We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price for London”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #568 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just stayed for bed and breakfast .Looks a bit tatty outside so we where surprised that the inside reception area wasnt to bad.Friendlyish Receptionist and room was quite nice.Went to breakfast in the morning which was a buffet and was very good .When we checked out we left our cases there which was brilliant idea to save lugging them around while we had a few hours sightseeing. Overall it was close to a few places nearby , walking distance to The British Museum and British Library.Went back for our cases and then to nearby Eusten Station.Brill!!! Would stay again.Recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tallyanne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,062)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is fine to stay in for a short stay. The location is in the center of London and right near the underground station. This makes the location very convenient when visiting London with limited time.

Room Tip: Ask for late checkout on the day of checkout, they can't organise this in advance.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shellbells6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The outer appearance of this hotel may be unpleasant, however the good location in Russell Square provides easy access to central London and is positioned within close proximity of the stops for several of the tour bus routes.

We arrived late in the evening and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful and were even able to help us organise a bus tour and musical tickets for the following day. They also provided us with the free wifi code, which can be used in rooms.

The rooms themselves are a tad dated, but are quite large in size and there is plenty of storage. However I did find a few inconveniences and issues with the room. The bathroom is split with the toilet in a separate room from the shower and sink, which was okay for us, but possibly not for everyone. In addition, the thoroughness of cleaning may be questioned as there were many hairs on the carpet and we even found a discarded pill on the floor.

The breakfast was not particularly special, but was enjoyable all the same. There were an acceptable amount of options for a cooked breakfast, but I noticed a definite lack of choice for a lighter/healthier breakfast.

Altogether this is a hotel with both good and bad qualities, however I believe that the staff, location and reasonable price of the Imperial make it an attractive hotel for visitors to London.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a better view then I suggest booking a room overlooking Russell Square itself...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice hotel close to all ammenities comfortable friendly and if you book online you'll find some really good offers we got the Thames River Cruise which was really interesting some had the 3 course carvery which was very good and well worth the money, would stay again if in the area staff were reallyfriendly too.

Room Tip: Our room over looked a yard area no real view but we did not spend much time in our room we were the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family to sightsee in london.
The hotel is in a great location and is a 5-10 mins walk to Euston train station! Unfortunatly on our first day we was ripped off by a taxi from the station to the hotel of £10! The showers need updating as you couldnt stand up and use them in my room! Other than that, my room wss great! The breakfast was nice with a good choice! The hotel is round the corner from the British Museum which is worth a visit!
I loved my stay at the Imperial Hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em-lou-slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

service from the staff was good. The room was clean,small but adequate for us.
Hotel location was in central London but extremely noisy all through the night.
worst of all...no airconditioning!!
unforgiveable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Have been to this hotel on a number of occasions. We always ask for a room overlooking the fountain and courtyard and have never suffered excess noise. The rooms we have had were spacious and clean and the breakfast although not loads of choice was always adequate. The hotel is in a nice area within easy reach of buses and tube station, also not far from Kings Cross. Plenty of pubs and nice restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of hotel overlooking the fountain and courtyard
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#513 of 1,073 in London
3,546 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#591 of 1,073 in London
2,644 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#877 of 1,073 in London
8,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#435 of 1,073 in London
1,058 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#372 of 1,073 in London
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: £103 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Cancelon, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing