We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #313 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Very small standard rooms. OK for one person, but very uncomfortable for a couple with 2 suitcases. No ventilation in the bathroom and no air conditioning. However, staff were very friendly and the general atmosphere was very welcoming. Breakfast was well above average. Location excellent.
I would recommend to single travellers. For couples, make sure you get a big room!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Seasonedtraveller525,
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit.
Our Classic rooms are from 22 sqm, and our Privilege rooms are from 25sqm. To London standards we have quite large rooms!
Treat yourself to a Privilege room type during your next stay with Mercure.
Location, Location, Location, you are spot on, can't be better located!
We look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel, in the near future. Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    832
    309
    99
    46
See reviews for
314
852
141
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I took the offer for automatic checkin - the key and room were ready on arrival and I has been upgraded to a superior room. It was a hot day, and the room had been cooled ready for arrival. There are several restaurants and attractions near buy, but I choose the hotel restaurant - a chicken dish with peas and a potato galette was well cooked and served quickly. The wines in this restaurant do not disappoint either. I walk to St Pauls complete the evening.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front all have extra glazing - so you don't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wraxall_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Wraxall,
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yet again another great comment about our fantastic team and service we provide. I am sure you enjoyed you stay with us and indulged with the outstanding wine selection that offers "Les Grands Vins" Mercure.
We hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed here when in London for the Olympic games. I chose the hotel because the prices were quite reasonable compared to the everywhere else in London.

There were a few nice touches to the hotel. The room was a good size and had a Nespresso machine. Also, we were given a free drinks voucher on arrival.

The breakfast buffet had a selection of both english and continental dishes and was good quality freshly cooked food.

The one thing that let the hotel down was the location. Despite being called the Mercure London Bridge, it was at least 15-20 minutes walk from London Bridge station which meant a bit more planning was required to get anywhere on the train/tube

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Mcneesh,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit during the 2012 London Olympics.
Our hotel is located 650 yards from London Bridge station, no more than 5 minutes walk. Also Southwark Station, Jubilee line, is 400 yards, and the RV1 bus stop is on the hotel doorsteps taking you to Covent Gardens in 15 minutes, or London Tower Bridge in 15 minutes. Surely you have noticed how well our hotel is located.
We hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights during the recent Olympics. Perhaps because of the dates, prices were at a premium, but the hotel was so good we didn't feel overcharged. We had a Privilege room, which was spacious and well-equipped. Very large and comfortable bed, comfortable chairs and sofa, excellent TV, very good air con.. The bathroom was fine but could use a little updating. The breakfast deserves special praise, a fantastic selection, very efficient service, probably the best hotel breakfast we have ever had in London. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. Location is very good, midway between two Underground stations and plenty of taxis in the vicinity. The Thames is literally two minutes walk away, with lots of bars and shops and access to the brilliant riverbus services. The road outside the hotel is busy but thanks to the windows there was no audible traffic noise. This isn't the place for anyone wanting a bargain break, but if you want to invest in some real comfort and relaxation, it's highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilAndAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear PhilAndAndy,

Many thanks for your review and for staying with us.

The Olympics was such a fantastic success for London and the UK and I'm glad to hear that you could enjoy the experience with us. We understand that the bathrooms are a little tired and happily advise that we will be starting a refurbishment of the rooms a little later this year. Our breakfasts are renowned for quality and service for which the team have worked very hard to achieve so I am sure they will be thrilled to receive the feedback.

We look forward to having you stay with again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Mercure is an excellent mid-price 4 star in the centre of the Southbank area on Southwark Street. I stay here during the week for business, and always receive a very friendly welcome, comfortable room (the 7th floor even have small balconies!), and the overall feel of the place is very welcoming. The staff in particular are always very helpful, and willing to go that bit further to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. The food in the restuarant is always well presented and cooked, with an interesting menu (if a little short on overall choices for my taste). A small but well equipped gym is located in the basement.
The hotel is very well located, a few mins away from the nearest tube, and only 5mins from the river and Millenium Bridge / Globe Theatre. Equally down Southwark Sreet you can find the joys of Borough Market, with a great selection of bars and restaurants.
Overall highly recommended whether in London for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: If you fancy a view of the London skyline, try asking for a room on the 7th floor as they have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Petenac,

Thank you for taking to the time to leave a review.

I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the staff regarding their service and also the kitchen and restaurant teams regarding your experiences in the Loft restaurant. Our 7th floor rooms are very much the flavour of a lot of guest stays for which we are more than happy to accept requests for subject to the availability of the rooms.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#277 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#180 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#227 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing