We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd visit & still great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #559 of 1,089 Hotels in London
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Our 2nd visit & still great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2nights just after Easter. We have stayed here before and loved the great location of the hotel. It was a great stay again. It's clean, tidy and the staff are helpful too. The breakfast was really nice. Lots of tea which is great. The hotel is 10mins walk from Oxford Street. We drove from home and parking in London that is safe and secure is a bonus. We drank in the atrium bar and the day and night bar too. We will be back and would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marmitelover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    808
    630
    179
    119
See reviews for
395
568
212
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have stayed in a few of the seven hotels in this chain during business trips. They are located in a central position in Bloomsbury, a short stroll from Euston and Kings cross statons and are central to most of 'visitors London'. All of the hotels offer very competitive rates and are generally of good quality. One of my colleagues describes some of the hotels as being of 'aged decadence' - probably an apt and accurate description -but not in a bad way. The restaurants are operated like a military exercise-the waiter to guest ratio must be around 3:1 as the service is speedy and efficient. Comprehensive menu's of good quality are on offer and I found it to be adequate to my needs. In summary, a good quality medium cost hotel chain in an accessible area to most of tourist London.

Room Tip: Any as they are mostly of the same standard except the senior citizens rooms that are kitted out wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeeJayEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at Imperial Hotel May 2013 as a part of 'Contiki Holidays'. I spent a total of two nights at Imperial Hotel and overall, this was a great. The exterior could use a bit a of a revamp, as it appears to be slightly run down. The fountain outside the main entrance was empty and not in operation, however upon entering the lobby I was very impressed. The lobby was spacious, the staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean, which is most important. Our keys were given to us on long, stiff 'key chains', in order to be sure they were returned each and every time we left the hotels premises. I still can't decide if this was a convenience or a nuisance. Our room was small, consisting of two twin size beds which were not exceptionally comfortable, but not uncomfortable either. They did the trick! An English Breakfast was complimentary as a part of our rate and I found the food to be so-so. Lots to choose from and excellent table service. The location was the best part. Just blocks away from the Russell Square Underground, we could walk from the metro to the Imperial Hotel in a matter of minutes. The hotel is located on a quiet street across from Russell Square, a small quiet park with pretty scenery. Overall, this hotel was great. I would definitely recommend it for anyone visiting London to primarily 'sight-see'. If you plan on spending excess time in the room/hotel itself, it may be best to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmeq398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great location for this hotel, nice lobby and off street entrance. 1st impressions were good. Complimentary drink on arrival, tick - nice lounge tick, then it went a bit downhill. Asked for a quiet room and was offered a disabled access room at the rear - wish we had taken it. As it was, we took the standard offered as it had a bath (thought we might need a soak after the marathon) which was OK in terms of size and cleanliness, possibly a bit overused pillows (always mean to take my own) if you know what I mean. In room coffee & tea were poor quality which should have been a warning and the bath towels were hand towel sized. Single glazing onto a VERY busy street (police really like there two tones here!) meant little sleep. TV reception was poor. We had the weekender package which included evening meals - mistake - unless you like school dinners. The carvery was an odd place, meals were edible, but that was about the best I could say - very staff canteen, staff seemed a bit new to the task - so tried the other venues on offer over our three night stay. London Cafe was better but not great and the Wine bar at the Tavistock much better but you could only have the cheaper set menu - I then discovered there were various vouchers for the hotel group and the business voucher would have provided a better meal - no option to pay the difference at the wine bar, which was a bit Faulty Towers. I mentioned my concerns to the reception desk at the Imperial to be told 'Oh! the manager who deals with that isn't back until Monday' (when we checked out) 'so there's nothing I can do' - she had a good grasp of where the complaint forms were though! When the lounge was busy at night there were not enough staff to cope. Acid test would I return? NO! There are better options and lovely places to eat everywhere so why would you limit yourself? Not such a great deal then. The booking process was also a bit odd, as we were there for the Marathon I thought we should book early, their web site updates in the new financial year so won't take bookings too far in advance, they did over the phone but with no conformation, so I had to ask a few times for an e-mail to give me something in writing. I tried again by e-mail to organise airport transfers and to ask if additional friends could join us for evening meal all of this was beyond their capabilities - thank goodness, as it turned out, with regard to meals!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigiefortScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just spent 6 nts in London for a holiday and chose this hotel as it had a good location and good deal. On arrival, a nice bell man helped us with our luggage and check in was smooth. Our room was clean, but with a strange layout (the toilet was in a separate room from the sink, so you can't wash your hands afterwards). Overall the room was clean and ok. Breakfast was included which is nice. The food have not changed the 6 days we were there. Some variations would be nice. Just a reminder, if you are coming in the summer, there is no a/c in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelking85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

On arrival staff were extremely attentive and welcoming, they stir stored our bags away until it was time to check in. The room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was good, a good selection and warm. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Imperial is a larger hotel than I normally prefer, but it came with a package. Checking in was smooth and efficient. I asked for a quiet room, and was quite content to find that my room faced a back yard. Albeit, not very quiet, due to a number of noisy fans or something similar that should be possible to soundproof. The room itself was OK. The bed was too soft for me and the pillows (2) were both way too hard. One hard and one soft pillow is a much better option, that may hotel provide. The bathroom had a bathtub. It was clean, with tiled floor. But the towels were paper thin. Way too thin for a decent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#582 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#341 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#89 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#412 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#675 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Superbreak UK so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing