We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at The Mercure London Bridge Hotel over Jubilee Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #308 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay at The Mercure London Bridge Hotel over Jubilee Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the Jubilee weekend. It is perfectly placed to access the Bankside area of London only a 5 min walk. The surrounding area was clean and felt very safe. The hotel in my view was excellent. Check in was painless as they were expecting us. The room although not huge was clean, very quiet and had everything we needed. The bed was sooo comfortable I didn't want to get up!! The bar and restaurant are very nice. We got caught in a downpour after the river pageant with friends and they came back to the hotel with us and had dinner which was very good and surprisingly good value. The only criticism (if you could call it that) is that the main lift was out of action and the other one is the tiniest I have ever seen - but it still took my husband and I and Matt Baker from the BBC to our floor quite happily!! I would happily recommend this hotel and had a lovely stay. Mrs Redshaw.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniebabygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. Our main lift is currently undergoing full refurbishment to ensure that we can continue to offer our guests the best possible product into the future. I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    823
    307
    99
    45
See reviews for
308
844
139
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Syaed for the 2nd time in 2 months and was much more impressed this time, bigger room and bathroom, effective air conditioning and comfy bed. Great choice for breakfast and easy check in/check out which saved time. Have already booked for my next 2 London trips to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farroupilha, RS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed there for three days. the location is just perfect, the hotel is clean and breakfast is awesome, but the rooms are tight and too expensive for the room we were given. I was with a friend and had to sleep in the same bed, as a twin room, which had been booked, would be 30 pound more expensive... not fair as the price is quite high.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAPER58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

All of us here at the Mercure London Bridge Hotel very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Good and recently refurbished room, good decor, excellent bed, good blackout blinds. Air con noisy but worked very well.
Location seems at first rather grey and concrete, but you are three minutes from the river, Tate Modern, Globe Theatre and Millenium Bridge!
Bus service outside is extremely well connected, so this is a good location for anywhere in London. Get your Oyster card, load up google maps, and go by bus.
Breakfast fine, good buffet.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TomZunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

So glad you had an enjoyable time at Mercure London Bridge Hotel! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Good size room, comfortable bed, good bathroom with large towels.
Walking distance to the Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral, the Globe etc...
Good breakfast.
Many bars and restaurants nearby.
When you arrive you feel you are surrounded by office blocks but take a 4 mn's walk and you are at the Modern Tate Gallery and by the Thames with St Paul in front of you. Wonderful!
The staff were friendly but I woul like to mention one member who was very helpful and kind: Salem. Keep smiling Salem!
I have been to many hotels in London, this one is on my "go back" list! I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thera1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mercure London Bridge Hotel. Salem is very grateful for the direct feedback and offers his kind thanks.

Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I was in London on business for a couple of nights. I thought for the price it was a great hotel. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eureka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#280 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#224 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing