We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #300 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stopped at this hotel for the London marathon. We booked this hotel over a year ago my sister in law booked it well in advance on her card . we have to save all year round as the weekend cost us a fair amount as we live in Doncaster. We checked in about four o clock the Friday my sister in law gave the confirmation but her card had expired from last year so her bank had issued her a new one standard practice. The receptionist at the hotel said she needed the old card but how could we produce it when the original one had been shredded at the bank. She said she could do nothing without the original card, no excuses. My husband then paid on his credit card again but we had already Paid 300 pound the year before so the hotel had our money for a year. My sister in law had to have the money refunded on to an old card and is going to have to sort it out when we get home she was crying and very upset not good start to the weekend my husband then ask the gentleman receptionist what would have happened if he did not have a credit card to back us up, he replied well you would have been ask to leave as we could have not given you a room, so we would have travelled all that way when we had booked a year ago and paid for it, only to be chucked out. Thanks mecure I have to say for being the most unhelpful staff and spoiling our weekend. We won't be going back here again stick to the Hilton in future where we get treated with respect

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staffs on duty in the morning were not friendly. Received a message from the hotel which stated "Your room is ready and we are expecting you". When we arrive at the hotel, it turns out to be a "Welcome Message".

But, Staffs on duty at night were much friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank MaximusTjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a trip to London with a visit to the 02. This was a perfect location for us as we were able to use the tubes and walking to get around quite easily. We were able to get the northern line to London Bridge and walk to the hotel from there - a slow 10 minute walk virtually in a straight line. The Jubilee line from London Bridge took us directly to the 02 which is always a plus on the return journey late at night when its a hassle to change tubes.

We arrived at the hotel early but they found us a room that was ready for occupation without any fuss. Room was clean and had everything that we needed for our short stay i.e. tea/coffee tray, toiletries in bathroom, sufficient towels and hot water.

Breakfast was good and staff offers to look after our bags whilst we visited tourist stops after checking out.

If you're happy to walk and can read a map then its an ideal location for sightseeing. A a walk along the river through the south bank to the London Eye / Westminster which are in easy reach of Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, and Downing Street.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel Although this was a fairly busy road there was no noise tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunnaz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked superior twin room for a stay with a friend for a weekend break. Good price as we booked well in advance on a no cancellation deal. Room is as you would expect for Mercure (good corporate standard) and the service was friendly and professional. We booked room only and there were good local choices for breakfast including Borough Market (go early before it gets really busy) and the table restaurant which is next door.
Only down side is location for theatres. London Bridge station is only 5 minutes walk but there is no direct tube route so we used taxis to Covent Garden. Well placed for London Eye, Shard and Tate Modern.
Will use again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and as described. Breakfast was lovely. Would definitely visit again. Car parking was a bonus and they were flexible on checking out too. No negatives for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparklyBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

stayed here in mid March 2014 for a weekend. We were very disappointed in the quality of the room. From the pictures, furnishings look modern and the rooms look spacious. This is very deceiving and not good from a '4 star' hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with check in speed quick. The room was very small for two people and the bathroom was even worse. You could not get two people in the bathroom and if someone was brushing there teeth and the door was closed, they would have to get in the bath to open the door. Extremely annoyed that we paid a premium price for this hotel and the room quality was very basic. You can find a cheaper and better quality hotel in London, in a better location. I would not recommend this hotel to others. Only positive was the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSS1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Karen75017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#258 of 1,077 in London
2,265 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#94 of 1,077 in London
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#120 of 1,077 in London
2,471 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#237 of 1,077 in London
3,007 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
#332 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £97 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing