We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Ranked #559 of 1,064 Hotels in London
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Well positioned to Paddington station. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was for a 2* staff very friendly and helpful, arrived early but our room was ready and very nice with a comfortable bed. On checking out they stored our luggage for the day and when we returned to pick it up they made us a cup of tea free of charge. Could not fault our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    243
    162
    53
    32
See reviews for
161
175
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Clean friendly hotel, stayed three nights rooms clean beds comfy, breakfast was lovely staff very friendly and helpful, very close to Paddington station so very close and easy to get to all the sights.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MozzerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Its our 2nd at Mitre and we thoroughly enjoyed our wonderful stay. The rooms are fine, breakfast good and friendly staff continue to provide great service, especially shout to receptionist; Helena providing prompt and efficient service. It could not be better!

Mitre is also 5 mins to train at Paddington and its so convenience to move around.

Hope to make yearly trip to London and continue to stay Mitre. Keep up the good work and wish you and staff a healthy and prosperous New Year!
cheers
ross

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed recently a bit small maybe because its adjoining for family of 5. Request for n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Mitre House Hotel is very close to Paddington station and definitely good value for money compared with other hotels in the area. It also has a lift so you don't have to lug your cases up the stairs (unlike other places in the area). It also has its own bar as well which a lot of other hotels nearby don't have.

The room was more than adequate and I think it's fair to say the only downside for us was breakfast. The breakfast room was nowhere near big enough for the amount of people staying in the hotel so it was all quite chaotic. There was no continental buffet to help yourselves from (quite unusual these days) so you had to wait until one of busy waitresses finally got to you. Both mornings we asked for the traditional English breakfast with fried egg (both days it came with poached) and to our surprise the traditional English breakfast came without sausage. I have attached a picture of what we actually received.

But if you are just looking for somewhere cheap to stay near the centre of London then it is quite convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Author007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Requested a quiet room when booking and they delivered. My room was ready upon arrival at 10AM very much appreciated after a long flight.
Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Proximity to Paddington Train station was wonderful. Took the Heathrow express to and from the hotel.
Restaurants nearby very good especially Indian and Greek restaurant on London Rd. Excellent value to the money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a hotel close to this but only stayed there an hour before moving to the Mitre House Hotel which was much better it was really good value for money, in a great location with comfortable rooms that were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I stayed one weekend at the Mitre hotel. The location is very good, halfway between Paddington station and Hyde Park. Very convenient for transport. The price for a double room is very acceptable for the area. The room was very clean but could have been a bit bigger. The staff were very friendly and helpful whenever we asked for something. Breakfast was OK. Nice breakfast staff. The lift was slow. Plenty of parking. All in all, very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#307 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#478 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#627 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#401 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#195 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Caring Hotel
#503 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Property: Mitre House Hotel
Address: 178-186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing