We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can't explain how disgusting this place is”
Review of Manor Court Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor Court Hotel
Ranked #801 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 October 2007

This hotel is the most vile place I have ever had the misfortune of staying. I have just spent a month backpacking around Thailand on a tight budget and I can honeslty say that the Manor Court was worse than anywhere I stayed when I was traveling.

The staff are unfriendly and incompetent. Guests are required to leave their key at the front desk when they leave the hotel, and despite not having been informed of this I was reprimanded like a naughty child for not leaving my key.

Breakfast consists of a pile of bread, some cheap cartons of orange juice and tea making facilities. Only 'served' between the hours of 7.30 and 8.30 it is best avoided.

I can't say enough bad things about the rooms. There are wretch-worthy stains all over the walls, lampshades, carpets and linen. Nothing has been updated for decades. The bathroom smells absolutely disgusting - something which the owners are obviously aware of since they have gone to great efforts to place a cheap can of air freshener in the cell-like en suite. The shower curtain is mouldy, and quite fankly you'd get a more thorough wash by standing outside in the rain with a bottle of shampoo.

The heating doesn't work and so even if you can manage to come to terms with lying under the rancid sheets you still wouldn't get a decent night's sleep as the room is so cold.

Sadly, there are far too many hotels in London like this. Next time I have to find accomodation in Londonl I will stick to the big hotel chains.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
53  Thank ELJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Manor Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2007

If hygiene is your thing, stay away from the Manor Court. The hotel is offensive to each of the five senses; it looks vile, it smells vile, the breakfast tastes vile, the threadbare, bloodstained blankets made my skin crawl and we were kept awake all night by the noise of other guests who had turned to the bottle to numb their senses.

The ensuite bathroom was a real treat. It was comprised of an archaic 'suite', a dribbling shower that wasn't attached to the wall and a free standing plank of wood manifesting itself as a door. The 'door' had to be lifted and lodged into place over the doorway by a secondary party when someone desired use of the hovel that was the bathroom.

Inexplicable sticky brown stains adorned the walls, lampshades and carpets, the curtains were unattached to the railings and the radiator hung loose from the wall so we shivered at night because in hell, there is no heating .

However, my favourite feature was unquestionably the little black pest- controller located under the sink. Strategically placed, I think, to offer a quick and humane death to any unfortuate specimen of vermon that may have found itself victim to the sensory assault that is the Manor Court. Sadly our suffering was a more prolonged affair; a five night agony to be more precise. I have been through some hard things in my life; the Manor Court was the hardest. No matter what you have done in your life, you probably don't deserve the Manor Court.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
73  Thank JFBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

The hotel is dirty, no rooms ready, this hotel should not be on any hotel list. Please do not stay here

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
32  Thank ersonpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We stayed here for one night. The only good thing about this hotel is its location. The place is filthy, the facilities primitive, and the entire property has been allowed to become severely run down through lack of maintenance and upgrading. (Examples: an upstairs toilet - WC - has no latch or door handle, the floor in the bedroom is wobbly and broken, bedspread is dirty, the toilets are dirty and the shower hose is broken and lying in the tub). Needless to say, we were out at the first light of morning. This kind of thing seems to be possible only because the visitor accommodations situation in London is so grim.

Stayed: August 2007
37  Thank hiramjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2007

Myself and my mother booked into the hotel for one night as we were attending a training course. The hotel was truly awful. Really dirty, the dust was about 6 inches thickon the stairs. The bedrooms hadnt been decorated in at least 50 years, no joke! The wallpaper was coming off the wall, the sink was hanging off, the windows were cracked and dirty and the bathroom door was hanging off. They gave us a key for another room to use the shower as ours didnt work, but that room didnt have a window and stank. we're not really fussy people but this was really bad. we didnt risk the breakfast the next morning as it was at the very bottom of the hotel in a 'dungeon' like room. The boy on the front desk was about 12 and wasnt helpful at all and a bit scary really. Only for the fact that we would only be in the room for about 10 hours we would have found somewhere else! Dont stay there unless your used to living in a dump!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Tidla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

ive stayed at the manor court twice in the last couple of years. basically looking for the cheapest room possible in the rip off capital that is London. the hotels in a decent location 5 min walk from the tube. Other than that its your typcial cheap B&B. kinda like the regent palace dont look under the beds mucky carpet, just usable bathrooms. the kinda place where they are counting the profits from their many rooms but certainly not putting the money into doing the place up. we had problems with no hot water when we were there. but as its basically a place to sleep and you are out of the room 12hrs of the day its does its job. if you are young and just want somewhere to sleep while out and about and want to spend as little as possible then its ok. but if u want anything that is slightly near 3* dont bother. considering i payed the same amount, £25 a night for the amazing alloro hotel in florence to what i payed a night for manor court it makes me wonder why anyone wants to go to London anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThewanderingLoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2006

This hotel is terrible! Dirty,dark,cold ( no heating) We was in the hotel 2 minutes. That was enough. The London house hotel forwarded us to this hotel, becouse they have some problem with room renovating. But after we told this terrible hotel, they give us a very nice flat.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Latya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Westland Hotel
Westland Hotel
#766 of 1,072 in London
151 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#639 of 1,072 in London
206 reviews
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#836 of 1,072 in London
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#352 of 1,072 in London
188 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Court Hotel

Address: 7 Clanricarde Gardens | Notting Hill, London W2 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £50 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Manor Court London
Manor Court Hotel London
Hotel Manor Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing