We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value close to the sights”
Review of Lords Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lords Hotel
Ranked #888 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value close to the sights”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This March I was in London. Thanks to booking via a travel agency in Romania, I managed to get a good deal at Lords Hotel. 2 persons/4 nights/220 euros, breakfast included.
Although the wi-fi didn't work (apparently there was a problem at the hotel, but somehow the reception had internet) and it was noisy when a group of travelers arrived/left, overall, it was a good experience.
There was hot water all the time and the hotel also provided soap and towels. There was heating in the room.
The hotel is close to Buckingham Palace (about 30 min walking) and also very close to two underground stops (Bayswater and Queensway).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricketro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    98
    175
    102
    116
See reviews for
121
103
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

It has definitely got much more of a hostel feel about it, and a crap hostel at it. I get its a cheap hotel but it provides no hotel features so I don't get why it doesn't say its what it is, a hostel! First it smells, old damp, not aired enough smell. Some of the reception staff were quite unfriendly.
Better off sleeping in than having the breakfast, stale piece of bread and the worst cup of tea I have ever had. Although the guy serving was really friendly.
We were put in the basement, which probably is the worst part of the building. It definitely smells down there and can hear all street noise and noise from tv lounge, a party going on for a lot of the night (again how is this classified as a hotel). Also paper thin walls. And no double bed, even though thats what we booked! Seemingly they have no double beds anywhere, but unsure what to believe. The room is not very clean. Blankets are not clean, sheets are clean however. Positive side it was cooler down there. Mattresses were quite springy. They need some new ones.
Location is grand, handy for tube and areas around.
Overall better off in a hostel and paying their prices rather than staying in this 'hotel'.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Southsea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

First of all, finding Leinster Square was very difficult as it was not mentioned in my excellent guide book for some reason. We ended up at Leinster Terrace, quite a walk away, and had to knock on doors for info how to get there. You did not include the hotel's phone number with their address which was so annoying. The staff were friendly, but the shower room was beyond description. The loo seat dislodged each time it was used, and the room was hardly small enough to bend down in. There was a large group of youngsters staying there and they were making a loud racket until nearly 3am outside our window. The "breakfast" consisted of two chunks of french bread and a small plastic container with jam. It had obviously been put out overnight as it was very dried and hard.

To sum up, good staff but overworked maybe, disgusting shower room but at least it was very clean, and a frustrating start to the break as we had no phone number for the hotel (they said it was down to you and not them). Such a contrast to the wonderful break I had recently at the Holiday Inn in Bath, booked through you, which was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank SouthseaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Put it this way, dont bother

There are several and much better places to stay for the same price £55 just around the corner and neighborhood.

Sheets are clean, but blankets not, and they smell. Mattress is just way too dated and thin. Talking about thin, the walls are paper thin too, and you can hear absolutely everything!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tackos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIngapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were in Southampton in June. We decided to take a taxi down to London and decided to book a hotel the day before. It was quite stressful as most of the hotels were booked. We wanted a hotel that is near to the underground and places of interest. Not too far from the main city. However we do not want to pay too much for it as we figured we would be out all day. We were half-decided on Lord Hotel but it seems to fit the bill. The photos in the hotel does not look inviting. Anyway, the 4 of us took a taxi early the next morning. We were given 2 rooms, one facing the road and the other facing the garden.
The room facing the road (Leicaster St, I think) was bright and nice. The one facing the garden was a little dark. They provide basic breakfast. The bread was however a little too hard.

We love this hotel for :

1) Location (near Queensway underground, near the Chinese restaurant that we love although I cannot remember the name now, love the morning jog in Hyde Park. and near to the shopping districts
2) Price of the hotel room was really reasonable
3) It is quiet and serene even though it is near to the city
4) Direct private bus from hotel to airport (need to book one day in advance)

We do not like the hotel:

1) There is no lift
2) Too many doors leading to our hotel room
3) Service staff is just ok. You won't feel the warmth of their service
4) Seems to have a little musty feel and smell. However, after opening the windows everything in the room seems fresh.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PangpangSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here recently for 2 nights in a family room for 5, which actually slept 6. The rooms were quite spacious and very clean. I was initially worried about this choice of hotel as I have 3 young children and read some of the older reviews. I can honestly say that I would come back here. Its very clean, and the rooms have been refurbished. There is no way I would let my children stay in a hotel that wasnt appropriate so please dont take too much notice of some of the previous reviews. Breakfast is okay to keep you going til lunch time, but would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilties in bedroom. The staff are very friendly and polite. Excellent location bang in middle of London!! No complaints from me and my family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janice f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I was travelling with a friend and we stayed in Lords hotel for 4 nights in June. We are not very demanding customers, so we were satisfied with the hotel. We knew that in London, cheap hotels have tiny rooms with microscopic bathrooms (ours was en suite), narrow corridors and stuffy floor-to-floor carpeting. We came to see London, not to spend time in the hotel, so we enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast nutritious. Safety box and locked room for luggage after check-out would have been nice, though. Wi-fi connection was available in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incrocodible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hotel 65
#752 of 1,067 in London
539 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#721 of 1,067 in London
447 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#851 of 1,067 in London
642 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#569 of 1,067 in London
690 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#754 of 1,067 in London
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Hotel

Property: Lords Hotel
Address: 20-22 Leinster Square | Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #888 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lords Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lords Hotel is located between Bayswater and Notting Hill in central London. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group of friends or a family on holiday, Lords Hotel is the perfect affordable choice for your London visit, offering flexible accommodation to suit everyone. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, friendly staff, and a relaxing environment all at an unbeatable budget price in the most fashionable part of town. You'll love our convenient location in London's heart, close to Portobello market, Hyde Park and Kensington Palace, and just a few bus stops away from the shopping delights of Oxford Street or Westfield shopping centre. Book your room now and let Lords Hotel be the launch pad for your London adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lords Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing