We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gresham Hotel
Ranked #979 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

How on earth this place is 3 star rated I do not know. I'd rate it a one star if that. Completely outdated , no ensuites ,beds totally unfit to sleep in with really thin pillows and no duvets just a sheet , rooms a mix of colours, and staff that just don't care . Separate toilets with no sinks in so your have to go back to your room to wash your hands. No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms neither. Only plus point is the location but trust me spend the extra on a better hotel. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliff1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    58
    99
    104
    222
See reviews for
79
107
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had booked three nights in this hotel, stayed one and forfeit the rest of our cash - we left first thing the next morning and moved into another hotel. Room was TINY - barely room to stand up beside the bed, which could barely be called a double. There was a shelf attached to the wall above the bed, so had to be careful when sitting up. Springs were poking through the mattress, we got up the next morning covered in scratches. Refused to give any money back as we had not given 24 hours notice, but there was no way we were staying another night in that place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sooterkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't wish a homeless person to stay in this disgusting excuse for a hotel, you may be tempted to stay here as you think it's cheap but believe me if it was free it wouldn't be worth it, they couldn't pay me to stay here again! It stinks, the rooms are filthy, the beds are about 100 years old and so uncomfortable , stains everywhere, hasn't been decorated since 1902 (or cleaned) seriously, pay the extra and stay at a travel lodge the amount of money you will need to pay for soap to wash off the dirt from this place isn't worth it!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Gossipgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Booked this hotel as it was one of the cheapest I could find for December and in a decent location. I didnt expect luxury, just a private bathroom and a comfy bed. However, the glass was so thin that traffic kept me up all night. When the people above us turned on their water it sounded like the ceiling was going to fall through. But most upsetting of all was that after itching all night, I got up to find I was covered in red, sore itchy bites. They looked so bad it took me 2 trips to the doctor before she decided they were bites. 4 weeks later and it still hasnt cleared. Do not go here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LJ-Ainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent location (right next to British Museum and Oxford Street)
Some staff are friendly others are less.
Room decoration is extremely dated (like from the 60s).

One to avoid unless you are used to backpack and stay in very basic hotels in third world countries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lai Kit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Only needed a room for the night as a stop over so we could shop and then go to Winter Wonderland. Room was very basic but high standard of cleanliness, bed clean and also the bathroom. If you are just looking for a place to rest your head and have a shower then its great for the price. Also staff very friendly could not fault it.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didcotoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The only positive aspect is the pretty central location, it is otherwise absolutely not worth of any consideration. The pictures showed on the websites are misleading: the rooms are dated, cold, humid and really poorly furnished. No breakfast, internet connection, hair-drier, etc are included. It is even more dirty than the average low-cost british hotels. The only advice I can give to other travellers is: AVOID IT!

Room Tip: My room was in the basement (nr 8)...avoid it if you can it is terribly cold and humid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLT84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#584 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#667 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#740 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#748 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Property: Gresham Hotel
Address: 36 Bloomsbury Street, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #979 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing