We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #569 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel . Very clean our rooms we had where beautiful we were on the 9th floor which we where pleased abt as there's a club in the hotel with loud music but seen as we where that high it was ok . Breakfast was just ok eatable . Staff really lovely we are booking again for next year . It's a 10 min walk if that to covent garden

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Very nice and comfortable hotel .
very good location near the center and a minute from the underground.
good neighborhood with shops and restaurants.
excellent breakfast. ................
nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Took our niece to London and Paris for high school graduation gift....stayed here. Budget hotel but clean...nothing fancy...basic. front desk very helpful and pleasant. Rooms...No door knobs. You push door after turning key. The key story. On a wooden stick. Yes! When you leave your room..you deposit it in box at front desk. When you return..you pick up key at desk. Odd. You must present your check in slip...it was yellow. Room was upgraded thank goodness....to a suite. Now Americans would laugh. It was half the size of a standard room in the states. Cozy. 2 singles...and a pull out little sofa. Room shaped like an L. You have to pump the toilet to flush . It's a Euro thing...very common. But it's strange to us. Singles were like cots...low to the floor. Our niece had the best bed. Plenty oh heat...hot water. Huge Windows....sucko view. Room was bright. Room darkening curtains for sleeping. Really good breakfast buffet....free....good staff. Hotel off main street....down small side driveway in cul de sac....private. very close to bus stops and tube lines. Tons of little eateries. Quiet hotel. Just to lay out heads down and shower...it was ok. Nothing was terrible. Now if you want 5 star treatment and accommodations and amenities...you wouldn't be happy here. We do that also. This was a hub to come and go...thats all. No rudeness...bugs or dirt. No chocolates on the pillows either...lol. if you plan on a day trip to Paris like we did...you are close to eurostar stop via tube. Also...if i could have given a better rating than poor but not quite average..i would have. How about poverage? Go have fun. Been to London 4x now....Love it and the people are awesome.

Room Tip: Don't know that there is one to u.s.standards...it's a basic hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaunaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived prior to check in time so were pleasantly surprised when our rooms were ready for us. Fairly basic rooms but spacious and clean. We were lucky that ours faced over the Square so had a good outlook. Beds a little too soft for my taste and moved very easily...ie. Don't sit down quickly or you end up at other side of room! Excellent all you could want for breakfast, friendly and efficient service. We spent 2 nights here and would recommend as a great base to explore from. We would return here when visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireLass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Incredibly noisy. Even the rooms at the back allow loud fan noise and rumbling through the single glazed windows making it impossible to sleep. Narrow, mean rooms. Rudimentary breakfast with single cups of coffee on demand. Positives are that the hotel does seem reasonably clean, the staff are polite, the parking isn't expensive, and it does have some good kitsch late 1960s details - like the plastic sign on the entrance to the car park.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank JonParker98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. my friend booked a single room through an agent and then I decided to go with her to this trip as I also had a meeting so we told the agent to book a double room instead of the single. when we arrived at the hotel they gave as a single room. we went down to the reception and explained the situation and told them that we needed a double room and that we would pay the difference in the price at the same time. they told us that they didn't have any notice for the change from the agent and that they could not do anything about the room.

the girls at the reception were very rood, in fact it is the first time I had such a bud experience with any hotel staff. the one girls, at first told us that there were no double rooms left so she could not do anything and that if there were any she could give us one and pay the difference. then I asked her if they had a suit and she said that they had so I asked her to give it to us and pay the difference. she said that she could not do that and that suddenly the suit was taken!!!!!!!at that point another girl came and told her loud so we could hear her : '' are you still dealing with this?'' '' tell them to leave if they want'' and she turns to us:'' if you don't like what we offer you ,you can leave the hotel''. but of course they wouldn't return any of the money we had already paid. we asked to talk to the manager and both girls told us that no one one could do anything!!!! they gave us another single room and paid another 270 pounds for that.

rooms were too small. no walls between the rooms but only gypsum boards so you can hear everything that is going on in the next room like it is happening in your room.

breakfast very poor. complete chaos, no clean tables, average food. you better pay 10 pound for a decent breakfast somewhere else. we went the first morning and left immediately.

the only good thing is the location. tube station very closed.

overall, the worse hotel ever stayed. would never go back for any reason.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evaso2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent - well served by bus and nearby tube stations. It is also only 15 mins walk from covent garden. There are 3 bars and Barberells's is the pick of the 3. Its quite funky and has a certain charm to it. The atrium bar is a bit odd and not that comfortable.

The rooms are poor, so be warned, but London is such a great city, the less time spent in your room the better. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, but small and old-fashioned. Dont let this put you off the hotel though - the breakfast is massive (but busy) and sitting beside strangers is not as odd as i thought it would be.

Sainsburys and Teaso are also nearby.

Dont be put off by some reviews - its not luxury, but its well priced and well located. As ever, keep expectations realistic and enjoy.

Room Tip: higher up rooms have less noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestmeathPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#515 of 1,076 in London
3,581 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#585 of 1,076 in London
2,661 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#459 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#874 of 1,076 in London
8,166 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#377 of 1,076 in London
2,149 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: £98 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing