We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, but there are things to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #301 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belgrade
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good choice, but there are things to improve”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed here during my travel trip to London for the WTM in Excel. Hotel is located really close to the river, only 10 minutes easy walk across bridge to St Paul's cathedral. From the Airport you can take metro to Green Park and than switch to Jubilee line to the Sauthwark. Total journey is about 1.5 hours. Taxi from Excel to Hotel was around 30 pounds.
I like the lobby area. It seems like there is no reception desk, since it is melt into the interior. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. I got the room on second floor facing the street. Was nice, but sometimes i could here noise from the street. Room was clean. The only thing i did not like was all this small things, for example: the housekeeping did not take used glass from the table for entire stay. Anyway i would used it again. I do not know about the price, it seems like a little expensive, but in comparison to other hotels in London it was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    849
    310
    100
    46
See reviews for
325
865
146
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Mercure London Bridge is one of my preferred hotels when staying overnight in the City it is conveniently located for a whole host of venues ... I've always thought of it as functional, a bed for the night that is, the bar used to be a bit claustrophobic and the décor a bit dated so we never really spent any time there.

This last visit was a real surprise, they have remodelled the reception, bar and restaurant areas and refurbished the rooms (great showers). What a difference! the public areas are welcoming, open, comfortable and relaxing. In fact, returning from a very pleasant evening in a restaurant we enjoyed a nightcap or three in the bar.

This hotel will continue to be at the top of my list of places to stay when in London

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank polacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I'm afraid that recent reviews sum up this hotel rather well.

First impressions (the lobby, bar) were good - brightly lit, spacious - but everything rapidly went down hill. Being checked in by staff carrying tablets suggested that there are some old-fashioned ideas (like a reception desk) that actually don't need updating; the young woman who checked me in struggled dreadfully with her electronic device.

The room was a further disappointment, particularly after being told by the receptionist how much I would like it. Small and poorly designed, it possessed a hard bed and pillows like rocks. The mini bar was empty. The bathroom was so small there wasn't actually anywhere to put my soap bag. You couldn't run a bowl of water for a wash (a modern sink that doesn't hold water - again, another invention that doesn't improve something that works). After the spacious lobby this was very much a case of the front of the theatre being rather better than the inside.

Checking out, the bad impressions were reinforced by the casual, 'I don't care' attitude of the gentleman supposedly overseeing a trainee receptionist - and she, sadly, just didn't know what to do other than giggle at my less than favourable response to the question 'had I enjoyed my stay'. He just walked away.

I was saddened by all this. The Mercure brand is a strange one; they run one of the hotels in London I most enjoy (Kensington, which is excellent and where they do show how smallish rooms can be cleverly designed) and a couple (Bloomsbury is best avoided) that frankly don't seem to care. London Bridge area is up and coming and getting a fun place to be - but not here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Londe Les Maures, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Totally not impressed by the place.
We ordered 2 rooms with 2 single beds, I received a call letting me know one of the rooms would be with a double bed. We checked in to find both rooms with double bed. Heating on 1st weekend of November still off, out room had a cold temperature of 17.5C . Executive rooms with empty fridge, not even a bottle of mineral water in the room. Shower not working properly...only positive point is the room decoration and lobby are very nicely decorated...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pascale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is my first ever trip advisor review and unfortunately its not a good one,

I was impressed with the reception area but that is the only aspect I found to be impressive,

The room SMALL & DIRTY with a small double bed, terrible pillows with furniture and décor what appeared to be from the 1970's.
The bathroom was in a shocking state, with nice rough towels and a dirty rolled up bath mat in the corner

Clearly not a 4* Hotel
Asked to move rooms and was told that all the rooms were identical and that If we wanted more space we would have to pay for an upgrade having already paid £160 for the night I wasn't prepared to give them anymore

A refurbished Travelodge would be half the price and you would easily have double the room, comfort and a better finish

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is in walking distance from the London tube Southwark station but we suggest you to pay more and to take a superior room. The non refurbished (standard room) are really old and bathroom in bad condition. Wa had small room and a tiny ugly and old bathroom (such as real pictures from other guest who downloaded their pictures on tripadvisor - not the commercial pictures). The staff is nice and helpful.

Room Tip: take a superior room not the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Clean well managed and helpful staff. Bedroom adequate for length of stay. Make sure you order prior to visit breakfast and as not shown on booking!

Tubes are only a few minutes walk away together with Borough Market which has some brilliant food stalls. Restaurants and bars too are close by to the hotel. Obtaining local taxis not a problem as drive by hotel regularly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#271 of 1,067 in London
2,087 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#176 of 1,067 in London
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,067 in London
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing