We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a sure thing.”
Review of Durrants Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durrants Hotel
Ranked #581 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

There's nothing wrong with this hotel. Staff is fine, rooms, etc... For some reason, it is extremely popular with the over-60 crowd. Nothing wrong with that, but if you're looking for a hipper scene, you might not like it here. Personally, i didn't mind it because me wife and I like the cozy feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalVareau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Durrants Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Durrants Hotel is a small gem in Central London that has quiet rooms some with air conditioning. It is a privately owned hotel a few minutes from Selfridges Department Store. It is also steps from Marylebone High Street a unique and attractive residential and small business area of London that has a strong French flair as a result of a long ago French migration to London.

The rooms can be small, but the hotel is very clean, well maintained and well appointed. The staff provide unfailingly friendly and helpful service. The rooms have handmade Savoir beds – including the mattresses – that are exceptionally comfortable. You may well be tempted to at least consider buying a Savoir bed after having slept on one. The hotel also has an attractive dining room with good food and an interesting small bar.

The hotel is within walking distance of a number of restaurants, La Fromagerie an interesting cheese store with a number of fresh produce and specialty items and Daunt Books, which is one of the best midsized bookstores in London.

We have stayed in at Durrants for quite a number of years. It is always a pleasurable and relaxing experience that I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - also ask for air conditioning if required
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Got here on the last minute after a big disappointment from another hotel.
The last minute rate was excellent.
The Hotel was clean, classy, very well situated - close the cafes, restaurants, tube station and shopping area.
All the staff were excellent and very nice.

I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Pleasant family run hotel enjoyed our stay , except for the staff in the bar , to busy talking to each other to bother with the residents ! But the rest of the staff very nice ,
Breakfast is amazing rooms very clean would recommend this hotel just don't spend to much time in the bar !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetraveller53_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A wonderful surprise and gem in a great neighborhood. London hotels can be awful. From B&B to high end I have had some hotel horrors in this city. After many visits over many years I have finally discovered a keeper. Stately, small, elegant, and interesting….who could ask for more? The Marylebone area is a great mix of residential, boutiques, and restaurants. The hotel is located just off Marylebone High Street. Lovely French patisserie at the corner for breakfast, many restaurants from upscale to a terrific Fish and Chips restaurant one block away and a quick walk to neighborhood parks make this a lovely area. The location of the hotel facing the back of the Wallace Collection is terrific and the opportunity to take in this wonderful museum (and good restaurant) should not be missed. Cozy bar and nice sized rooms are unusual for London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I don't think I'd like to stay here for a long trip but fine for a couple nights. Rooms are very small but hotel is quaint and in a great location. Hotel does not have a gym but for 15gbp you can get a pass to a proper gym just around the corner. Service was good. Didn't try the restaurant because there are so many places to eat within a few blocks.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank FlightMail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

On the positive Durrants is a very central location that I ended up walking almost everywhere! The conceige are very helpful and knowledgeable about location and London.

The rooms at first seem very quaint. They are really very tired and need to be brought into the 21st century (I was in room 216). They do not offer free wireless. It costs 10 pounds! I can get free wireless at many places in London but not my hotel?

Other issues include an old fashion vaccum hose like hair dryer. The one in my room had only one speed slow. No way to get good hair with this dryer.



The carpet was gross! I was barefoot and felt like I had to wash my feet before going to bed.

Lastly when taking a shower the water did not drain well. By the time the shower ended I had water well over my ankles.

The room were $275 so I expected more than old quaint.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmalmberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#172 of 1,072 in London
1,985 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#202 of 1,072 in London
219 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#60 of 1,072 in London
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#444 of 1,072 in London
678 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#26 of 1,072 in London
527 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrants Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrants Hotel

Address: 26-32 George Street, London W1H 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#313 Business Hotel in London
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £148 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durrants Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Durrants Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrants Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing