We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel, excellent location, very friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #304 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Is the second time when i came to this hotel, and i can confirm they improuve a lot!

Me and my partener book one privilage room, oure room was with balcony, is amazing to drink your coffe in the morning out on the terace!

Oure room was clean, spacious, with nespreso coffe machine!

The hotel is located verry close to Globe, Tate, and river....

Is very valuable and soon we will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Spent 3 nights here in one of their Priviledge rooms. Rooms were spacious and well equipped (even had a Nespresso machine in the room!). Buffet breakfast was very nice with an excellent selection, even for those arriving at the end of the breakfast service. Cant agree with those who've complained about the staff - I found them to be extremely friendly and helpful.

Location was good - 10 minutes walk from either Southwark or London Bridge tube stations. Nice looking cafes and bars across the road, and a 5 minute walk from the Globe.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandie_mcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Many thanks for the positive comments.
I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London City Bankside again very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel is convenient to my usual office when staying in London so I've stayed here quite often including a trip at the end of July. Rooms are clean and comfortable but certainly more cramped than the Novotel round the corner. Standard features include safe and irons. There are a range of shops and restaurants just over the road which is very convenient.

Staff are friendly and helpful at front desk but service in the restaurant at breakfast is problematic to say the least. They have a good continental selection and a limited hot buffet. there are items which are cooked to order but for some reason they can NEVER organise to get everything right or delivered at the same time.

It's a good option if the Novotel is full and if you drive it has the benefit of free if limited parking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dagog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was my second stay at the Bankside and the problems with my first stay had been rectified. Very handy if you're looking to visit Southbank/Tate Modern or Brough. Rooms are a little dark [small windows and wooden blinds] and small but not the smallest I've stayed in London.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qwerteq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Many thanks for the review.
We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure London City Bankside.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My 12 year-old son and I spent 5 days here while exploring London, and we couldn't be happier. These guys are doing almost everything right. The room is clean and comfortable. The hotel gym is complementary, and so is wireless internet in the lobby. There is even a hard wired high-speed computer in the lobby, free to use. On a rainy day, there were umbrellas for our use. Again, no charge. The hotel restaurant, The Loft has a wonderful 3-course kids menu for a mere seven pounds. An incredible deal. The service, both in the restaurant and at the front desk is the best I have experienced anywhere. The only thing I wish was different is that the food in the restaurant could have more flavour. But there are lots and lots of other restaurants close by, so its really not a problem either. Finally, the location is perfect, close to the Underground and the Millennium Bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asgeirberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words.
We’re glad to have been a part of your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London City Bankside.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I chose to stay a the Mercure Bankside on a business trip to London due to its proximity to the workplace that I was visiting. This turned out however to be a big mistake.

The staff are anything but courteous. In fact, I do not think they have received any kind of customer service training. I have traveled extensively and am shocked at the level of service I received, especially when my company was forking out 200GBP/night. I also observed other customers being treated rudely, and have spoken to some other colleagues who have stayed there who confirm the poor service.

The room itself was very small and not practical. The desk is tiny and certainly not suitable for doing any work. The bed mattress was of poor quality; you could feel the springs digging into you and had a backache within a couple of hours of laying on it. Also the bed is actually bed of 2 beds and 2 mattresses put together making very uncomfortable. I was also to learn from 2 colleagues who where sharing a room that they charged them 20GBP per night to have the 2 beds separated!

The bathroom was again sub-par. There is no ventilation in the bathroom. I repeat no ventilation, except for 2 hours each day (according to the desk clerk). Also the flush didn't work properly and it seems like this was a common issue as my colleague had to change rooms at 4am because their toilet flush didn't work, a request which at first the staff did not want to grant.

Overall, I was extremely disappointed with the Mercure Bankside. I tried canceling the room but because I had booked pre-paid (with a discount that was tiny and certainly not worth it), the staff refused to give me any kind of refund. I spent several hours talking to the desk clerk, assistant manager, as well as the manager and they refused to give me any sort of refund, showing all too well that they care about taking your money more than their reputation.

I would not stay at this hotel again even if I was paid to do so.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnc_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

I’m sorry we failed to live up to your expectations.
The team and I at [hotel name] in [destination] appreciate your feedback, though, and we are addressing the issues.
Please feel free to email me on florian.jourdhier@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Its very difficult to get a good value hotel hotel in London but this is poor. While it has a good location my service was poor. I was locked out of my room twice by the electronic key which resulted in me walking back down to reception to get it sorted. When I checked out I made them aware I had taken a water from the minibar which wasn't on the bill, a perfect chance for them to waive it due to all the key messing, afraid not, they obviously weren't that sorry depite saying so repeatedly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2011

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Mercure London City Bankside.
I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
We are looking into the matter, but feel free to contact me on [--] to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#259 of 1,077 in London
2,212 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,077 in London
3,474 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#132 of 1,077 in London
2,365 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#58 of 1,077 in London
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Family Hotel in London
#333 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £99 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing