We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!”
Review of Durrants Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Durrants Hotel
Ranked #547 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were upgraded to an amazing double suite as a treat for my husbands birthday, & we were speechless when we were presented with the most luxurious room, lavish furnishings and so incredibly spacious, we couldn't gave asked for more! Great location 5/10 minute walk to Baker Street tube & Marylebone Station. Staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome. Thank you for making our trip from Devon so memorable.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KSimeone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the lovely Durrants. True, the rooms can be on the small side so we always book a Classic room with a large bed. In fact, this time we had a free upgrade to a suite and very comfortable it was, too! This is not the run of the mill hotel. If you want everything the same, then don't come here. It's an old building, beautiful, quirky. The bar on a cold winter's evening is superb. Breakfast is very good but there are many local cafés if you don't want the full English! Location is very good. Right in the centre of Marylebone 'village' with its great shops and places to eat. We've been staying here for nearly 40 yrs now; have tried other places but always come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cricketmad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ok we know that paying 172 Euro a night in London is expected, BUT to pay that for a dated room with peeling wallpaper is a bit much.

I stayed in their double room, which definitely needs a bit of a makeover. Their more expensive rooms, appear (in pictures) to be lighter and nicer. The room was quite dark with a tiny window.

The staff were really lovely though and the location is fantastic, 7 min walk to either Bond or Baker street stations.

Overall, as nice and polite as the staff were, unless I could get into one of their nicer rooms for the same price, I will pass on this charming hotel.

Room Tip: Go for their higher floors and more expensive rooms, otherwise you are stuck in a broom closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had a great experience at the Durrants Hotel - it was such a cute little boutique hotel with such a Victorian charm to it! We visited London for 3 days (stayed at the hotel for nights). I had called in advance to request for an early check-in and for one of the upgraded rooms but like any other hotel, they told me they cannot guarantee this and to request it when I check-in.
We arrived on a Monday morning around 10 a.m. and were able to check in right into our room! I was thrilled because we had a whole day of sightseeing planned and we had taken a train in from Liverpool at 6 am in the morning! AND we got one of the upgraded rooms which was fabulous!

We checked into our room; everything was as expected but I do have to say, the rooms are tiny as tiny can be. It didn't matter much to us because we only really needed a bed to crash on at night but if anyone's looking for comfort and room to breath, this might not be the best option for you. It was cute how the keys were like actual keys - we had to drop them off with the concierge when we were leaving the hotel. The room and bathroom had all the standard features any hotel does - one thing though, the walls were thin so you could hear what was happening outside in the hallway. We had the AC turned up quite high so that resolved that issue. The bathroom was very modern - loved the shower heads! We requested for an ironing table and kept it throughout our stay. They were very prompt when asked for something - there seemed to be a bit of a language barrier when speaking to the housekeeping staff (for example, I asked for an ironing table and an iron and the next minute there were two housekeeping women outside my door wondering what they were called for) - so just be sure to clearly state what you want or call the front desk when in doubt :)

We left the Do Not Disturb sign on our door so our room wasn't service the second day of our stay and we had returned to the hotel so late at night we didn't have the energy to wait. We just called for extra towels and this time, they got it right :)

The staff was very friendly and helpful. From the check-in to the concierge and the housekeeping staff, everyone was lovely and pleasant to deal with. Overall, we had a great stay and thought the location of this hotel was ideal. Within a few minutes walk is Bond Street station which has easy access to almost all of the tube lines you need. Another few minutes walk brings you to Edgware Road where all the Arab shops are and right around the corner from there was Oxford Street. We couldn't have been happier with the location we picked. Not only that, the walk to Bond Street station from the hotel was lovely in the morning - there was SO many cafes along the way that it was super convenient to just grab a coffee and croissant and make our way to the tube station. We were very pressed on time as we only had 3 days a lot of sightseeing to do so all in all, this hotel was absolutely everything we were looking for. Highly recommend it!

One last thing before I forget, even though the hotel had "free wifi" our wifi in the room did not work at all. The connection was terrible. When we asked if something could be done they politely said no. My husband had to go search for an Internet Cafe to get work done so in case you are planning on staying here and plan to use the wifi, well it's close to not having wifi. The connection was somewhat OK in the lobby but room 111 had barely any connection. I had to sit in the bathroom to make a call on Viber because that's the only place I had somewhat of a signal!

Room Tip: Walls were a bit thin and you can hear everything going on in the hallways so I would suggest to try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The bedrooms in this hotel are not good value for money, we have stayed at this hotel before , and only returned because of the location we needed medical treatment in nearby Harley street , the reception staff are rude and very unhelpful

Room Tip: The lower the floor the bigger the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetraveller53_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was in London for one night with my wife for an event at the Waldorf at the Aldwych, I thought that, rather than booking her into a budget hotel, we would stay somewhere comfortable. First impressions were good, having arrived from King's Cross by taxi since there was no tube station nearby. The public areas were pleasant, with many nooks and crannies to enjoy a coffee or read the papers. Just as well there were, as the room was tiny, with only a little space around the double bed. I have no idea whether our room was typical, but seeing how the room doors were arranged I suspect we were in a normal sized room at Durrants. When we returned from our function, again by taxi, there was no coffee or tea making facilities in the room, and we had to order room service at 2300 to provide us with a cuppa. This, in the cold light of the morning, cost us an extra £6, £60 in taxis and tips and £173 (via Hotwire) for the room. Give me the Premier Inn any day, which I used in the current week: no taxis necessary, free tea and coffee (and extra supplies on request), free loan of iron and ironing board. At Durrants, I have no idea where the ironing board may have fit! Boutique hotels are clearly not for me.

Room Tip: Book the Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anylex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My first stay at Durrants and hopefully not the last. Traditional yet chic, spotless, comfortable, aesthetically pleasing, fabulous thread count sheets, soft towels and staff very helpful. A delightful retreat from the busy-ness of nearby Oxford Street.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SomaticCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#162 of 1,076 in London
2,066 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#69 of 1,076 in London
3,708 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#435 of 1,076 in London
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#639 of 1,076 in London
1,197 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#32 of 1,076 in London
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrants Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrants Hotel

Address: 26-32 George Street, London W1H 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#311 Business Hotel in London
#329 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £150 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durrants Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Durrants Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrants Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing