We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #240 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed for one night just prior to Christmas 2013 and arrived at about 7.30am straight off a 23 hour flight from Australia. Although we knew our room wouldn't be available until mid afternoon the hotel staff invited us to relax in one of their sitting rooms for as long as we needed. It felt very peaceful and civilised to quietly sit in front of the little fire and drink coffee in the centre of Soho London. All the history and literary references of this hotel make it feel very different to other boutique hotels, with a genuine sense of character and identity. Almost like staying in a quirky stately home with lots of stories. The room service breakfast was a nice touch and we would definitely stay there again (hopefully for a bit longer next time!).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Centrally located in Soho - good service and nice clean rooms full of charm and character. We were on the fourth floor - so four sets of stairs - luckily we left our large suitcases in left baggage at Heathrow. Would definitely stay again for an overnighter, or weekend - but anything longer or for business would not be an option. No tea or coffee facilities in the room - but there is a mini bar. Also a lovely library room with an open fire an honour bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpmt1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A beautiful, atmospheric hotel. Perfectly located, I dream of staying here again.

Speaking of dreams, I had the strangest experience of checking out of Hazlitt's when I stayed there with my boyfriend in April. We hecked out at about 6am and were waiting in the foyer for our taxi as we had an early train to Paris when a massive ruckus/caterwauling/flailing pile of humans (two catatonically drunk twentysomethings) came barrelling out of the hotel's guest lounge, followed by a hotel porter, followed by an elegant and panicked-looking man all dressed in black. The twentysomethings were apparently some kind of rockstars who'd had an all night bender with the man in black who WAS a guest, tried to steal a bottle of Glenfiddich from the honesty bar in the lounge and do a runner, only to be tackled to the ground by the porter.

They were all running past us at a million miles an hour, screaming and flailing and fighting, when the man in black saw me sitting there, stopped dead in his tracks, bowed and introduced himself as Jeff, a sculptor from New York. It was so weird - and I'm not exaggerating, my boyfriend can back me up on this - he was completely transfixed by me and came over all dreamily in love. He took my hand, kissed it for ages, and said, "I had a dream about you last night..", to which I said, "Highly unlikely, we just met", and he said "Nono, I did, I've always known you, and you know me better than anyone. I can see your soul and it's beautiful." I finally had to extricate myself as the taxi was outside, as he trailed after me, asking sadly: "But when will I see you again?"

Then our taxi couldn't move for 10 minutes because one of the drunk rockstars was intentionally lying in the middle of the street blocking it, until our driver lost patience and got out and kicked him. It was all very surreal.

So, I highly recommend Hazlitt's.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rarerollingobject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent one night at Hazlitt's as part of a night out including a show (12 Angry Men, very good by the way) in London. My wife's birthday so I was expecting the hotel to be pretty damn good. It certainly lived up to our expectations, very moody, sumptuous, taking you back into the Georgian 1700's, with quite risqué background and stories of corpses being left under beds. It's located in Soho - which we learned used to be a hunting place for Henry VIII - and has its own pretty risqué history but also very up market bars, restaurants and colourful people. The hotel staff were very friendly, welcoming and attentive. My wife and I had a great time!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Banjio_bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I love this boutique hotel in Soho, it's not going to suit everyone it's in the very heart of soho and can be very noisy at night (why are you staying in Soho?) but the rooms are full of so much charm and character and i love the antique furniture but then again if your use to the normal Hilton looking hotel room its not for you. I have always found the service good and the staff friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bristolboy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Most comments, both positive and negative, have already been made. We chose Hazlitt's for Christmas in London specifically for the historic nature of the building and the character of the rooms.
After four days the novelty of the "quirks" and "character " was wearing off though.

Lack of storage, hooks of any sort for clothes, towels or bathrobes meant that every inch of surface was utilised for storage. Fine for one night but for a gay couple with suitcases and 4 days and nights worth of clothes (we don't travel light) it became a challenge.

The free standing Victorian bath looks very quaint but try taking a bath without flooding the floor (no matter how careful you are and how low you run the bath water). No shower meant that baths needed to be run each morning also-tedious after 4 days.

All minor points that could perhaps be taken as nit-picking but hey, it's details like this that help people on trip advisor to make the right choices.

As previously mentioned, the staff are great (and very pleasing to the eye in some cases) and the champagne and choccies on Christmas day were a very nice touch. They went out of their way to allocate a room that suited our request for a "dark and moody" Christmas atmosphere.

We requested a room on Frith Street for the atmosphere and as most places were closed over Christmas it was extremely quiet (spookily so for Soho). But I can appreciate peoples comments on noise. However, if you are sensitive to street noise then seriously, Soho is not the right choice for you in the first place).

Would we stay again? Yes, for a shorter stay and with a room that has a separate shower (if there is such a thing). So if you do book Hazlitt's, enjoy it for what it is, be prepared for all the quirks and eccentricities and you'll enjoy being in a fabulous part of London albeit in surroundings that feel like a country house hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a shower and bear in mind the lack of a lift so request a lower room if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

No service, rude, unhelpful and lacking any assistance. Overpriced and so loud we were woken between 1am and 3 am every day. Do not stay there under any circumstances. Noise from the street, particularly the 3 nearby pubs,was horrendous. Then at around 3 am every day, the bins full of bottles were emptied.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#37 of 1,075 in London
2,287 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#371 of 1,075 in London
1,692 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,075 in London
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#603 of 1,075 in London
174 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £211 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing