We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way is this a 4* hotel...awful...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #305 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed at the Mercure London Bankside for the best part of a month (excluding weekends) whilst training for my new job and can safely say having stayed at many luxury hotels that this is one of the worst 4* hotels I have ever encountered.

I have copied some emails I sent to the management:

"Firstly, my second name is xxxxxx - since stopping at the hotel it has often been mispelt and I have also received correspondance for Mr xxxxxx. Albeit a somewhat small difference I hope you can appreciate my annoyance at it's continual occurrence.

Secondly, I am currently in my second week in room 516. During the first week my kettle was faulty. I had to request for it to be changed three times and this issue was not resolved in a timely fashion. My TV also required re-tuning and the room smelt of smoke when I first entered. During this week I had an additional guest for 2 nights and paid £40.00 in advance on their arrival for their stay. The day after they left, I had exceeded my £25.00 dinner allowance and paid an additional £4.80 cash to the restaurant to cover my bill. I asked for a receipt and was instructed to go to reception. I went to reception and two members of staff could not resolve my query. Gladys was one member, and there was a gentleman on the desk with her. Gladys began dealing with the query but could not find the transaction on the system. The gentleman intervened but did not listen to my query and proceeded to contact the bar asking them to charge me for my drink so he could invoice me. I then had to re-clarify my query and it was met with infectious laughter between the reception staff who intermittently apologised. It was not professional. I was then told I would need to wait 20 minutes for a receipt. As I had plans I agreed and expected one to be complete upon my return to the hotel which was around 11:15pm. Upon my return reception was manned by an extremely helpful gentleman who had no bill to hand - I can only assume the query was not followed up before his shift and he no knowledge of my earlier conversations. I tried to explain my situation and he apologised, he then however tried to invoice me for a 3rd night my guest did not spend at the hotel. He was apologetic and assured me he would arrange a receipt for me. When I awoke a bill was tucked into my door and receipted the two night stay of my guest - the drink issue remained unresolved! Later that week upon check out I wished to clarify the drink issue to see if a receipt had surfaced, at that point the receptionist again tried to invoice me for a drink - I trust you can understand my annoyance!

My second week in 516 - I took a deep breath in the hope some issues that I had found with the room had been resolved and as I am being provided accommodation through my employers I was being lenient the first week. I am not one to complain for the sake of it and was prepared to over look some issues but with the above situation and my friend finding a dead fly in her salad at dinner I feel I cannot let things lie. I have photographic evidence should you wish to see the faults. Firstly, the bath tub had hairs and soap scum in it - basic cleanliness should be standard. Many of the fittings in the bathroom are loose and the seal on the door is coming away. It is always neatly tucked in after cleaning but works loose. I do not wish to change rooms at this stage in the week as I could do without the hassle but would appreciate a different room for my final stay.

To refer again to the fly - that is not my complaint, however, the service in the restaurant to our group is less than desirable. The tone of the head waiter is rude and unacceptable. Our meals take over an hour to arrive and our drinks can take 20 minutes - soft drinks are not that difficult to prepare! We are never allowed to sit in the upstairs section of the restaurant even when we cannot be accommodated as a large party in the main dining area even though tables are free. I have been told on several occasions it is laid for breakfast but surely the tables could be re-set? The staff are often clumsy, spilling starters up the wall behind our table, are unsure who has ordered what and are often seen taking dishes up and down to the kitchen in an attempt to find out where they should be served. I have also had steak over-cooked and been given the explanation that "the chef was cooking the fish"...one would hope the chef can manage to cook more than one meal at a time."

I received some short somewhat apologetic emails but many of the problems remained the same.

"- since my email informing you of my complaint about the mispelling of my sirname you have repeated the mistake a further two times."

"On the evening of the 18/08/2011 I encountered yet more service issues within the restaurant. My meal took over two hours to arrive (fillet steak) was upon arrival was not cooked rare as requested. My party were informed after we had ordered that some dishes were not available, some dishes arrived with alternative sauces of which we not advised and to say I am dissatisfied with this is putting it mildly. The head waiter (Balach?) was on this occasion very attentive and provided us with some complimentary wine. This gesture was appreciated but I would have rather enjoyed my dinner in a timely fashion. He provided an explanation of short staff within the kitchen and I appreciate the situation was not his fault. Many of the other dishes were served with incorrect side orders and a desert ordered of cheese and biscuits was cancelled after the waiteress informed us that after 45mins waiting for it the chef had not prepared it."

Not a 4*

Some of my colleagues experienced wake up calls at 4am that were not booked, extra charges, and one even had the maid leave most of a "floor's" worth of dirty laundry in her room.

Room Tip: If you are staying here request a superior room...you may at least have one in working order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HevNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Apologies for not living up to your expectations.
We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London City Banksie some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 2,089 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Comfortable and quiet. Rooms are tiny for the price but a good night's sleep in noisy London is priceless.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LemonandHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Many thanks for the review.
We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at our Mercure London City Bankside.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2
Reviewed 1 September 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I found a nice hotel, quite basic, but with all the amenities in place for a short stay, close to the central attractions of the city and 'value for money'. I really recommend for few days if the tariff with breakfastvis under 100 pounds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan_Diaconu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review.
I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure London City Bankside, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Myself and my partner stayed her for a birthday weekend. We searched long and hard to find a hotel to tick all the boxes. I am very glad to say that this hotel is perfect, I will stay here any time I am in London again. I would also recommend it to friends. The location is perfect for exploring the many sights of London. We booked this on Hotel Vault and found it to be the cheapest rate. The Breakfast was excellent and the staff were all very friendly. The most comfortable hotel bed ever!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Many thanks for the positive comments,
I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London City Bankside again very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel has recently had some shockingly bad reviews; reading them, with a reservation already made by my company, my heart sank. But I truly feel I must have stayed at a different hotel from the one slated by others, maybe in some parallel universe.
The staff were all friendly and helpful (particularly nice for a lone female business traveller). I only wanted brief internet access, to check something, and they offered it to me free; I found the prix fixe dinner menu most acceptable and not at all boring, served with charm and Japanese butter. After sleeping well, in a comfortable bed in a quiet and immaculately clean room, breakfast was of a really high standard, again with plenty of helpful staff, and excellent coffee and croissants. Checkout was efficient, with profuse apologies for a short wait while seemingly everyone was trying to leave at once...what was there not to like? If that part of London (10 minutes or so walk from London Bridge) suits you, this is a good, pleasant hotel, with helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Many thanks for the review.
We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure London City Bankside.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was recently in London on business on short notice and stayed in the Mercure on Bankside. As a hotel that seems to be marketing itself at the business customer, it left a lot to be desired. In particular the service at the Loft Restaurant was disgraceful. When I arrived for dinner the place was in chaos - and the first utterance from the waiting staff was to put you off staying by telling you that they could not take an order for 40 minutes. The place seemed completely understaffed in the kitchen and somewhat over managed, with a manager trying to intervene with the floor staff, but only adding to the chaos. The Bedroom had aircon, but it was noisy and had to be turned off to get some sleep and the windows opened on to a noisy street. Breakfast the next morning was a bit better, but check out was equally chaotic - I had a query on my bill and was promised a call back, but it never arrived. All in all a bad experience and expensive at that - this is one chain I will not be returning to!

Room Tip: Keep away from the front of the house - very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureBankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Mercure London City Bankside.
I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
We are looking into the matters you raised and will take necessary corrective actions, but feel free to email me on florian.jourdhier@accor.com to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
Genreral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#257 of 1,076 in London
2,259 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#96 of 1,076 in London
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#122 of 1,076 in London
2,456 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#236 of 1,076 in London
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#332 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £102 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing