We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR”
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gresham Hotel
Ranked #978 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    59
    103
    107
    228
See reviews for
80
110
68
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

excellent location. Perfect for all the sights of London. You get what you pay for but the rooms were clean and tidy. Showers nice and hot. As I was not staying in the room all day it was perfect for a cheap stay. Staff very friendly and approachable as I could not get the television to work one evening. Only problem was we were on the top floor with winding stairs and a very heavy suitcase. We were offered an alternative room but we managed. Would recommend this hotel if you were visiting London on a budget.

Room Tip: As our room was narrow my daughter is taller than me she did bang her head on the television wall br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for one night. Not the fanciest place around, but totally fine for the cheap price that we payed. Clean towels and a decent bathroom (brokeb shower door). Pluspoint: close to the subway, many shops, resturant. Really central, perfect for budget tourist who just wants a place to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Budgettravellerirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was surprised how bad this place is – from the suspicious faces on the reception to the last blood spot on the ceiling in my room probably left from the summer mosquito hunt. My room had a toilet which was the best part of the room although I was loathing to step on the floor with my bare feet.

Room Tip: Just find a better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Todor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Central and cheap, and, fairly basic which is what one might expect for the money. But, it is very noisy, and worse, I got terrible bedbugs and did not get a full refund, either from the hotel or this booking site. Run, don't walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
3 Thank Grouchy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

How on earth this place is 3 star rated I do not know. I'd rate it a one star if that. Completely outdated , no ensuites ,beds totally unfit to sleep in with really thin pillows and no duvets just a sheet , rooms a mix of colours, and staff that just don't care . Separate toilets with no sinks in so your have to go back to your room to wash your hands. No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms neither. Only plus point is the location but trust me spend the extra on a better hotel. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliff1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had booked three nights in this hotel, stayed one and forfeit the rest of our cash - we left first thing the next morning and moved into another hotel. Room was TINY - barely room to stand up beside the bed, which could barely be called a double. There was a shelf attached to the wall above the bed, so had to be careful when sitting up. Springs were poking through the mattress, we got up the next morning covered in scratches. Refused to give any money back as we had not given 24 hours notice, but there was no way we were staying another night in that place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sooterkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#598 of 1,069 in London
258 reviews
The Gresham Hotel
#786 of 1,069 in London
618 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#655 of 1,069 in London
337 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#863 of 1,069 in London
46 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Property: Gresham Hotel
Address: 36 Bloomsbury Street, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #978 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing