We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review!!!”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #575 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An honest review!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'd read some mixed reviews on this hotel, but still booked it. My wife read some reviews ( bad ) the night before we were due to leave for the hotel and was a little concerned.
To be honest I thought what have we let ourselves in for.
How surprised we were. Hotel whilst not looking amazing from the outside, was really nice inside. Our room 804 was lovely and spacious and nicely decorated and immaculately clean with lovely ensuite facilities.
Location was amazing, near enough to eveything, but far away enough to be nice and quiet. We were situated at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard.
Breakfast was fine ( not fussed on the sausages...my only gripe ). Staff polite...prices in the Day and Night bar were fantastic, you can save a fortune if you drink in there. All in all a great trip and would definitely recommend to friends and family.
For the price of the hotel a real bargain...thanks very much Super break.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room get one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrNeilWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    843
    660
    189
    128
See reviews for
423
589
222
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at The Imperial in December 2013, as i was visiting the Winter Wonderland at Hyde Park. The hotel is in a fantastic location, the rooms are clean and the Breakfast was Fantastic and the Staff are all friendly. I have booked to return here in July with my mum and sister.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent a one night at the Imperial hotel Bloomsbury, Close to the British Museum and Russell square tube station. However I did find the beds comfortable. I think the bathroom needs a bit updating and maybe investing on some new towels. The breakfast room was gloomy canteen looking. Bog standard food was available but in poor quality. The juices were too sweet and the toast taste like chewy rubber. In the end I decided to leave the hot food and stick with rolls with butter and jam. I would not recommend this place if you want a good variety of hot buffet food.

I probably would not stay here unless it was only for sleeping.

Room Tip: My Room was at the front nice view, there was quite a lot of noise even with the window closed. Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dew81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was a one-night stay and it turned out fine despite the rather incompetence of some of the staff. Breakfast was good. Rooms comfortable. Best, though, was free wi-fi AND parking under the hotel, easily accessible and very reasonable discount for guests. Since I had a rental car and the parking was independently run, I left my car for four days and having the Hertz office right next to the hotel proved a godsend since they paid the London Congestion fee for me when we left London during the hours the fee--and FINES--would have been applicable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Russell Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ST.Jean-sur-Richelieu
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In front of Russell Park. Lots of restaurants to pick from around hotel. Staff at reception were helpful. Room was large and over looking park. There was one problem we had. the man behind the buffet was cleaning fallen cereal and crumbs in to the lid of the cereal container and dumping it back into the cereal tubes. We complained to front desk wrote a report and we were told to make complaint also to person incharge of Diningroom. He said he had no time. The next morning it happened again. What happens when something is dropped on the floor in the kitchen and hidden from view. I do not want to think about it. They lost my holiday stay in London for October, 2014.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We returned yesterday after spending two nights at The Imperial in Bloomsbury, just down the road from the British Museum. On arrival, we were advised that we'd been upgraded to an executive room, which was very comfortable and spacious. Cosy beds, nice bathroom with bath and shower and two wash basins. The breakfast room is a bit gloomy and like a canteen and the food on offer, whilst adequate is not exactly inspiring, just your bog standard English, no yogurts or quality juices etc available. Having said this, however, The Imperial offers excellent value for money and we will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyannieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the Imperial through a travel site based on location. Russell Square is very convenient to the British Museum and not far from King's Cross / St. Pancras stations. A tube stop is near the hotel. A very nice small park is immediately across the street.
My single room was just that: a room just large enough to hold a single bed, with a small desk and a not very comfortable (and somewhat shabby) chair. ONE quite thin towel was provided each day.
London is an expensive city, but I've definitely gotten better value that the Imperial offered.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,069 in London
3,511 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#594 of 1,069 in London
2,619 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#878 of 1,069 in London
8,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#360 of 1,069 in London
2,092 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#441 of 1,069 in London
1,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon and Ctrip TA so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing