We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last year!”
Review of Hendon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hendon Hall Hotel
Ranked #460 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as last year!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked for 6 nights beginning April on our stop over in London after a nine hour flight from Miami. It has been a year since we had stayed at Hendon Hall and we had really loved it last time. Being Gold card holders they said they would upgrade us to the executive room but only for the first 2 nights and then we will have to move to the classic room for 2 nights and then shift again, we had 4 huge suitcases with us so we said that we would rather stay in one room for all our stay so the classic is fine, we checked in and realized that the bathroom had a terrible smell and could not bare to use it so we complained and as the hotel was full we agreed to move to the executive room for the 2 nights. Even here the corridor had an awful drainage smell but our room was fine so being under jet lag we just settled down. When we mentioned the smell to the receptionist she said we were the first ones reporting it, in a very condescending manner when some of the cleaning ladies had told us that they are having a problem in the hotel on some floors and the maintenance is fixing it. After the 2 nights they moved us again to the classic room which was fine but we requested at the reception if they could please try and keep us there for the next 4 nights again the same receptionist was not at all helpful till we nearly begged her and finally on the day we had to move again we were told we could stay in the same room. I would have expected much better understanding especially as we were staying for a long period. We had breakfast included with our room and we were getting it most days as room service, the ladies serving were really nice and pleasant but one day the chef didn't come so there was no hot breakfast and most days there was something missing on the trays such as jams, tea cups,salt and pepper and cutlery having said that they were very accommodating and brought the missing things quickly.
It is just sad to see these things as Hendon hall is a lovely and charming place though a little dated! We would love to stay there again but after our recent stay will have to think twice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    223
    80
    40
    29
See reviews for
116
255
23
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea, wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a lovely hotel this is with excellent staff who are welcoming and helpful at all times. This hotel was warm and friendly from the start and there were nice touches throughout our stay. There are umbrellas to borrow for when the weather is inclement (needless to say they have quite a few of these by the front door), complementary transport to the tube station in the mornings, complementary newspaper, a DVD library to name but a few of the lovely touches there. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout as was our room. We stayed in room 207, which had the biggest and highest four poster bed that I've ever seen, dressing gowns, toiletries, water and plentiful tea and coffee.

We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis with the meal in the evening being 3 courses. The only minor niggle we had was that the service in the restaurant was slow even though there were only a few tables seated. That said, the food was delicious and worth the wait! Breakfast was of an equally high quality offering a huge selection of choices for breakfast.

The hotel has free parking on site and the tube station (if you don't take up the offer of the lift) is around a 1/2 hour walk away. Central London is about 30 mins on the tube, so easily accessible. Off peak, the all day tube ticket was only £8.70. In the evening we caught a local taxi service back to the hotel, which was £5.

I would recommend this hotel for a London break and wouldn't hesitate to re-book next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view, which should avoid looking over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicciss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had afternoon tea here, in general the hotel is ok it is a little dated

Afternoon tea was ok however basic. 1 cup of tea and 6 finger sandwiches between 2. Most hotels bring another plate when you finish. It was empty other than 1 other couple hardly no staff very quite eerily.

We enjoyed the time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A good hotel made into a great hotel by the staff. The rooms are are comfortable with a good bathroom and the breakfast is a must have. The 5 stars were earned by the staff for all the effort they put into making our stay memorable. I would recommend anyone to stay here, we most certainly will next time we are in the area

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ptingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here a few months ago and whilst it was lovely, it didn't quite match our usual favourite stay in the raglan hotel.

The staff were kind and polite but something just wasn't right, the parking was lacking and the rooms were not cleaned appropriately

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelkeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Idiosyncratic building parts of which date back centuries, but various bits added at different times making for feeling of spacious ornate rabbit warren. Warm welcome by helpful staff. Lots of free parking. Pleasant room with every facility overlooking quiet residential street. Comfy bed. Good bathroom. Sheltered walled garden. Breakfast excellent with good choice including kippers and smoked haddock all cooked fresh to order. As good as it gets in North London.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had originally booked to stay 2 nights in a nearby hotel but it was difficult to access. A last minute change to this hotel proved fortuitous as it was very close to the place we needed to be and it actually showed up on the sat nav. There was ample free parking and the welcome at reception was very good.
The room was well fitted and comfortable, with a pleasant view over the gardens. We decided to dine in the hotel as the menu looked attractive. The dining room is a little dull and lacking atmosphere and we were almost the only diners there. The food was reasonably good although the portions were on the small side. The wine list was quite expensive.

We had ordered breakfast in our room. The breakfast arrived on time but was lukewarm and unappetising. All in all, the hotel could improve on the décor a little, and enliven the dining room, but the staff were excellent and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surveyorDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Hendon (The Hyde) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Hide London
The Hide London
#58 of 1,068 in London
951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Golders Green North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#447 of 1,068 in London
395 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Palm Hotel
Best Western Palm Hotel
#551 of 1,068 in London
798 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge London Finchley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendon Hall Hotel

Property: Hendon Hall Hotel
Address: Ashley Lane | Hendon, London NW4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in London
#230 Romantic Hotel in London
#277 Family Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendon Hall Hotel in North London is ideal for a relaxing stay in a beautiful mansion with terraced gardens, yet with easy access to the West End and central London. With a large free car park, the hotel is easily accessible from the A1 and M1. Hendon Hall offers 57 bedrooms - a mixture of classic, executive and junior suites all of which were refurbished in 2010 to a high standard.The property offers the self-contained Pembroke Suite, a function space with its own entrance, reception area and bar that can cater for up to 200 guests. The Pembroke is ideal for weddings, celebrations or business meetings and events. Hendon Hall is home to the 2 Rosette fine dining Garrick Restaurant and serves afternoon teas in its lounges or outside gardens as a speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hendon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hendon Hall London
Hendon Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing