We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home.”
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Ranked #565 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our home away from home.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We are two girls that stayed seven nights at the Mitre House B&B. The room we stayed in was small and quaint - but perfect for two. The bed was clean and comfy with a private bathroom, Wi-Fi, TV, hair dryer, closet, and delicious tea. It was just enough! However, the floors did creaked much. The front desk staff were both friendly and helpful. We appreciate our housekeeper very much. Our room was always clean and presentable when we returned for the day. The hotel is a great location. Only a couple mins walk to the Paddington station and another couple mins walk to Hyde Park. Very close to many restaurants. We felt safe walking back very late. Overall, it is a great location and we had a good experience with this bed and breakfast. I will stay here again. It was home away from home.

Room Tip: Our room was located downstairs first door to the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    249
    166
    53
    33
See reviews for
164
181
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I would just like to say I had a very comforting and helpful stay here.
It was my first stop on my four month tour through Europe from Australia and I felt very welcome.
Clean and tidy, warm and cosy, very close to main sights and easy direction to public transport.
Free WiFi was impeccable.
Friendly service and staff.
Very much recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani-elle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Room & bathroom very small with very little sitting area but absolutely spotless. Comfortable beds. Desk staff all very polite, friendly and quite helpful to us. Always felt safe & secure. Location is great. Many nice restaurants, food marts & souvenier shops around the corner. Plumbing all worked well with lots of hot water. We blew a fuse using a hair curler. Staff fixed it in 2 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegathann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well, first check in was good then we we're sent on a maze of corridors and stairs to our room. The room was small and very dated with creaking floors like a horror movie. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor. The maids could walk in without knocking (and have a look through your make up bag). The night staff... Well 90% of the staff don't smile, in the night the man with grey hair will not smile, very rude and impolite. For the breakfast, the staff were amazing! On top with everything and we weren't kept waiting for longer than 40 seconds. The bar is small with no draught pumps which at some bars it's not a problem, but when they sell multipack cans of fosters it comes across as a bit cheap. The area is excellent with a no exaggerated walk of 5 minutes from Paddington station, and 20 minutes walk to Oxford Street.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A comfy bed ,sort of quiet room , the floor creaked whenever you moved .Clean ,the shower broke on our first morning ! Breakfast was OK ,heralded by the smells of breakfast wafting into the room ! Waitresses were very attentive . Evening reception staff were great , chatty , pleasant .Morning reception staff only spoke on the morning of paying the bill !!! Bar on the first night had football on a big TV .We never used the bar again. It was close to Paddington.

Room Tip: Don`t have room 110 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We recently stayed here and can't thank the friendly staff enough for a most welcoming stay. They were more than helpful on more than one occasion. Excellent customer service. The breakfast was a welcoming change from being overloaded with a full traditional full English. The quality of the bacon was noted by myself and my husband.

The hotel is close to Paddington Station and Underground which is very handy. Lots of restaurants nearby and the friendly staff were more than happy to recommend some of their favourites. The owner/manager was a fantastic, vivacious gentleman full of tips and immense energy. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaB171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
wow!, Thanks for that!

when we receive complimentary comments like that and the previous great reviews it gives us all a lift and inspires us to give more.

we have been in this business long enough to know that we can't please everybody all the time but to at least please our guests enough to receive high praise in public gives us the confidence to continue our policy of treating our guests with respectful friendliness that chain hotels do not encourage.

Michael Chris (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Well positioned to Paddington station. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the hotel was for a 2* staff very friendly and helpful, arrived early but our room was ready and very nice with a comfortable bed. On checking out they stored our luggage for the day and when we returned to pick it up they made us a cup of tea free of charge. Could not fault our stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#316 of 1,067 in London
1,401 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#408 of 1,067 in London
1,046 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#487 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#646 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#209 of 1,067 in London
2,137 reviews
Stylotel
#556 of 1,067 in London
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Property: Mitre House Hotel
Address: 178-186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing