We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #303 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Italy
1 review
“Weekend in London”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have spent 3 days in London. The hotel was well located, and the personal very kind, also the room was good as the breakfast. Unfortunately after the first night they missed to clean our room, so for the second night all the room remained in the same conditions of the morning when we leave from it. Towels on the floor of the bathroom, bed not renewed, and so on. So good hotel but service absolutely not sufficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Edoardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    864
    312
    101
    47
See reviews for
337
880
146
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel reception and the staff were brillant but the room for three people was very small, not according to presentation on the Web at time of order. The room was not ready for us when we came in the afternoon so we had to wait for 25 min. When we got up to our room it was only prepared for 2 with missing towel and bath items for the third person. The curtains were not working, they were actually stores that got stuck when trying to use them. Apart from that the location was quite good and was the reason for we did stay, close to the Tube and to different attractions at close walking distance. I was travelling with my two grown-up kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josselyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here a few nights with a friend before my husband arrived & we changed hotels, as his was our usual place. Just average. Access to rooms from lifts was horrible-apparently, their fire alarm system is antiquated, as there are several fire doors separating the hallways. Trying to navigate them with luggage was not fun. Pretty far from any tube...Rooms clean, not easy to regulate heat-left window open, but street is heavy trafficked, with emergency vehicles whizz ing by at all hours of the night. Would probably not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreijunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

First thing I noticed about this place was the check in. Rather than a desk, they have tried to be modern with relaxed open check in with tablets. Sounds nice? Well the concept sounds ok but in reality it was a mess. Imagine a crowd of people just hanging around, no queue, no structure, no idea who is next and the system taking about 3 times longer than it should. That was the reality. My advice.... Get a better system and it will be ok.

In terms of the rooms, they are small (but then again so are pretty much all hotel rooms under £200 in London) and are average in nature. The gym is poor.

Location wise, you have a 10mins walk to the market and so not bad.

It's unlikely I will be back. Have no string feelings either way. Service could be better.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Googgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I try not to judge a book by its cover and I am glad I did. The front reception area of this hotel is modern and clean. There is no reception desk as one would typically expect but staff are on hand holding tablets that can check you in and out using them. Very cool!

For tourists, this hotel is very central and London Bridge Station is a 10 min walk away.

Unfortunately, thats where the plus points of staying here stop. My bedroom was looking very tierd indeed. Mould covered the silicon in the bath/shower. The hair dryer looked like it was from the 1960's, the sink plug hole wouldn't work so I have to remove the plug altogther. And today, it took about 15 mins for the shower to run with hot water.

The food in the hotel is pretty dire as well. I asked for a Chicken Tikka but was told they had ran out and instead there was a chicken green curry. When I got it, the sauce was like water, it was tasteless and I had to remove from the "soup" a handful of bay leaves.

If you are happy to pay a premium to stay this central and expect that you only need to rest your head somewhere then this hotel is okay, otherwise, try and book the Citizen M as that hotel is much nicer and just as central!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leethepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

only a short walk from london bridge station and borough market. Very attentive staff and very clean public areas. Ended up in a disabled room so plenty of space. Food was also good. Close to tate gallery and south bank so plenty of pubs and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank gary582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#272 of 1,069 in London
2,125 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#169 of 1,069 in London
2,201 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#51 of 1,069 in London
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#223 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing