We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #559 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here twice while doing a contiki tour it meets your basic needs and price wise is ok close to major attractions stayed here in July 2012. Super close to the great British museum and convent garden

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    799
    623
    176
    117
See reviews for
389
558
210
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel in situated in quiet part of London.An easy taxi ride from Euston and short walk from the Underground. The reception staff were very friendly
and our room 211 was quite pleasant overlooking a garden.The free WiFi in the room was patchy and annoyingly had to be re booted every eight hours with a pass code from reception. The room itself was very clean and had a comfortable double bed, the bathroom
was was adequate and the water very hot with plenty of towels and soaps. Tea and coffee were also supplied
We had a meal included in the deal and it was very good and the overall prices in the restaurant were very reasonable. The full english breakfast was a little disappointing, with no fresh fruit or yoghurts and the sausages were swimming in fat. However the selection was ok it tasted very good. The staff were very attentive and pleasant.
There are plenty of restaurants in the area and it is close to the British Museum, which is well worth a visit.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Imperial and would not hesitate in staying there again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just stayed for a weekend break. Central location, we had about a 15min walk to the theatre area. Rooms clean and but a bit on the warm side with no air con. Good breakfast, overall value for money hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the second time. Had a minor problem at check-in regarding the room type, but this was professionally sorted out by the staff there at. Thanks.

Clean hotel, and rooms, tea and coffee facility in the room, nice position, and within walking distance to Covent Garden, Oxford street, etc. Would not mind staying there once again if i return to London.

Thanks to all the staff who do their best to ensure you have a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesmond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 2 years as we need to go to a hospital on Great Ormond Street..
It is in a good location for Euston Station, within easy walking distance, and handy for public transport.
The rooms at the front overlook Russell Square but can be a bit noisy - it is a main road in a city.
The big downside this time was that the food quality has deteriorated since our last visit, and although the breakfast is included and plentiful it is not a bargain.
The dinner we had was poor value.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have a good view if you are on the Russell Square side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelJ610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have just returned from a three night stay Aug 8th-Aug 11th.The rooms are a little basic but clean and comfortable.The staff are friendly and the location and price superb.The breakfast was plentiful and the dining room staff attentive.I will book again at this hotel on my next trip to London.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard tend to be quieter IMO
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targu Mures
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good is the key word, not really exceptional, or memorable. I stayed here at the beginning of august 2014, I had a single room, witch of course meant that the room was pretty small, this is to be expected of course.I guess my singular complain is that there was no air conditioning in my room, and opening the window didn't help much, not to mention the fact that opening the window is a bad idea because of the noise.
The view from my room wasn't exceptional, but it wasn't bad either.
That being said, the room was clean, so where the halls. The breakfast was pretty good and plentiful. A word to the wise: do not drink the coffee at breakfast, it is horrible. You can get excellent coffee at pretty much any establishment around the hotel if you take a 2 minute walk.
The staff where pleasant, polite and knowledgeable, witch is always a plus.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. A short walk away from 2 underground stations, and very close to the British Museum.
All in all, my stay was pleasant, but next time I'm heading to London, I'm looking for air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tecsi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#327 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#404 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#668 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
The Principal London
The Principal London
#433 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino, a hair salon and a Chinese herbalist. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK and Ebookers so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing