We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home hotel”
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #204 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

From time to time I stay in Hazlitt's for one or two nights and it has never disappointed. The location is excellent and the interior is very comfortable with just the right amount of weariness. It feels as if you are staying in someone's house with small and winding stairs and not very big rooms. The hotel is filled with antiques and in the rooms there are nice and quirky details, which give a lot of character to the atmosphere. Definitely recommended, although it doesn't come cheap.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper a room at the back is perhaps a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I decided to splurge on a night in London for our 8th Anniversary and stayed at Hazlitt's. For the occasion we upgraded to a Superior Double. The room was beautifully furnished with antiques and was in excellent condition. The bathroom was fantastic. We loved the shower with the rain head, the slate tiles, and the cool toilet with the pull chain flush. The hotel is charming, slanting floors, nicely furnished, and I loved the fresh lilies in the foyer. The location was within walking distance to the theatre performance we attended. However, our room rate after taxes was about $600 US. We have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in NYC and a few Ritz Carlton's for about half the price and have had very good experiences with these chain type hotels. I went into the night expecting a better boutique hotel experience but was a little bit disappointed. For $600 you would expect breakfast to be included but it was not. Although you could order it for a fee. (If it was included, it was not explained to us) There was a basket in the room of overpriced snacks you could buy. The service at check-in was average. I was expecting more for the money and probably wouldn't splurge here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lalobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We have stayed there twice, and each time the staff was efficient and helpful. The hotel itself is one of the oldest buildings in that part of London, and the rooms, whilst quite small, as they are original, they are tasteful and interesting and very comfortable. Room service is excellent, and they have a sitting room/library for gathering downstairs which has an honour bar and a fire. Quite quiet, and personal. They also have gathering rooms for groups, although I have no knowledge of these. The hotel is in Soho, and quite near to the National Gallery, the theatre district, and to Regent Street. Excellent location

Room Tip: the back rooms are quietest, as they do not overlook any streets. The front rooms are not noisy, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnmkbrownell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Hazlitt's is a 1718 boarding house in Soho and boarded many men of letters in the 19th century. The rooms are furnished with antiques and some are a bit crooked with bathrooms that are small for two people, but others have flatter floors and showers. The linens (big for me) are lovely and the cleaning crew excellent (no slacking in the name of the environment!). The location is perfect, quiet for sleeping, but hopping when you go out. Ronnie Scott's is a block away, along with a myriad of cool bars, cafes, and restaurants. It's an easy walk to everywhere. Covent Garden, the National Gallery, the British Museum are all close. The hotel also has two lovely public rooms with fire places and an honor bar.

Room Tip: Take a room in the new bldg, using the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Boy do I love a hotel where after a knackering journey you can help yourself to a dram on the way up to a huge roll top bath! Glance out of the window and decide which of an enourmous number of good restaurants you can walk to, knowing that despite the bustling location, its just far enough down the street to ensure that it is just out of range of noisy late night revellers.
It has the feeling of a private members club, but a very romantic club.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyrSaltCellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Having just moved to Shropshire from London we are trying out London hotels. This one is well located, has great charm and the most amazing rooms. We were upgraded to a room called Madame Defloz - four poster bedroom with a large shower and bath - supberly decorated. A good breakfast can be had in your room or downstairs in the Wardrobe or Library. We'll go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Having stayed there before, also our 2nd stay did not disappoint. - The room was pleasant and characterful, and location is hard to beat - you have lots to do in walking distance. - e.g. if you're going to see a show like Priscilla-Queen of the Desert which is very close by. The room-service breakfast is a bit pricey, but tastes lovely - fresh bakery goods and good coffee - so easy to enjoy and induldge. Would stay there again any time - great place!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam7506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#41 of 1,077 in London
2,391 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#68 of 1,077 in London
3,425 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#551 of 1,077 in London
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#260 of 1,077 in London
566 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#156 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £203 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing