We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Furnace like temperature in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #296 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Our room was very uncomfortably hot throughout our stay. We mentioned this to the very friendly hotel staff and they quickly provided a large fan for our room. This succeeded only in blowing around the overheated air. We kept the window full open (in December!) but the room stayed like a sweatbox. We also tried to sleep on the top of the bedding, but continued sweating through the night. The heat was even more intense in the mornings, so getting ready to head out was uncomfortable and sticky. The air conditioning unit in the room was not operating to try and reduce the heat.

I noticed another reviewer of this hotel commented on a cold room, so it seems the hotel heating system is giving major problems in maintaining tolerable temperatures.

Apart from the overheating problem, the room itself was fine and well furnished and equipped. The staff continue to be a really strong point about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the reception staff if they a room with a comfortable temperature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank catchongroup
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed at Mercure Bankside previoulsy and really like location. This time as previously, used Tesco coupons to pay for stay. Got room 111 on first floor. Please guys don't book this room in the summer!!! Happy to stay in at this time of year as out and about most of time in London but out of window could only see air conditioning units...no noise but blocked out big time daylight!!

This place good if up to walking. Its about 20 min walk into Covent Garden and all the sights..In December was cool for us as en route took us onto Embankment South side and the Xmas market.

Breakfast your usual standard for Hotel in London. Overall average 4 star hotel in London within esy reach of major attractions.

Room Tip: Don't go to room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Central, on the South bank of the Thames, 5' by cab from Waterloo station. Modern comfortable rooms with all the latest mods... If booked early well worth it... otherwise the rooms can increase in price. Breakfast excellent. Bar with food in nice setting. Prices average. Only downside the use of internet which is linked to the film channels package.

Room Tip: During the summer holidays and Xmas period, the pricing of the hotel drops dramatically. If I recoll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertPaltiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear TravellingTVProducer,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
We are continually upgrading the services and amenities at the hotel, most recently we have enhanced the internet with free Wi-Fi for all our guests in the entire hotel.
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and our "excellent breakfast”, I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We did not use the bar or dining/breakfast rooms so have no comment to make on them. The bedroom was quite large and clean. The only problem was that the heating did not work and the room was therefore very cold. I reported this to reception and the receptionist said he would bring up a heater straight away, another visitor was reporting the same problem with her room as well. About 45 minutes later a heater had not been provided so I went back down to reception and was told a heater would be provided soon. It then took another 20 minutes or so before housekeeping provided a heater.
I believe that the hotel should check that all facilities in the rooms, including the heating, work before a room is allocated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nautique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Nautique,
Many thanks for posting your comments. I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. We appreciate all feedback and will be addressing the issues raised to ensure there is not a repeat of this.
I hope to welcome you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

An excellently located hotel, with good restaurant, and room quality you would expect from Accor.
Only downside was booking process (direct with Accor not through an agency) which confirmed our booking then requested payment confirmation - bit annoying but my complaint was dealt with efficiently and pleasantly by Reception.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walshshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Walshshe,
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and have branded us 'Marvellous Mercure' we take pride in our efforts to maintain an exceptional level of service for all our guests.
We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have to stay in London on business quite often. I try and save money by opting for lower price alternatives but on occasions I have no option but to stay here. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and the advance electronic check-in/out is very good. On occasions I get upgraded to one of the better rooms, this is a treat. I don not tend to eat breakfast but whenever I do it is better here than in most other places I stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zometa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Zometa,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#258 of 1,081 in London
2,293 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#99 of 1,081 in London
3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#118 of 1,081 in London
2,529 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#57 of 1,081 in London
1,917 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,081 in London
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
#331 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £106 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing