We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately not up to expectations.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Collingham Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Ranked #120 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately not up to expectations.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We are quite good travellers, having holidayed with a family around the world. After reading the rave reviews we were slightly disappointed with the Collingham apartments. We had difficulty with our booking and found the price ended up much higher than originally listed.
The full rate was very high for the star rating it has.

We were happy with the cleanliness, kitchen facilities and arrival info (thank you for the chocolate!) but saddened to find our apartment was down in the basement and extremely hot and stuffy. The windows did open, but then the hot water unit outside let gas in. We were advised for security reasons not to leave the windows open whilst we were out. There was only one key to the old fashioned lock, which had to be left at reception when leaving the apartment. It was a surprise for our older children who had to wake us up to let them in late at night.

Take note regarding wifi...they do charge, but if you're in the basement it doesn't work properly.

Overall, Collingham would have been a good pick for a family if the price had reflected the rating a little more accurately. Thank you to the smiley friendly gent at reception your cheer was much appreciated :)

Room Tip: Get a room on a floor above street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Msmouse24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Madam. Our Property was built in 1880 and we do retain many original features. We strive to provide excellent service to our guest whose comfort, requirements and safety remain our principle concern.
All feedback is gratefully received and used to both evaluate and improve upon the service we provide to all of our guests. If you take the key out of the lock after locking your door our Night Receptionist would let your other family members in at any hour of the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    279
    54
    14
    9
See reviews for
550
182
41
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two children for 4 nights. Great option when travelling with teenagers. On arrival we were upgraded at no extra cost to a two bathroom apartment which was a nice surprise. Apartment was perfect for us, with the added bonus of a small balcony! Would definitely stay here again. Lovely apartment in a nice quiet street in South Kensington with a 10minute walk to the nearest underground station. Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The only very small negative comment I have is that you have to pay for WiFi which is annoying when considering the cost of these apartments. Apart from that it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
What a Lovely Review of Collingham. We are happy that you had a nice time in London, and particularly that you enjoyed your stay here.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong KOng
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at this apartments for our second leg of our London journey. We chose Collingham because it has all the household facilities such as microwave, washer and dryer etc. These are important to me during long trip because I would like to eat-in and simple microwave food is good enough to me after a long day of sightseeing. Also, the washer and dryer comes in handy when you are travelling with kids and a serious load of laundry needs to be taken care of during long trip.
Location wise, it takes a bit of walking, around ten minutes, to get there from Gloucester Road station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMWFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy to hear that you enjoyed a Happy and Comfortable stay with us. How lovely that our guest comments grade us 2013 winner in the United Kingdom for families!! We are thrilled with this Accolade, and were pleased to chat with your delightful children.
Our location in South Kensington is ideal for the business traveller or tourist. Please do not hesitate to contact us at Collingham Serviced Apartments, we would be delighted to assist with your enquiries for planning your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in September 2013. We were upgraded to a 2-bedroom apartment, with terrace. The apartment was clean, comfortable, very nicely furnished, and with a fully fitted kitchen. And large enough (especially with the terrace) that we were able to entertain friends and family. Good quiet location in a pleasant garden square and only a few minutes walk from Earl's Court tube station. All for the price of a very mediocre London hotel room.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and a 24 hour reception desk is a definite plus. Room service meant that the beds were made and the apartment cleaned each day, so apart from a restaurant (and there are plenty in the area) the service is really as good as a hotel.

All in all, were very happy with our stay, and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Collingham Serviced Apartments, South Kensington. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay in one of our apartments. I am also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Collingham Serviced Apartments in the very near future.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our recent stay in October 2013 was only for 3 nights, but the staff and facilities at Collingham made it a convenient and pleasurable experience. Coming from Australia we did our booking on-line which was a straightforward and thorough process. The one bedroom apartment (with sofa bed) was quite spacious and more than adequate for the three adults in our party. It would be hard to find fault in any aspect of this set up - the area is safe and lovely, the public transport very available and the variety of restaurants, pubs, wine-bars and takeaways meant we did not need top venture far for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18RobT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your comments about Collingham Serviced Apartments.
Stylish and elegant 4* boutique apartment hotel. Ideal for the discerning corporate business traveller - located in a quiet square, yet close to all of London's many attractions. The Collingham offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with no minimum stay. Collingham Gardens is conveniently located for Kensington Park Gardens and Hyde Park. Famous landmarks in the area include The Royal Albert Hall, London's principal museums, galleries and theatres, King's Road, Harrods and Harvey Nichols. The Underground Stations of Gloucester Road, Earl's Court and South Kensington are close by, providing direct access to District and Piccadilly lines for frequent service to all Main Line Stations and Airports. Wireless high speed internet available. There is a sofabed available at £20 per night (not the studio).
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in October 2013. The location is excellent, 5 minutes from Earls Court underground, and maybe 10 mins from Gloucester Road station. On arrival we found that we had been upgraded to a large (huge) 3 bedroom apartment. We had arrived quite early but everything was ready for us. The apartment was very nice - had everything you could want really.There was also a welcoming gift bottle of wine on the table and a box of candy.

The area is extremely convenient, not only for accessibility to transport. There are many pubs and restaurants in the neighboirhood, and making self catering very easy there are at least 2 large supermarkets within a few minutes walk.

The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpfull.

Altogether we had a very nice stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDC_CFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests from Cairo,
The Management and Staff at Collingham Serviced Apartments (4 stars) are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday in London, and that you enjoyed a welcoming and memorable stay here. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with other trip advisor visitors. We hope that this might encourage them to stay with us!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having lived before in this part of London, Collingham is a perfect location, being situated a short walk from the tube station, near restaurants and cafes, and within a 20 minute walk to Exhibition Road where the museums are. Rooms are clean, the showers work, and everything for a self catered stay is provided. The staff seemed friendly and even helped bring my bags upstairs (there's a lift).

Our room had an outdoor setting, ideal for a summer BBQ and having friends over.

I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bornean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guests from Perth, Australia,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy to hear that you enjoyed a Happy and Comfortable stay with us. How lovely that our guest comments grade us at 6th Best Hotel in the United Kingdom for families!! We are thrilled with this Accolade, and were pleased to chat with your delightful children.
Our location in South Kensington is ideal for the business traveller or tourist. Please do not hesitate to contact us at Collingham Serviced Apartments, we would be delighted to assist with your enquiries for planning your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#188 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingham Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingham Serviced Apartments

Property: Collingham Serviced Apartments
Address: 26-27 Collingham Gardens, London SW5 0HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in London
#48 Family Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#159 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Collingham Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingham is situated in fashionable South Kensington, within easy walking distance of Gloucester Road, South Kensington and Earls Court underground stations. Close to the superb shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea's Kings Road. All apartments are fully furnished to a high standard. All apartments (except for the studio) have a sofa bed which is suitable for sleeping 1 additional adult or 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Collingham Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingham Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Collingham Apartments London
Collingham Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing