We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #930 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Worst place I have ever stayed. Staff ignorant and unhelpful. Beds ancient and of dubious cleanliness. Carpets horrendous and certainly not for bare feet. Tea came begrudgingly at "breakfast table" and was luke warm. They wouldn't serve cooked breakfast ten minutes before end of breakfast time, despite it being paid for. There was no cutlery or bowls available. Probably the "staff" had to run off to another workplace. Intermittent fire alarm. pillows of doom. lift of eternal waiting.. I should have known better but got swayed by a laterooms deal. Burn the place down for the insurance and do us all a favour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safedepth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    158
    240
    132
    159
See reviews for
197
198
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Dirty dirty dirty.unsafe electrics no wifi terrible staff. Paper thin walls and ceilings.felt like a doss house and left us all feeling in need of a good wash. If you have a reservation cancel...never stayed anywhere so awful

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Issytm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in May 2014. The hotel is definitely in need of an upgrade but it was an excellent value for London UK. The free WiFi worked OK but was a bit weak. We barely got a signal in the room. The best part was the breakfast. For about 5 pounds there is a breakfast buffet that offers everything one needs to start the day. I would recommend this hotel to any budget traveler who is looking for a comfortable place to stay at an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smrties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It is literally 2-5 minutes walk from Paddington main railway station. Alovely little square location with lots of eateries fast and slow all around. There the positives stop. Only one member of staff showed any concern for guests, I will forgive most things if staff are happy to help with any issues...these guys were so apathetic .we queued for 25 minutes for breakfast, even though 10 tables could have been available, had they been cleared. Waiting staff not interested. One of a lovely group of Spanish travellers asked for butter...she was treated like she had asked for rare cavier at breakfast..I had more access to english tv in Poland last summer. My teenage daughters just felt grubby as did I. Unsafe plugs, dirty everything...see the photos. Needs a good duty manager, clean and overhaul. Read my other reviews..we are quite happy to frequent cheaper hotels....but this one is simply dirty, unsafe with terrible staff apart from one member of the housekeeping team who seemed concerned about our wellbeing

Room Tip: Avoid.....no wifi either...2014 London
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night during November 2013.

I chose it as it was on a deal and seemed fairly reasonable for London prices. I was prepared for it to be a tad worn in decor but it was far worse than I expected. The room was small, the bathroom was grubby and it just felt dirty.

I didn't dare use the lift as it looked worse for wear and the breakfast was disappointing, pretty much inedible.

Will I be returning? I don't think so!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While we loved the location, staff, and breakfast, the beds were quite uncomfortable. Other than that, this quaint little hotel has a beautiful park and is within very short walking distance to Paddington station, Hyde Park, and Kensington Gardens. This was the perfect place to stay for us "first timers".

Room Tip: No Wifi, but Garfunkles restaurant down the street does. Front desk has stamps for postcards/mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a theatre break package, at first glance it looks nice from the outside, with the hotel looking over a small gated garden to the front, this is it's best feature, we stored our bags as we could not get in the room until 14.00, which is understandable.

When we arrived back to the room it went down hill from there, the room was small and very tired, and could really do with up dating, as we are from the UK, we thought that in this day and age you would of got a TV with free view and at least more than just the old 5 channels in English on a 19" screen, on first impressions the bedding was clean, but in fact it's frayed, old and tatty.

The bathroom you need to walk in sideways just to sit on the toilet, be careful as you might hit your knees on the sink when sitting down, (on the small side, is an understatement), the bath/shower was dirty, taps dripping all the time and looked old, also the bath had a crack in it, the shower head was covered in scum, the tiles need re-grouting. (please see photo's)

As we tried to get to sleep there was a continual noise like a washing machine was on full spin speed all night long, but the constant noise kept us awake, and we can normally sleep through most sounds.

Room Tip: Avoid room 501, unless you like listening to what sounds like a washing machine on full spin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Ashley London
#887 of 1,069 in London
475 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#667 of 1,069 in London
460 reviews
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
#616 of 1,069 in London
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#660 of 1,069 in London
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Property: Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Address: 29-33 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #930 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Plaza London
Hotel Norfolk Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing