We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure London Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #308 of 1,090 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    831
    309
    99
    46
See reviews for
313
851
141
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The lobby and common areas looked great, the staff was welcoming. Then we got to our room, it was in need of a refresh but looked reasonable.

The bathroom, on the other hand, had paint peeling from the ceiling, mould on the shower head, dirty grout and even some rust in the bathtub. Not a place you want to relax in.

After talking to the staff, they switched us to another (upgraded) room, which was better. Still in need of a refresh, but cleaner.

So, top marks for the staff, not so much for the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My son, who is studying in London, suggested an hotel near the Northern Line of the tube system, so he could visit us, his mum and dad. Also celebrating my wife's birthday. Made booking, but for some unknown reason, the booking was never completed. I was advised to book again, which I did. Anyway, I checked my bank statement shortly afterwards, and discovered that I had been charged TWICE!!! To make a long story very boring (!) after plenty of emails and polite arguments, I was offered a 50% discount on the second booking, the remainder would be put against a meal in the hotel's restaurant, and we would be upgraded to a Privilege Superior Room.
Not knowing exactly where hotel was located, and due to the fact of the rain, I took a chance (on cost) and hailed a taxi, directly outside London Bridge rail station. The cost was only £3.80, amazing! In Dublin, it nearly costs that much just to enter a taxi! So, if you knew where you were going, I suppose it is only about 5-10 minutes walk from the train station.
I was surprised to see another reviewer not rate these type of rooms. Having spoken to other friends who had stayed in London recently, we were advised not to expect too much space in the room. We were really, really pleasantly surprised. The room was great, very comfortable and spacious; even though we were overlooking the road, on the 6th floor, we did not hear any traffic noise with the windows open. However, with the windows open, there was some noise, though not very loud or noticeable. Check-in was a breeze. The was no official reception desk. There were some people standing by with tablets on their arms, and a laptop also visible behind the table. We were invited to sit down, where we completed the check-in procedure. Really effortless and efficient, new to me - using tablets! We had not booked breakfast, but just outside London Bridge train station there are plenty of eating options. And do not pass by the Borough Market, again, just beside the train station. Well, well worth a visit, with plenty to offer for the hungry and/or curious.
There are really plenty of options available, very near, to explore the surrounding borough of Southwark, and the Thames walkway. Plenty of restaurants, pubs and so on. Not too far to walk, either, to St Paul's Cathedral, or the Millennium Bridge, or Blackfriars Bridge. The choice is really endless.The 3 of us enjoyed a really tasty and fulfilling meal on Saturday night. Prices not bad, I suppose, for London. I am not going to elaborate on our meal, because what I like may not be to everybody's liking, but the meal was really, really very tasty and well presented.
Checkout on Sunday was again very easy and quick, with the balance of the cost of the meal, (with the discount applied!) debited to my credit card.
Would I recommend this hotel? Without exception! Nice friendly, informative staff, also very pleasant waiter for our meal. Overall, a really wonderful experience!!

(One tip. Purchase an Oyster card for travel. It can be topped up at every tube station, and you get your deposit back, £5.00, when you surrender the card at the end of your journeys)

Room Tip: (One tip. Purchase an Oyster card for travel. It can be topped up at every tube station, and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtrueDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Mercure was excellently located in central London, south of the river. Close to Tate Modern and the Globe Theatre. I arrived earlier than expected and the room was not ready so explored the surrounding area. Plenty of cafes around, great Thames bankside walks close by, and some good local pubs. The room was comfortable, clean, well-appointed and quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly and the bar in the hotel was pleasant. All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

after 14 hrs and 45 min flight from singapore i was at hotel reception on 9th jan 2014 at 08:30 in the morning. one of the young europen customer service bloke said, " there is no room available right now, its too early to check in. come back at 2 pm. thats the standard checkin time." i booked this hotel almost a month ago and paid for early checkin. without checking my details what a customer service ! when i told him i paid for early checkin then he checked and gave me room within 5 min. where he get the room now? then i asked him regarding local phone calls from hotel room. he replied i have to pay 50 pounds to open an account to make local phone calls. thats another rip off. when i checked out they make 42 pounds local call bills to make few local calls. the room is really noisy from the street at 2 nd floor. ambulance and cops car keep you awake all night. the only good thing is breakee include with the hotel price. i am never gonna go back to this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#277 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#182 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#244 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#223 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing