We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #302 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
zambia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and I chose it because I wanted to visit Saint Pauls Cathedral. It is very near Saint Pauls you just cross the road from the hotel, the Tate gallery is there which is really worth a visit if you are passing by and turn towards the river, cross the bridge and you are there. Along this part of London there are lots of restaurants and it is very pleasant, don't think I would stay here again, just because it took us that much longer and was more costly taking taxis from central London where we had to go, than I imagined. Otherwise we had a good stay, not noisy, very pleasant staff, good beds and bathroom with bath and shower. We didn't eat here but found great breakfast place across the road. Price was good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ZambiaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear ZambiaAnne,
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. We are in a great location as you mentioned within close proximity of several attractions, underground stations and restaurants.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London Bridge again very soon and do stop by our restaurant, The Loft and try our seasonal menu.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    849
    310
    100
    46
See reviews for
325
866
146
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived on a Friday. Upon a casual sit down check in in the huge reception area, we were offered home made choc chip cookies....nice touch. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable.Kettle (plus esspresso machine) with plenty of tea, coffee and milk. Good location for London sightseeing etc. Breakfast was included in our reservation and consisted of English and continental buffet. Really nice, hot and tasty. Could not fault either hotel or breakfast. Very modern, swish hotel. Would use this hotel next time I visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear jane b,
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit.
We put a great emphsis on the guest service and to make sure our guests feel comfortable as much as possible in the hotel during entire stay.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and was less than impressed, I went as far to say I’d never stay in this hotel again. Stayed here again quiet a few times over the last six months, the choice was taking out of my hands due to work making the booking.

The hotel has improved since my previous visit, the lobby/reception has benefited a refit is now open and inviting, with a service to match. I’ve rooms are ok, adequate for a short break, functionally ok, lacking style. Always had a good nights sleep. Eat a number of times in the hotel and the food is good, breakfasts are by far the highlight.

The location couldn’t be better, right behind Tate Modern, 10 minutes walk to St Pauls and the City. The Thames is only minutes away with its vast number of competing restaurants/bars, plus a Tesco Metro is less than a minute from the hotel.

The wifi is very hit and miss, you can use the LAN cable, however there is a charge. Tried to work, however whenever staying on a higher floor the connection was very frustrating, the lower floors seem much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Mike_l8,
Many thanks for the review.
We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed you are pleased with our efforts and the changes we have made at the Mercure London Bridge.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and restaurants, The Loft. I do agree we are in a great location and surrounded by sights including The EDF London Eye, Shakespeare Globe and The Shard to name a few.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

15 minute walk from the tube. Limited views from hotel rooms which feel functional. Warm welcome from reception staff who use iPads to register you. Reception area is very modern with fruit and sweets available. I was there on business and location was amazing......just out the ack door! Room was compact..... My fault for not asking how the blackout blind worked. I was on night shift so didn't care. Room service was prompt but burger and fries were only average

Room Tip: Ask how the blackout blinds work within the triple glazing before you get into bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heulwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Heulwen9,
I’m glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Mercure London Bridge Hotel and felt "warmed" by our welcome.
I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel is within walking distance to the train, which is convenient for traveling. Hotel staff was helpful. Hotel rooms very nice, though could be a little bigger. Nice decor. Towel warmer and makeup mirror and clock built into bathroom mirror. Bed comfortable. A bit over priced for the space, but overall was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear bethcl,
Many thanks for posting your comments.
We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The location is ok, but the hotel had a weird smell and was quite small. The service was not very good and the food was just ok. They need to do some renovations in the rooms, especially in the bathrooms...mold in the shower from this price point is completely unacceptable! Overall, not happy with this hotel at all, will not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMSL722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Only 6 stories high so views are out of the question. Our room was on level 6 at the rear so view was of other walls.
Room still had that new paint smell but was OK. Room was well set out.
Lift was big enough for 2 adults & 2 bags ( don't bring the cat).
Meals were OK.
Staff were pleasant enough.
Registering on arrival & departing is done by staff using an ipad on a lounge.
Location is OK.
Would I stay there again ?.. Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear aussie_couple2013,
Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#268 of 1,067 in London
2,088 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#178 of 1,067 in London
2,140 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#53 of 1,067 in London
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing