We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at Imperial Hotel, Russell Square, London”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #560 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Imperial Hotel, Russell Square, London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights starting 4th August in room 618 overlooking Russell Square. The room was a reasonable size with twin beds, plenty of storage space, bathroom with bath and shower and, unusually, a separate toilet. Very clean modern style décor, not new, but nicely kept. As in most central London hotel there was traffic noise, but it was bearable. I enjoyed the view from the window overlooking the Square and watching the antics of the cyclists avoiding stopping at the lights by using the pavement etc. even weaving around pedestrians. The towels were a bit scratchy but everything was very clean. The stay was part of a deal through Thomas Cook in Washington. together with rail travel. Also included was one evening meal, which turned out to be with full restaurant services, including a very attentive manager and staff with an excellent carvery meal (I chose the lamb option which was as good ad any I have had) . The hotel is well placed for travel to most tourist attractions by bus (very handy for those of us with bus passes) The only addition I would ask the hotel to consider is grab handles in the shower area. Would recommend this hotel for sightseeing stays or show visits etc and the very helpful reception staff seemed to know all the different buses to so many places.

Room Tip: lots to chose from.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jab070139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    807
    629
    179
    119
See reviews for
395
566
212
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just had a 3 night stay at this hotel in Russell Square, London. It is well recommended.. The staff are very friendly and give excellent service. The rooms are basic but very clean. Breakfast is self service style as in most hotels these days. Russell Square is very convenient for the west end and other parts of London. We used the bus service as we have passes being "oldies" and it was perfect to get around this way. However the underground is nearby. The west end is within walking distance however.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking Russell Square on the 6th floor but there are quieter rooms overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pussycat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is nice...for a London hotel. The reception is lovely but the room was disappointing compared. I got a decent price which helped. The rooms are quite basic (with limited plug sockets for some reason) but nice and clean. Excellent location. Right on top on tube station and walking distance to some great London sights. No air con tho and no fans available from reception and given the heatwave it was quite uncomfortable. Might be something for the hotel to invest in! It was a nice hotel compared to some of the horrors you can end up in London. Would def stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

For the location and price I can't really fault it, plus the staff are really accommodating, man at reception even charged my Iphone for me, as I didn't have charger with me. I stayed two nights so got a free meal, choice to eat in a few of their Hotels, they have 5 all within 1 mile or so of Euston. Meal not brilliant, but came with room price so def not complaining. I'm really sorry I didn't find this chain years ago as I've been paying through nose for substandard Hotels when there's been the Imperial Chain sitting there all along. A great find and I'll always check out their vacancies at Bedford, Imperial, President & Tavistock whenever I'm in central London. First rate for value and class (Hotel standards & staff) x I'll no doubt be seeing you soon

Room Tip: Not sure, I asked for quieter room so was facing back, away from road, but overlooked Casino. No noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just stayed for bed and breakfast .Looks a bit tatty outside so we where surprised that the inside reception area wasnt to bad.Friendlyish Receptionist and room was quite nice.Went to breakfast in the morning which was a buffet and was very good .When we checked out we left our cases there which was brilliant idea to save lugging them around while we had a few hours sightseeing. Overall it was close to a few places nearby , walking distance to The British Museum and British Library.Went back for our cases and then to nearby Eusten Station.Brill!!! Would stay again.Recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallyanne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is fine to stay in for a short stay. The location is in the center of London and right near the underground station. This makes the location very convenient when visiting London with limited time.

Room Tip: Ask for late checkout on the day of checkout, they can't organise this in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbells6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The outer appearance of this hotel may be unpleasant, however the good location in Russell Square provides easy access to central London and is positioned within close proximity of the stops for several of the tour bus routes.

We arrived late in the evening and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful and were even able to help us organise a bus tour and musical tickets for the following day. They also provided us with the free wifi code, which can be used in rooms.

The rooms themselves are a tad dated, but are quite large in size and there is plenty of storage. However I did find a few inconveniences and issues with the room. The bathroom is split with the toilet in a separate room from the shower and sink, which was okay for us, but possibly not for everyone. In addition, the thoroughness of cleaning may be questioned as there were many hairs on the carpet and we even found a discarded pill on the floor.

The breakfast was not particularly special, but was enjoyable all the same. There were an acceptable amount of options for a cooked breakfast, but I noticed a definite lack of choice for a lighter/healthier breakfast.

Altogether this is a hotel with both good and bad qualities, however I believe that the staff, location and reasonable price of the Imperial make it an attractive hotel for visitors to London.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a better view then I suggest booking a room overlooking Russell Square itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#582 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#336 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#413 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#679 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Principal London
The Principal London
#433 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Superbreak UK so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing