We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #568 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Imperial is part of a chain of four or five hotels all just east of Tottenham Court Road in central London. The Imperial has a 60's ambience too it but is well maintained and is about 25 meters from Russell Square with its italian cafe in the middle of the park.

Rooms are medium sized, spotlessly clean and have a LAN lead to access the internet for free. WiFi is hit and miss apart from the foyer.and as I was there in winter, this can be a little drafty.

Breakfast is included and is a buffet type option, but it is possible to get a 'full english' style breakfast on which to start the day.

The staff are an absolute delight - nothing is too much trouble and they have a great (and cheap) left luggage system

If you want to avoid the traffic noise ask for a room on the courtyard side - it's not as pretty as the Square side but it's a lot quieter and if you are high up (8th & 9th floors) you get a nice view of the newer London skyscrapers

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room if you want a traffic noise free room, especially in summer. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookeyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    838
    654
    189
    124
See reviews for
414
587
221
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel BUT - stayed there last Saturday night and room overlooked main road/square and the noise kept myself and my daughter awake most of the night. Would recommend asking for a room not overlooking road if your not used to noise from traffic/taxi horns/ sirens/partying people, which was through entire night/morning.
Apart this hotel room clean and breakfast ok.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great choice in London! It is a very inexpensive alternative for accommodation in London, where there is a lack of cheap hotels.
The location is very good - Russel Square, next to the British Museum, and there is a tubre station less than two blocks away. The hotel also has a bar open until 2am and is linked by a corridor to another hotel from the same chain, called the President Hotel.
The breakfast is OK, not magninifcent but it serves its purpose. I am definitely staying there again next time I go to London-

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel . Very clean our rooms we had where beautiful we were on the 9th floor which we where pleased abt as there's a club in the hotel with loud music but seen as we where that high it was ok . Breakfast was just ok eatable . Staff really lovely we are booking again for next year . It's a 10 min walk if that to covent garden

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Very nice and comfortable hotel .
very good location near the center and a minute from the underground.
good neighborhood with shops and restaurants.
excellent breakfast. ................
nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Took our niece to London and Paris for high school graduation gift....stayed here. Budget hotel but clean...nothing fancy...basic. front desk very helpful and pleasant. Rooms...No door knobs. You push door after turning key. The key story. On a wooden stick. Yes! When you leave your room..you deposit it in box at front desk. When you return..you pick up key at desk. Odd. You must present your check in slip...it was yellow. Room was upgraded thank goodness....to a suite. Now Americans would laugh. It was half the size of a standard room in the states. Cozy. 2 singles...and a pull out little sofa. Room shaped like an L. You have to pump the toilet to flush . It's a Euro thing...very common. But it's strange to us. Singles were like cots...low to the floor. Our niece had the best bed. Plenty oh heat...hot water. Huge Windows....sucko view. Room was bright. Room darkening curtains for sleeping. Really good breakfast buffet....free....good staff. Hotel off main street....down small side driveway in cul de sac....private. very close to bus stops and tube lines. Tons of little eateries. Quiet hotel. Just to lay out heads down and shower...it was ok. Nothing was terrible. Now if you want 5 star treatment and accommodations and amenities...you wouldn't be happy here. We do that also. This was a hub to come and go...thats all. No rudeness...bugs or dirt. No chocolates on the pillows either...lol. if you plan on a day trip to Paris like we did...you are close to eurostar stop via tube. Also...if i could have given a better rating than poor but not quite average..i would have. How about poverage? Go have fun. Been to London 4x now....Love it and the people are awesome.

Room Tip: Don't know that there is one to u.s.standards...it's a basic hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaunaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived prior to check in time so were pleasantly surprised when our rooms were ready for us. Fairly basic rooms but spacious and clean. We were lucky that ours faced over the Square so had a good outlook. Beds a little too soft for my taste and moved very easily...ie. Don't sit down quickly or you end up at other side of room! Excellent all you could want for breakfast, friendly and efficient service. We spent 2 nights here and would recommend as a great base to explore from. We would return here when visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#604 of 1,068 in London
2,593 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#347 of 1,068 in London
2,079 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#436 of 1,068 in London
1,032 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#104 of 1,068 in London
356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,068 in London
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing