We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical points” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #309 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    823
    308
    99
    45
See reviews for
308
845
139
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Not very welcoming, I was looking for a reception and couldn't find it!
I was on a weekend deal with a gift on arrival...I had to ask for it and the staff weren't aware that it existed! The room was ok and relatively clean. I wouldn't return unless I needed to. The staff at breakfast were nice but not much else to say. My partner was undergoing open heart surgery in London Bridge Hospital and for me it was a bit to far to walk, not being familiar with London, I was out of my comfort zone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Kind regards,
Giovanni De Marco
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Good location, transport links and great night's sleep.
Booked online - easy/convenient and great value for money.
Food and service was good.
Would stay again if I needed to be in this part of town.
Nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TPE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stopped at this hotel for the London marathon. We booked this hotel over a year ago my sister in law booked it well in advance on her card . we have to save all year round as the weekend cost us a fair amount as we live in Doncaster. We checked in about four o clock the Friday my sister in law gave the confirmation but her card had expired from last year so her bank had issued her a new one standard practice. The receptionist at the hotel said she needed the old card but how could we produce it when the original one had been shredded at the bank. She said she could do nothing without the original card, no excuses. My husband then paid on his credit card again but we had already Paid 300 pound the year before so the hotel had our money for a year. My sister in law had to have the money refunded on to an old card and is going to have to sort it out when we get home she was crying and very upset not good start to the weekend my husband then ask the gentleman receptionist what would have happened if he did not have a credit card to back us up, he replied well you would have been ask to leave as we could have not given you a room, so we would have travelled all that way when we had booked a year ago and paid for it, only to be chucked out. Thanks mecure I have to say for being the most unhelpful staff and spoiling our weekend. We won't be going back here again stick to the Hilton in future where we get treated with respect

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Staffs on duty in the morning were not friendly. Received a message from the hotel which stated "Your room is ready and we are expecting you". When we arrive at the hotel, it turns out to be a "Welcome Message".

But, Staffs on duty at night were much friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MaximusTjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a trip to London with a visit to the 02. This was a perfect location for us as we were able to use the tubes and walking to get around quite easily. We were able to get the northern line to London Bridge and walk to the hotel from there - a slow 10 minute walk virtually in a straight line. The Jubilee line from London Bridge took us directly to the 02 which is always a plus on the return journey late at night when its a hassle to change tubes.

We arrived at the hotel early but they found us a room that was ready for occupation without any fuss. Room was clean and had everything that we needed for our short stay i.e. tea/coffee tray, toiletries in bathroom, sufficient towels and hot water.

Breakfast was good and staff offers to look after our bags whilst we visited tourist stops after checking out.

If you're happy to walk and can read a map then its an ideal location for sightseeing. A a walk along the river through the south bank to the London Eye / Westminster which are in easy reach of Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, and Downing Street.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel Although this was a fairly busy road there was no noise tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnaz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked superior twin room for a stay with a friend for a weekend break. Good price as we booked well in advance on a no cancellation deal. Room is as you would expect for Mercure (good corporate standard) and the service was friendly and professional. We booked room only and there were good local choices for breakfast including Borough Market (go early before it gets really busy) and the table restaurant which is next door.
Only down side is location for theatres. London Bridge station is only 5 minutes walk but there is no direct tube route so we used taxis to Covent Garden. Well placed for London Eye, Shard and Tate Modern.
Will use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#281 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#240 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#225 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing