We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Week in Russell Square”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #568 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Newark, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Week in Russell Square”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My son (20) and I just came back from a week-long stay in April 2014. The location was wonderful. Walking distance to the British Museum, very short walk to the Russell Square tube station. We had no desire to stay in a "fancy" hotel. We were there to sleep, not spend time there. The breakfast was fine -- the usual scrambled eggs, sausage, ham, fruit, cereal, juice. I'm not a baked bean or stewed tomato fan, but I'm not British (from the US). It certainly saved us from buying another meal during the day. We got the hotel through a package with British Airways, and it was a very good deal.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    839
    656
    189
    124
See reviews for
415
587
221
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went here with a group of 11 ladies for a hen weekend, Hotel location fab, just round the corner from Russell Square tube, breakfasts great, hotel lovely, beds so comfy I fell straight to sleep.

Only slight problem was bath not very wide and towels washed within an inch of their life.

Staff all very helpful, cheerful and kind - would go again !!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkirby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location right on Russell Square, so easy access to the West End and the sights of Central London. Russell Square tube is just around the corner, and it's close to Euston, St Pancras and Kings Cross stations. The hotel itself is quite dated. The rooms have had some refurbishment but the rest of the place looks stuck squarely in the Eighties. Breakfast is included but is not to be recommended. I had a room on the seventh floor overlooking the square - even in March the room was very hot. Opening the windows makes it fairly noisy. Overall, great for location, unmemorable otherwise.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel, we always stay in Russell Square. My husband was celebrating a special birthday, so we booked an executive room. It was very disappointing for the amount we paid, the room was large with an extra sofa bed, but that was the only difference to the standard room we stayed in the last time. On entering the room, the heat was unbearable, so we asked reception if the heating could be turned off for the duration of our stay, this wasn't a problem. Our room over looked the courtyard, we both slept well and heard no noise. Breakfast was busy, but we were seated immediately, I didn't enjoy it, this could be me being fussy though. The Night and Day bar underneath the hotel serves good food and drink at reasonable prices for central London. We will return to this hotel but next time it will be a standard room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hex27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nr pontefract
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just had as stay in The Imperial Hotel for 2 nights. This hotel is pretty central but in my opinion that's the only good thing about it. The breakfast is terrible, always cold. Had to ask for fresh hot each day. The toast is left out and is like eating rubber. The porter is very rude and obviously does not enjoy his job, this clearly shows.

Room Tip: Go for bigger room as very very tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mintcake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

The Heart of England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here recently with colleagues. Overall not impressed. The first issue was our dining allowance. The arrangement with our business travel agent is that we get a £20 meal allowance or £25 if staying inside the M25. I had to explain this to the check in staff, who didn't know what the M25 was let alone where it is and that The Imperial Hotel sits within its confines! I asked for a double, I was booked a double and was charged for a double, but alas I found myself in a twin. I asked for a quiet room but was allocated a room overlooking Russel Square and Southampton Row, the room was sweltering and didn't have aircon. You couldn't open the windows, which were single glazed for risk of perforating your eardrums from the noise outside, which by the way is continuous through the night with a mix of emergency service vehicles screaming along and local drunks and nutcases. Closing the single glazed windows merely took the edge off the noise. When we convened the next day it transpired that none of my colleagues got a wink of sleep. In addition to the external noise one of my party was kept awake by a room party in a neighbouring room. If you stay here I recommend you pack your earplugs.

Room Tip: book a different hotel or pack earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruddlescounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at the imperial hotel in London, found this hotel good value for money with a great location spot for site seeing. we found the room clean and the full English breakfast was lovely. The staff was very helpful and friendly. will go there again.

Room Tip: room at the back of hotel, off main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#349 of 1,069 in London
2,080 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#434 of 1,069 in London
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#72 of 1,069 in London
356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,069 in London
800 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Principal London
The Principal London
#441 of 1,069 in London
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing