We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined wedding night!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hendon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hendon Hall Hotel
Ranked #427 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ruined wedding night!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

I spent 1 night here with my husband on our wedding night. As I didn't have time to look into hotels I saw the pictures on the website and thought it looked quite nice - bad mistake! Arrived around 1am, went to our room which was cold and there was not even toothpaste in this so called '4* hotel'. Hubby had to go down to reception and ask for some which they did give- but it was a half empty one which belonged to the receptionst!

Then when I was showering, there was a knock on the door and the concierge told my husband that I had to stop because it was causing a leak downstairs! They didn't even offer to move us into another room - did they expect us just not to shower!!?

So only after my husband complained did they finally agree to move us. Intially to across the hall to a similar shabby room. But as hubby kicked up a fuss they then moved us to probably the best room in the hotel which was a four poster room which was quite decent but very dated.

Overall we were very dissapointed, the hotel is very dated, staff were not very helpful and quite frankly ruined our first night as newly weds. On the up side, breakfast was good but that's about it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hapyydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    210
    72
    38
    28
See reviews for
113
236
21
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Born Londoner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

If you would like to stay in North London away from the tourist crowds, or want to run a business event away from the madding crowds and have a spot of luxury, this could be the place for you. Every member of staff I met was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable. I'm not sure whether previous reviews were dealing with a different set of staff as they were very courteous to me even though I'm quite young and often get ignored in hotels! The chef is to be complimented - I loved his menu - and the bar staff mix a perfect Kir Royale. There's also a very good wine list which would be good for weddings I imagine. You can eat breakfast in the gorgeous gardens outside which is a huge plus. We actually had a room service breakfast which was enormous and came to our room with a lot of aplomb - we loved it! The rooms are quite small due to this being an old manor house. They are however well laid out, cozy and spotless. The flat screen TV was a nice touch (new vs. old!). It's quite romantic for a night away from home with your partner.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanlovespugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is in urgent need of refurbishment. The dining room chairs were heavily stained, the carpet rucked and dangerous and many of the common areas of the hotel were freezing. The quality of the food was poor with breakfast being a particular disappointment. Vile coffee, cheap orange juice, nasty croissants and dreadfully slow service. And don't be fooled by the phots - this hotel is actually in the middle of a heavily built residential area of North London.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sibeliusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Booked a Winter Break deal for my husband and I plus another couple. £149 DBB including champagne & canapés before dinner. Very good price! Upgraded our room (£10) and paid £15pp to upgrade to the a la carte menu.

Problems with booking included being charged in full for 3 rooms, despite several emails and phone calls from me alerting them to the mistake. It took several phone calls and transfers to other 'departments' ("it's not my area") to arrange a refund.

Our bathroom door wouldn't close (and we're not one of those couples who 'shares' everything!) but housekeeping said it would take 24 hours to get it fixed (it was water damaged and had expanded, so it needed to be planed and re-hung) so we asked to move to another room as we were only staying 1 night. We were told the hotel was fully booked but eventually they said we could move into somebody else's room as they had not yet arrived. Simply passing the problem on to another customer!

One of the bar staff didn't speak a word of English. She didn't even know 'beer' for goodness sake! Those who could speak English were nice enough but very slow.

There was confusion over which menu we were entitled to and we were told by the first waiter that he'd have to check with the chef that he was able to do the a la carte option. Having paid £60 (in total) to upgrade the 4 of us to that menu, I was QUITE sure that he WOULD be able to! Thankfully I had my confirmation letter with me. We still needed to explain to each and every waiter that we were on the a la carte menu, so it wasn't the most relaxing dining experience. It has to be said though, the food was absolutely gorgeous.

The final straw was our Sunday Times not being delivered in the morning. We were impressed on check-in that they had recorded our newspaper preference to our profile (having stayed with Handpicked several times before) but when we phoned reception to ask where it was, we were told it must have been delivered to the wrong room and that it was out fault for moving rooms! Priceless!

Overall, the service was utterly shocking and definitely NOT what you should receive from a Handpicked Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendon_Hall, Sales Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
We would like to respond to your comments and regain your confidence in our hotels and would appreciate it if you could contact us on customerservices@handpicked.co.uk so we can either email, write or phone you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

It's taken me a while to remember to sign in and write this review.
I have already once reviewed this hotel having stayed in one of the suites on the night before my wedding (which was good)
i wanted to book this hotel for my husband's birthday (our first married birthday) and stay in one of the amazing suites.
I booked it and I got all excited as it was a surprise.

well, we turned up and got told that the suite wasn't available due to a "plumbing problem" and we would have to have a normal room. I was so disappointed, no apology or explanation as to why they hadnt phoned me earlier to inform me.

we were taken up to a normal room, and i have to say. it was not up to the standards of the suites at all. small room, small creeky bed, decor was outdated and pretty disappointing. so much so we left and didnt stay.even when we went back to reception to say we werent staying....no apology.

so, pretty disappointing. we actually ended up at a premier travel inn that night. Bed was much bigger!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingermrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendon_Hall, Sales Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
We would like to respond to your comments and regain your confidence in our hotels and would appreciate it if you could contact us on customerservices@handpicked.co.uk so we can either email, write or phone you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

I picked this hotel because it was out of the congestion zone and had a car park, because the photograph attracted me and because it was near where I grew up, many years ago. I got an extremely good price through Hotels-London, and spent two nights there. During the day I took bus and Underground downtown. The hotel was utterly pleasant: room not large but charming and comfortable, staff extraordinarily helpful, restaurant (for dinner) exceptional. The only drawback was during the second night, being awoken by loud TV talk in the wee hours and not being able to locate the room it came from -- it went on till after breakfast. I suggested they put stickers on the TVs with an urgent request to mind the neighbours. But I have since recommended the hotel to everyone, and would definitely stay there again. A real pleasure, and at a (for London) remarkably low price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger41France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendon_Hall, Sales Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

From reading previous reviews we were in 2 minds about booking this hotel, however we were very pleased that we chose to do so! We arrived earlier than the specified check-in time but received a warm welcome and were able to check in early. The overall presentation of the hotel is excellent, somewhat dated in certain areas but to be expected in such a historic building. The room was a good size, well presented and very clean. The service we received from the staff was excellent and the breakfast was well worth the money. The only draw back with this hotel is its distance from the tube station and from the centre of London. The website states that it is a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest tube but it is far more than that through an area that isn't particularly nice. We chose to drive to the station and leave our car in one of the many side streets (no fee or permits required on a weekend or bank holiday). Its then 11 stops to Leicester Square so a bit of a trek into the centre of the city. That being said, we believe that the quality of the hotel was worth it and would definitely stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamster169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
2.4 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#489 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hide London
The Hide London
#56 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Hendon (The Hyde) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#485 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#425 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clayton Crown Hotel
Clayton Crown Hotel
#431 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendon Hall Hotel

Property: Hendon Hall Hotel
Address: Ashley Lane | Hendon, London NW4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in London
#230 Romantic Hotel in London
#277 Family Hotel in London
#290 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendon Hall Hotel in North London is ideal for a relaxing stay in a beautiful mansion with terraced gardens, yet with easy access to the West End and central London. With a large free car park, the hotel is easily accessible from the A1 and M1. Hendon Hall offers 57 bedrooms - a mixture of classic, executive and junior suites all of which were refurbished in 2010 to a high standard.The property offers the self-contained Pembroke Suite, a function space with its own entrance, reception area and bar that can cater for up to 200 guests. The Pembroke is ideal for weddings, celebrations or business meetings and events. Hendon Hall is home to the 2 Rosette fine dining Garrick Restaurant and serves afternoon teas in its lounges or outside gardens as a speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hendon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hendon Hall London
Hendon Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing