We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Grand”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #573 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not So Grand”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Arrived to what appeared a well presented hotel. Friendly staff on arrival and lobby older style but presents well. On entering our 'executive room, (don't be fooled by room name) it was very obvious not a 3* standard even in the UK - this was more .student/ low end tourist accommodation. Good space with larger bathroom offering two sinks and appeared reasonably clean. Can accept older styles and not so modern facilities but having just travelled 12.5 hour flight we just needed to 'flop' for a couple of hours before dinner, OMG - we initially turned a blind eye the making of the bed, but on placing ones body onto this so called bed we quickly sank in the totally broken mattress. When you only sat on its edge the sides were crumbling. On taking closer inspection quickly realised beds are roll away style and pushed together. Explained our disappointments to reception staff who quickly tried to locate another room, but on their inspection and discussion with House Keeping were told all bedding same style and quality. All bedding is rolled in and out according to how many guests are staying in each room. This is not how the web page defines this property - although web page has limited images, on our departure the taxi driver commented that they do hear many stories not being 3* as advertised? You pay for what you get. But this is certainly lacks even 2* comforts. Management were obliging and offered for us to find alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Ensure you request for a room with new bedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    843
    661
    189
    128
See reviews for
424
589
222
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Biloela, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've stayed at the Imperial hotel 3 times (twice in 2009 and once 2013) as part of Contiki. It's a great hotel to stay at if you are travelling solo or in a group.

The Room - The rooms are very basic but all you need for a few nights. There is a small TV, luggage space, a separate toilet to bathroom (unless you book a single room). Like most UK/European hotels there is no fridge in the room.

Check in - We had previously booked and had our room paid for so check in was quick and easy.

Keys - We were both given a swipe card each which made it easy if one of us wanted to return to the hotel before the other.

Facilities - The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the lobby only. There is lots of comfy chairs there to sit on. The hotel breakfast was around 7-8 pounds. I think it is totally worth it as it is a full English buffet, all you can eat.

Location - I love the location of this hotel. If you are a first time visitor to London its a must. It is away from the busyness of the traffic, which can be a bit overwhelming at times. The hotel is located at Russell square, which has a beautiful park to wounder threw. Russell Square Tube station is just around the corner and has a direct line to and from Heathrow airport. There is a Tesco near the tube station so you can always grab a quick snack. There is also a shopping center a bit further and a coin operated laundry is a walk-able distance.

Fellow Contikians - If you are travelling with Contiki I recommend this hotel as the Royal is a bit full-on with other groups. This one doesn't get as busy and is only a very short walk from the Royal. If you are a Solo traveler I would defiantly pick this one again as I always felt safe and was comfortable there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanna1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Do not stay here. I've never been treated so poorly. I've never paid so much money to sleep on a cot. Literally. It's on wheels and you can feel the springs in your back. Not to mention I had to sleep upside on the bed because it was slanted so much. The staff are completely incompetent. If I didn't know better I would've thought this was their first week being open. If you plan on doing any work or communicating over your stay - good luck. I've had better internet in a cave in the middle of nowhere. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone. Do not come here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacheralfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Dirty bathrooms, rude staff unwelcoming and London offers far better at better rates!

Only a stranger in a storm would dare knock or call at this 70's locked glorified YMCA!

Basically the hotel lures you with the promise of above basic in its communal areas but once upstairs you realise it's basically a doss house!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Piranha-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Cheap and uncheerful hotel. Horrific interiors, like a travel-lodge with half the budget. No double rooms (no sex please: we're British), just singles and twins. Location brilliant and that's really the only reason why people stay. Close to Russell Sq. Free wifi is a blessing too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank budapestguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here on the night of 11th May, and were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Our room (on 7th floor) was comfortable and clean, and quite spacious, with a good view over Russell Square. Breakfast the following morning was 'buffet style' with coffee/tea served as requested. The food selection and quality was good, and the breakfast room was well decorated and clean. No problems, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoinvestigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Imperial last week for 3 nights. The staff were generally very nice and the location was fantastic.
The Hotel is tired and dreary and quite unappealing. Our bedroom was a twin room with what can only be described as upgraded camp beds. They were incredibly uncomfortable. We had a lovely view of Russell Square and were on the seventh floor, but due to the windows being in desperate need of upgrading the noise level was truly horrendous. The bathroom is split into 2 with the toilet being separate and it stunk beyond belief of urine, it was quite apparent it was in the grout on the floor tiling. The shower was loose from the wall and sprayed and flooded the bathroom every time it was used and the towels though clean were paper thin and stained, it was really unpleasant.
The breakfast was cold and was quite unappealing.
I was told when I booked the hotel through superbreak that I was paying for the location and to be fair that was all I paid for and I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Not facing Russell Square, the view is nice but the noise level is very high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,069 in London
3,513 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#591 of 1,069 in London
2,620 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#877 of 1,069 in London
8,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#362 of 1,069 in London
2,095 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#437 of 1,069 in London
1,044 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing