding your comment on the swimming pool opening hours for children, I would like to stress that this restricted schedule was specifically organized to prevent our little one's from accessing the pool at peak hours solely for safety reason.
Also thank you for pointing out about the availability of children menus. Here at the Marylebone, we are aiming at being very family friendly. Our executive chef, Norman Farquharson is now working on a new and very yummy child offering which should be available very shortly! Please watch this space…
Following your experience, our concierge Marcus Santos, has created a local restaurant directory and I am delighted to say that Giraffe is featured on top of the list. His whole team has now been trained on this new and very useful tool.
Once again, thank you very much for your comments.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Frederic Billet
Operations Manager - The Marylebone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Just back from spending a night in this hotel with my daughter. The staff are very friendly and helpful and overall there was nothing to fault. The room was a little small but fairly typical size for London- it was nicely decorated though and the shower was excellent. It is nicely located and the street has a nice atmosphere , it is about a 5 minute walk to Bond Street tube station and just around the corner from Marylebone Hight Street which has lots of shops and cafes.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Have just come back after spending the Week-end in the Marylebone Hotel and from the moment we arrived it was amazing... We were greeted by the doorman who was very friendly. The reception staff were very professional and extremely friendly (there were 2 young ladies and i am sorry i didnt get their names) they could'nt have been more helpful, they pointed out on map where we were and how to get to different places. We were taken to our room by one of the young ladies , and i was really impressed with the room. the bar food was great, as was the breakfast. We came back to the hotel on the first night to find hot chocolate in a flask, with biscuits, in the room , WHAT A GREAT TOUCH!!
I would Recommend this hotel and will def, stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munchkin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#21 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#97 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone

Property: The Marylebone
Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in London
#24 Business Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of the finest hotels in London, The Marylebone is a haven of understated and contemporary luxury that turns even the briefest of stays into a genuine pleasure. Located five minutes walk from Bond Street Station in the heart of the fashionable Marylebone Village, the hotel offers a variety of guest rooms that are light filled with Italian marble bathrooms and contemporary furnishings. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and still and sparkling water. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to London's trendiest health club, The Third Space, with a fully equipped gym, 18m swimming pool, daily fitness classes and spa with a range of treatments from Dr. Murad. A variety of meeting and private dining rooms are available for social occasions and business events. The vibrant 108 Brasserie and 108 Pantry, combine bar and restaurant to provide chic all-day dining offering simple British dishes made from the finest locally sourced ingredients. Be sure and try a super healthy juice or smoothie from The Juicery at The Doyle Collection, also available across the three London hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marylebone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing