We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay at the Mercure London Bridge Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #305 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    843
    309
    99
    46
See reviews for
320
863
144
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights during the recent Olympics. Perhaps because of the dates, prices were at a premium, but the hotel was so good we didn't feel overcharged. We had a Privilege room, which was spacious and well-equipped. Very large and comfortable bed, comfortable chairs and sofa, excellent TV, very good air con.. The bathroom was fine but could use a little updating. The breakfast deserves special praise, a fantastic selection, very efficient service, probably the best hotel breakfast we have ever had in London. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. Location is very good, midway between two Underground stations and plenty of taxis in the vicinity. The Thames is literally two minutes walk away, with lots of bars and shops and access to the brilliant riverbus services. The road outside the hotel is busy but thanks to the windows there was no audible traffic noise. This isn't the place for anyone wanting a bargain break, but if you want to invest in some real comfort and relaxation, it's highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilAndAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear PhilAndAndy,

Many thanks for your review and for staying with us.

The Olympics was such a fantastic success for London and the UK and I'm glad to hear that you could enjoy the experience with us. We understand that the bathrooms are a little tired and happily advise that we will be starting a refurbishment of the rooms a little later this year. Our breakfasts are renowned for quality and service for which the team have worked very hard to achieve so I am sure they will be thrilled to receive the feedback.

We look forward to having you stay with again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Mercure is an excellent mid-price 4 star in the centre of the Southbank area on Southwark Street. I stay here during the week for business, and always receive a very friendly welcome, comfortable room (the 7th floor even have small balconies!), and the overall feel of the place is very welcoming. The staff in particular are always very helpful, and willing to go that bit further to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. The food in the restuarant is always well presented and cooked, with an interesting menu (if a little short on overall choices for my taste). A small but well equipped gym is located in the basement.
The hotel is very well located, a few mins away from the nearest tube, and only 5mins from the river and Millenium Bridge / Globe Theatre. Equally down Southwark Sreet you can find the joys of Borough Market, with a great selection of bars and restaurants.
Overall highly recommended whether in London for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: If you fancy a view of the London skyline, try asking for a room on the 7th floor as they have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Petenac,

Thank you for taking to the time to leave a review.

I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the staff regarding their service and also the kitchen and restaurant teams regarding your experiences in the Loft restaurant. Our 7th floor rooms are very much the flavour of a lot of guest stays for which we are more than happy to accept requests for subject to the availability of the rooms.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Staff were polite and smiled. Plenty to eat at breakfast. I requested a quiet area of the hotel, which my room was. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is ideally located to visit the Tate Modern, Shakespeare's Globe and St Pauls. I walked to the Barbican from the hotel. The National Theatre is also nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninja6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear ninja6,

I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in London. We take great pride in our offer with the bed and breakfast being a key ingredient to every guest stay.

Thank you for your time in writing your review and we warmly invite you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Stewart
Rooms Division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We booked the only availability between the Olympics and the Paralympics, which probably accounts for the higher cost. We also used Tesco clubcard vouchers and had a premium room. The room was very good, breakfast excellent, staff helpful. Very French chain with polite, anglophile staff who were efficient and friendly. Location excellent, very close to Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge. would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2651lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear 2651lyn,

Many thanks for your positive comments, I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay in one of Privilege rooms. Being part of the Accor hotels group with French origins it is very important that we retain some of the characteristics that goes with this in addition to being regionally responsive to our location throughout our product and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
227 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel was fine apart from one thing which was that the bar closes really, really early and the staff aren't willing to top up the mini bar....now I know that this may not seem like a big deal but we'd been travelling all day and really just wanted to relax with gin and tonic.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Flobo5,

Firstly we appreciate your time in leaving feedback regarding your stay. The Loft bar is open 24 hours for in-house guests however should it be quiet we have our night reception team available to serve for you. I have ensured that the reception team are to be sure in providing clear information regarding this upon arrival. I have also passed on to the Food and Beverage Manager regarding the availability of the mini-bar to be filled to ensure the availabilty of staff to restock upon request whenever requested.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind regards,

Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#274 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#177 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#246 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#54 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#223 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing