We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, Stiff service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #301 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The room was the smallest we have ever stayed. Very small lift, enough room for 3 persons without suitcases. The room has barely enough space for 2 suitcases. There was only 1 chair and a foot stool. No drawers and spaces to hang 4 items. Positives: room safe, modernized bath (shower only), clean. The reception staff were stiff. When asked about museum hours, they would direct you to their Internet on the counter. Except for a black staff who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, the rest were just "proper". Also, there was only 1 screen and key board at the counter which frequently required waiting. It was not connected to a printer. Its market is probably for short business stays.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Operation Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Albert C,
Thank you for taking your time to leave your comments on here.
Apologies for not living up to your expectations.
We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel some time in the future.
Kind Regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,013)
There are newer reviews for Mercure London Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank artworldtraveler1955
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure-LondonBridge, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just stayed at the Mercure London Bridge hotel. The location, while not being in the centre of things, we between Southwark and London Bridge Tube Stations so it was easy to get to whichever part of London you wanted. The area is serviced by a number of restaurants and food stores so if you are on a budget there is plenty of alternative to room service. The rooms are VERY small, with a queen size bed and very little other room to spare.

I was disappointed that our room smelt of cigarette smoke as this is a non-smoking hotel. When the staff were informed of this they indicated that it couldn't have as it was non-smoking, yet every time you entered the room you could smell it. We were offered a room change to a ground floor room but thought we would rather put up with the smoke smell than the noise on the street. Would I stay there again? Not sure.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank squizzi1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear squizzi1969,
Many thanks for your comments.
Please accept our apologies and be assured that we are looking into the matter.
We do hope to welcome you back here at our hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Situated on Southwark Street, London - between London Bridge and Southwark underground stations, this recently modernised Mercure Hotel is definitely worth a good mention. The newly renovated sixth floor affords modern, comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. Part of the Accor Group and far better than sisters Novotel and All Seasons, this well-appointed hotel is just a short walk to the London Bridge Borough Markets and then on to great tourist attractions on the Sothbank of the Thames like Sir Francis Drake's "Golden Hind" and Will Shakespeare's "Globe Theatre". Looking for quality at the right price where the Hotel Staff go out of their way to take care of guests - choose Mercusre London Bridge.

Room Tip: Walk around to The Tea Shop on Duke Street London Bridge SE1 2SW for the best English Breakfasts you...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlowstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear marlowstevens,
Many thanks for posting your comments.
We appreciate all feedback very much! We have recently renovated some rooms and the entire lobby- it’s great to hear some excellent feedback on the works we have done. Again, it is great to hear that our team are going ‘out of their way to take care of guests’, as we pride ourselves in providing a superior service for all our guests.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London Bridge.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed here with some colleagues as we were attending an event nearby. As everyone says you can't fault the location. The reception area is nice but the rooms are pretty basic for the cost per night. Nothing special about them whatsoever, also is it just me who feels that a king size bed is NOT 2 beds pushed together??! There was a big mix up with our booking which the receptionists sorted out pretty quickly only my colleague was told there were no towels in her room and they had run out so wouldn't be able to get any for a couple of hours. As we were due to be going out she explained that this wasn't going to work. After a lot of faffing about they said they'd bring some. As it turned out there were actually 2 sets of towels in her room and they eventually brought another 4 sets??! I think a travel lodge would have served just as well for a bed for the night.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I am personally looking into this and if you’d like to contact me, feel free to call on +44 207 902 0800 or email me on h2814-rd@accor.com.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location for lots of the main sightseeing areas and not far from the underground station. However the hotel is majorly let down by the staff and the rooms it offers! The room we were allocated was on the ground floor and was actually a disabled acces room. The room was poorly decorated and had not had any tlc for obviously a long time. It had a strange smell and felt grubby. The bath plug was permanently closed meaning water built up so had to use a teaspoon to release it?! The carpet had not been hovered properly and the fridge had the previous guests food still in it! On check in there is no set desk as such for reception and you get to sit down with a member of staff. This is a nice idea however the staff do not say a word to you and the process takes about 15 minutes on there tablets. I actually asked at one point if there was a problem with my reservation as the only thing the gentleman said was hello take a seat what's your name..... Then silence for 10 minutes?! Very strange! Overall I would only stay again for location but there are much novotels in the area for the same sort of money!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspector1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Operations Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Inspector1990 ,
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your stay with us at the Mercure London Bridge. The location is superb for the tourist attractions and easily accessible to the underground stations.
I am disappointed to hear that we did not living up to your expectations.
We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge sometime in the future.
Do feel free to call me on +44 207 902 0800 or email me on h2814-rd@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The location of this hotel really is great.
Its just a short walk from the Tate, Millennium Bridge and St Pauls.

The hotel itself was OK with some good and some bad points.

The reception and bar area is lovely, with fruit and biscuits laid out for guests. There are numerous comfy chairs, a few TV's and a computer available for use.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

In terms of the rooms they were somewhat disappointing. We did only pay for a basic room so wasn't expecting anything spectacular but still they were quite small.
The shower was so powerful it nearly knocked you over when you climbed in and the rubber on the screen across the bath was missing so the shower water ended up all over the floor resulting in a small pond on the bathroom floor every time we showered.
The safe didn't work and the air conditioning even when on full blast did very little in terms of cooling the room.

In summary the hotel was OK but on my next visit to London I will be picking a different hotel to say in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottsgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Nottsgirl87,
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.
Please allow us to express my apologies that your experience did not meet your expectations. I would like to inform you that the issues raised are being rectified by our maintenance team to prevent future occurrence.
And also thank you for your kind words concerning our team and the treatment you received.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel again.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#266 of 1,072 in London
2,158 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#147 of 1,072 in London
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,072 in London
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £109 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing