We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a Weekend getaway or Weekday business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #298 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a Weekend getaway or Weekday business stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed in Jan 2014 on a Weekend trip and really liked the Hotel.Location is superb with Southwark underground in easy walking distance and Waterloo overground line not far in the other direction.Loads of sights, pubs and restaurants in walking distance. We arrived back to the Hotel late on both nights and the area is safe. Breakfast was superb and staff very attentive. Only problem we had was the water in the shower was cold the first night of our stay.Definately woke us up even though it was late. Hotel did cure the problem next day on request.All in all would recommend although like all City centre hotels it was not cheap.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighty1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    855
    310
    101
    46
See reviews for
326
872
146
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel has one of the most cumbersome and slow check-in I've ever experienced. There is no reception or front desk. You check in with some rather confused agents in a lounge area, asking for information that already exists in my Accor Platinum profile as well as in the booking itself. They also ask tons of questions about additional services they offer. Just give me the key!

The room was quite spacious, but smelly and very HOT. I tried to set the A/C to it's lowest temperature setting and max airspeed, but after 4-5 hours it was even hotter. The "reception" told me to fix the problem by opening a window! A different room at the 1st floor was offered me, but the temperature would probably be the same, so I turned it down.

The top of the bed sheets had a couple of long hairs on it, and the bed itself had a very stiff and hard mattress. Not comfy at all.

The bathroom was of rather old standard with minor upgrades.

Overall I will not come back to this hotel. It's location is a bit off, but OK I guess.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our fourth time at this hotel and it continues to meet our needs and expectations. We booked a standard room using Tesco vouchers and we were upgraded to Privilege room on arrival - a very pleasant surprise. We particularly liked the refurbishment of the public areas but would also like to see some work done to the bedrooms. Carpets and blinds were a little tired and the window did not seal properly. The room was, however, clean and had many little extra touches. A comfortable bed with good pillows ensured a good night's sleep. Check-in was very easy and quick. Every member of staff we met was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: To avoid a long walk with cases from Southwark tube station, get off the tube at Waterloo and take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whenry52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My hubbie treated me to a night away here on my own. I arrived after a day at the spa feeling very relaxed and looking forward to a good sleep. I didn't see reception straight away and staff where not so proactive in greeting me! Hubbie had paid for my room on his card, I came with the booking number and a different card and I had to call him to cancel booking rebook etc (though it says bring booking number but not the original card you book with!) it took 30 minutes, not a great welcome for a lady on her own, and annoying for my hubbie who then had to take time out of his working day to sort out! The guy on reception did apologise for the delay. I had to ask where my room was so I didn't feel looked after at all by the reception staff (weird usually people on reception tell you this!) Not warm or friendly welcoming service. The decor in reception is lovely, modern and stylish, relaxing vibe. The rooms too me where quite a disappointment, they looked tired, and old fashioned, nothing special at all, needs a refurb! I did like the flapjacks and the mechanical pencil and the cosmetics where lovely. The blinds where supposed to have a black out curtain behind them, mine did not and the blinds where broken, it woke me up early when the sun came in, this was the whole reason I was staying (for a lay in) so a little annoying!!! On leaving the hotel, the lady serving me served someone else before me so both check in and check out did not make me feel good! Would not stay at Mercure again, for £128 I got a standard and tired room, you can get better standard in some 3 star hotels. The tired room coupled with what should have been a special occasion for a lady staying on her own and my needs not being met left a negative impression of Mercure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPink653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was pleasantly surprised: a nice little hotel with friendly staff. Great location on the South Bank, close to Tate Modern and the Borough Market, yet quiet and offering a good night sleep.

One thing to note is that, while the room was clean, it felt a bit tired - bedding linens looked a bit worn, and the carpet could also do with being replaced.
Other than that - no issues, a nice, simple hotel, perfect for a business traveller. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Principessa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just had a lovely weekend stay at this hotel.
Modern and clean.
We had a superior room, very comfortable bed, complimentary soft drinks in the mini-bar, coffee machine, robes and slippers, nice selection of toiletries, good size bath and shower.
Umbrellas at the hotel door if the weather calls for it.
A great choice at breakfast.
Staff were very helpful,
I would definately visit again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#267 of 1,068 in London
2,111 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#176 of 1,068 in London
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,068 in London
1,556 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing