We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my idea of a flagship!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #307 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not my idea of a flagship!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked a premier room for a flying visit to London. Bed was really comfortable but we had paid to upgrade for some extra luxury. Therefore disappointed not to be told the drinks in our mini fridge were complimentary (we are not mind readers!). Overall the standard of housekeeping was poor coffee and milk not restocked; the bathroom tiles were dirty . The lift is really small and inadequate for luggage .
Having previously stayed in Accor hotels found this one a let down particularly as it had supposedly been recently refurbished and there was literature describing it as a flagship hotel !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    823
    307
    99
    45
See reviews for
308
844
139
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend for a business purpose.
The hotel is about 5-10 mins walk from Southwark station, which is not too bad if the weather is good... however, there is a bus just outside the hotel which could take you direct into the city center.
Room is good and clean, nice big bed, bathroom is clean and I was surprise to find a bath tub where I enjoyed nice hot bath! but if you have a particular taste about the style of bathroom, leave the page now.
Very good breakfast selection, the ambience of the breakfast is very relaxing and there is no question about the hotel services.
Oh, most importantly, Wi-Fi speed thumb up!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wawa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with work in Mid December, I chose the hotel due to its proximity to my office

Overall it offered good value for money with free wifi, quick check in, mince pie on arrival, comfy bed and clean room

I was a big fan of the check in experience, I wasn't sure of what to expect after reading reviews but I was pleasantly surprised and reiceved a free mince pie after checking in. (There are also bowls of sweets throughout reception!)

Free wi-fi was included and this is a must for me particularly when travelling on business

I had breakfast on one of the mornings and this wasn't included in my room rate.... At £15 I thought this was a little overpriced and although the food was cooked well I wouldn't say that it was anything to shout about

The bed was comfortable and room had everything that I needed for my stay

Location plays a big part for me, it's not too far from London bridge station (5min walk), it has an M&S food outlet, pret, Italian and much more in the immediate vicinity and you are well connected by bus and underground from southwark or London bridge

Overall a good stay and subject to getting a good room rate I'll defiantly return when I'm next in London on business

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Internship10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I would love to rate this hotel higher however nothing is worse than a cold shower on cold winters day. The water in shower never actually gets super hot depending on time you take shower but on 2 occasions I had a cold shower. Considering I stayed for 4 nights that is not good odds. I did try call reception to complain but their English was not great so they didn't understand properly and said something like "all hotels no hot water". But other than this the hotel is nice. Modern lobby and rooms are not bad.I liked the location. Walking distance to london bridge and london eye. In summary I won't be staying at this hotel again though. Oh and one last thing the blinds in room were broken.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imraan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here on business early December.
Hotel was a fair walk from London Bridge station c.1km.
Check in was different, trying to be informal with a table and laptops rather than a desk. It didn't really work for me as staff then had to walk back to the office for printing...staff were friendly enough though.
Room was small, bathroom tiny, fortunately, I didn't stay in my room much.
Lift was tiny and needed patience.!
I didn't eat at the hotel, did have one drink,
Value for money was average, staff friendly but I won't rush back

Room Tip: ask for a large one...you might then get something average sized..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edsnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#284 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#193 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#224 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing