We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #305 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 October 2012

it is very clean the breakfast is rich,the staff is very helpfull and gently. Excellent beds. Out of the door is the busstop for covent gurden and london eye. Very close to the hotel is Tate Modern and the Globe theater. A very nice walk is from the hotel to Tate Modern, from there to Millenium Bridge and passing Tames by this bridge you are going to the cathedral, Saint Paul.

Room Tip: rooms with two seperate beds are much bigger than those with a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thanasis342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear thanasis342 ,
Really appreciated your very kind feedback.
All the team is so please their daily work is recognised and praised.
We look forward to welcoming you back in our lovely Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Such a great Location in London, not to be missed!
See you soon
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here on business in a twin room...
Myself and colleagues arrived after a long morning travelling - only to wait at the front desk for 10 minutes waiting to be checked in. The man behind the desk did not acknowledge us or even tell us how long he may be whilst he dealt with a small group of French customers.
Once we got to the room - the overall cleanliness was ok.
However, Dust/Hair in the corners of the bathroom floor. Mouldy chocolate bars on the desk.
Good tea & coffee making facilities.
Complimentary robe & slippers, bottled water & plenty of espresso pots.
Wooden slat blind was very hard to control with the string - but good black out blind.
The bathroom could have done with some attention - gaps between the marble sink and bath surround.
Fully air conditioned - good control over the room temperature.
Id say it was over priced for what the room was.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodeo087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Rodeo087,
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Nice reception service, but we were very disappointed with the room, it was tiny, and the bathroom was so small you could barely fit in it and had to swing the door to sit on the loo (and I'm small). My fiance who is 6ft 3 struggled to move around in the room so thank God we were only there one night. Location was ok, closer to Southwark tube than Paddington, breakfast was ok also, but I've stayed in lots of 4* hotels and this was the worst. Not a 4*, more like a 3* with 4* prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Stephanieb,
Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Our bedrooms have a minimum 21 square metre footfall, which for London isn't a bad! Shame we didn't leave up to your expectation.
Thank you for the kind words on our team and the quality of service you received.
Much appreciated
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

we stopped here for a long weekend, the location is not far from the Thames south bank, but its not close to London Bridge.
the check in staff were very friendly and helpfull. we arrived before theb check in time and they arranged for our luggage to taken to the room so we could get out and enjoy our time in London.
we did not biother with the expensive breakfast option and opted for something at a cafe up the road, however there are a coupel of chain coffe shops across the road from the hotel.
Would i stay there again, probabaly not as the tube stations are a bit of a hike, however there is a "boris bike" rank across the road for the energetic

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveykbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

When booking was told could have high floor room with views over London this did not exist and told tube five minutes away it was at least a 15 minute walk if not 20 in bank streets. Rv1 bus stop outside hotel was much quicker.

Food excellent could not fault that.

King size beds were two singles pushed together and bedding didn't fit.

Check room over in day time as there's no housekeeping or maintenance evenings or weekend evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACLEASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Macleask,
Thank you very much for your comments.
Being located 450 yards from Southwark tube station and 660 yards from London bridge tube Station, we are a bit surprised about your general comments on the hotel location.
Also please be informed that both our housekeeping and maintenance department are available until 19.30 everyday, apart from sundays.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Kind regards
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Was only there overnight - fantastic bed, very comfy. Breakfast was OK, but odd that they specifically asked if I wanted toast and then brought it to me nearly cold! Otherwise staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Matt T,
Thank you for your very positive comments on our hotel.
Will be reviewing with our Breakfast team why toast came out luck warm, and will take corrective action for this not to happen again.
Looking forward to seeing you again at Mercure London Bridge Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

All of the team here will look after you. Everyone friendly. Good selection of wine and food. Lovely fish. Comfort convenience really made to feel welcome everytime. Quick check in, attentive check in, super bar/ restaurant. Always quick to resolve any queries. Can not fault!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma20160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear MrsELloyd,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and shared so many positive comments about our hotel.
It is our commitment to ensuring your full satisfaction when staying with us at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back to very soon, for a very enjoyable moment.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#255 of 1,077 in London
2,205 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,077 in London
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#136 of 1,077 in London
2,356 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#58 of 1,077 in London
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#221 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Family Hotel in London
#333 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £99 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing