We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location- good enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #301 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oslo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location- good enough hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic location for some of London's best attractions.
London Eye, Tate Modern, HMS Belfast, St Paul's cathedral, Borough Market and several more are all within walking distance.
The lobby and restaurant area have been nicely refurbished in a cool, modern, british style. Plenty of more or less comfortable chairs and sofas to lounge around in. Tvs, magazines and cool books to borrow.
Girls working in the reception was friendly and helpful. Instead of having a work station they had tablets and they walked around a high table with drawers with the key cards and other things they needed. Seemed very modern and flexible but a bit unpractical.

Our rooms were on the 7th floor. This floor haven't been refurbished so it felt a bit like travelling back in time. But they were spacious and clean. We had chosen a room with a king size bed and it was the smallest king I ever saw, 160 cm wide but it was much newer than the decor of the room so it was comfortable enough.
The couple we were traveling with had a queen bed room and they said that the bed was a bit small.
Since our rooms were on the top floor we had both a lovely view and a balcony wich was a pleasant surprise.
The bathroom was spacious and clean with a nice selection of creams and soaps. The room also had bathrobes and slippers and that helped me forget the dated decor.

Breakfast was well over average with both warm and cold dishes and lacked nothing unless you have very special wishes. There was also a meny to choose from. Staff was very welcomming and friendly and they brought pots of coffee and tea to the table.

All in all this is a good enough hotel. It gets plus points on location, staff and breakfast. I was a bit far from the Underground but it was easy to find.
Plenty of places to eat nearby.
For Oxford street and Kensington it is a bit far away but you reach the west end easily with the RV1 bus line that stops right out side of the hotel and takes you, via some of the sights, to Covent garden.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back and pay a little extra for the king bed
See more room tips
Green Features: Eco friendly creams and soaps other than that I couldn't say
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikiWiig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear KikiWiig,

Many thanks for posting your comments and for noticing our great location not too far from some great sights and only a short bus or underground drive away from the shoppping possibilities of Oxford street or Covent Garden. We appreciate all feedback very much and we look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.

Kind regards,

Eero Meltti
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    849
    310
    100
    46
See reviews for
325
865
146
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A two night stay - arrived to be met by pleasant staff member walking around with in iPad. This was the front desk! a modern approach and all very easy.
A modern looking hotel - bed very comfortable, reasonable mini-bar packages could be purchased. Blackout blinds and good double glazing cut out all light/noise and were very welcome.
Slightly miffed that my room was not serviced - coming back after a hard day to find bed in same state i left it, no coffee / water refills and a bomb-site of a bathroom was disappointing.

I didn't have breakfast but did eat in the restaurant. service was 5 star, food was spectacular.

well positioned between two tube stops - both are 8 mins walk in either direction.

i would stay here again.

Room Tip: all street side rooms had good double glazing and black-out blinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mark W,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Mercure London Bridge Hotel. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Eero Meltti
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Mercure London Bridge hotel was great & gave me a UK address to receive some amazon.co.uk parcels. Was lovely having Pork Bangers & Bacon for brekkies, considering I'm working in a "Non Pork" permissive country.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Denzyl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Denzyl K,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at the Mercure London Bridge Hotel. I have passed your great feedback about our breakfast to our team in the kitchen and restaurant. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eero Meltti
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 16 day tour of England and France. The hotel itself was beautiful. The Nespresso machine and all the little "extras" in the room were a welcome joy after 2 weeks of 2-3 star hotels. The beds were so comfortable...and the breakfast! This hotel was just perfection. The location is a bit out of the way. Its a good hike to the nearest tube station so getting there with our bags was a bit unpleasant. The staff was very helpful, though the front desk clerk making some choice comments about not being able to suggest a good Italian restaurant because he's French and they don't like Italians was a bit uncalled for. Would still recommend the hotel if you don't have too many bags to lug or if you're ok with paying a taxi for the short drive over from southwark tube.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Amande R,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mercure London Bridge Hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,

Eero Meltti
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The good - great location, check-in & out was efficient, wine list and bar area is great.
The bad - shower flooded the bathroom within a few minutes. The drain was clogged. When I lifted the pan I was mortified to see how dirty it was. It's one of those designed to be easy to lift and clean. They took care of it and moved me into another room. However, I had to ask 3 times to try to speak to a manager on duty. They never reached out and I finally spoke to one upon the 4th time requesting. I showed a picture of it to bring home the point. The room they moved me too had been cleaned properly. Won't stay there again but I also don't expect this will be most reviewer's experience when they stay there.

Note: I stay in hotels over 100 nights/year and haven't had but a couple negative reviews. The lack of a manager's interest set it in motion for me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Meber99,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and for the feedback, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your overall expectations. Please allow me to express our sincerest apologies once more for the inconvenience. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

Kind Regards,

Eero Meltti
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great hotel!! The situation of this hotel is amazing, just a few steps away from Tate Modern. The rooms were perfectly clean and the staff was really helpful. There is no nightlife in this area so you can have a good rest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear diclair,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Eero Meltti
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July 2014. Chose primarily due to location as we wanted to visit both the Tate Modern and the Globe (ideal location for both - literally five minutes walk away!) Excellent in all regards; spotlessly clean, extremely quiet (especially if you leave the secondary window plane in place at night) and staff very friendly and attentive. We only had breakfast in terms of meals (as there are dozens of places around to eat any kind of food you want (sushi, M&S food outlet almost directly over the road etc). Very high quality (although nor enough water poured into jug on the second morning meaning the coffee was too strong/quite bitter). Otherwise perfect and we would certainly recommend very highly.

Room Tip: Fire doors are very heavy and, with heavy cases to drag, we were glad to have a room very near to el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csrothwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-LondonBridge, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear csrothwec,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Mercure London Bridge Hotel. Our locations is really great for the Tate modern or for the Shakepeares Globe, not to mention all the other attractions near by. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eero Meltti
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#271 of 1,067 in London
2,087 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#176 of 1,067 in London
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,067 in London
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing