We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #929 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lisbon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't do it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend with my girlfriend. We are on our twenties therefore traveling on a budget so we considered this hotel because of its location/price relation. Location is in fact very good but the room smelled funny, in a bad way, when we arrived and the water in the shower was never hot enough during all weekend. The staff, although nice, didn't seem to concerned about it and I noticed other guests complaining about the same issue. In a nutshell, this is a very good area but consider another hotel, even if you have to pay a little extra.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Le_Figaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    155
    233
    128
    153
See reviews for
190
195
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stay here all the the time with work and I hate it, it's a horrible over priced hotel.
It has poky unclean bathrooms also very dated furnishing and the tvs are a joke 3 fuzzy channels, plus there are cockroach outside of the lower windows which puts you off having the windows open at night.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudge710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Norfolk plaza hotel was a clean friendly hotel, a little dated ,the room we had was on the 4th floor and was serviced with a lift. I found the location excellent just a short stroll from paddington station ( on the bakerloo tube line).the breakfast was continental but for just £3.50 you could upgrade to a full English breakfast,the bar was quite cheap too considering its Central London location.i would recommend this hotel for theatre breaks as it's much cheaper than the show and stay hotels esp if you use alpha rooms ! I have given it 3 out of five but that's because I couldn't give it 3 and1/2.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Only 60 euros in the middle on London with a very pleasant service. The hotel is planning to go under renovation, which it definitely needs, but when I think about my needs: one night before a meeting just next to the Paddington station (train from Heathrow) I could not imagine anything better. My employer will be happy for this savings. Clean room, pleasant service - that is all you need for abt 10 hours you spend there.

I have spent many many nights in 5* hotels, but for this purpose this hotel was excellent - and... it did not rain in London!

Hope when you come back after renovation, the price will still be affordable - I will come back, thanks to the location and service. But not for the whole week ;-)

Looking forward to seeing what your plans are,
Riitta

Room Tip: No fitness centre and no pool - I was not looking for them either, as I was traveling in business
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riitta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Check in less than smooth - reception staff claimed we had only paid for one room (we booked 2 on the same transaction!) still not sure if this has been sorted out or not. Our first room was on the 2nd floor and was booked as a twin, but to our surprise was actually a double suite - bit worn and , shabby, but was clean. Our second room was a double on the 5th floor and was a total disgrace - tiny, with holes in the carpet, curtains and bedding and the whole room was unclean. We complained at reception and were told "we're full so can't swap rooms". After standing our ground the room was changed to a twin on the second - not quite what we had booked but at least it was cleaner and a little less shabby (very strange positioning of the tv though - you walk into the wall mounted tv on your way into the room!). All in all I really don't rate this hotel, I really don't mind a hotel looking worn, however dirty rooms and holey bedding and curtains is just poor. The reception staff were also less than helpful, and really don't seem to know what is going on. Best avoid and book a different hotel.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the fifth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Inspite of great location and decent breakfast, the room was very worn out and low in cleaning standards. Maintenance also needed improvement. The heat was put on rarely so the room wasn't warm enough which is critical in London in November. extra blankets were in terrible shape. The staff is indeed very friendly but without solutions for faults.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonaR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a somewha rundown hotel, but with very friendly and helpful staff. The area is simply great, Paddington, close to Edgeware road, the start of Oxford Street, Hyde Park and a number of Underground stations. The rooms are spacious and so are the bathrooms. While the hotel and the rooms are a bit rundown, the cleaning was very good and so was the restocking of tea and coffee in the room. The Windows were single glasing, so I expect it may be cold during the Winter, but I had no issues. On the 3rd floor there was rarely any noise from the square outside or even the nearby bars and restaurants (many of which I can recommend), but the square does seem quiet in general. The price was very good, and so was the bar, which had plenty to offer. The TV is a let Down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank integrasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#892 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
#531 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#661 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#859 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#626 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#844 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Property: Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Address: 29-33 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #929 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Plaza London
Hotel Norfolk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing