We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, very functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #401 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Superb location, in my opinion(!), because it is directly next to a car park! The rooms were comfortable with empty fridges (executive room,) sheets and towels were reasonable quality and breakfast was excellent. The only problem we had was noisy air conditioning and we struggle with normal 4.5 ft double bed. The sofa bed also had a very uncomfortable lumpy mattress so unfortunately we didn't actually get much sleep. No free wi-fi.

Room Tip: We had 601 and 602. Good for a family as they were at the far end of the corridor and we could wedge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aragornsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for 5 days in a double room, third floor. We needed to be close to the National Hospital in Queen Square for regular visiting. The location is very convenient and is opposite a very good shopping/eating/residential square with a lot of al fresco options. Oxford Street shopping is a £5 cab ride. The hotel breakfast was good but it was a mistake to take the inclusive "value" dining package with Carluccios close by. Service everywhere was friendly and efficient. The bedroom was clean and comfortable but small, very tight in the bathroom, not for the portly. Overall , good value for the London location.

Room Tip: There is traffic noise so the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was put here for two nights (with my boyfriend) as part of donating stem cells with anthony nolan so I'm not sure about the price. However I actually wanted to go home after day 1, and because the charity had already paid for both rooms and breakfast, there was an extra £50 fee for leaving early which I thought wasn't nice! I do know though that dinner was an extra £30 pp BUT £1.90 for a can of coke??
The location of the hotel is good, it is within walking distance to a lot of main attractions and is right next to a tube stop. It is off a little side street off a main road.
The staff were very nice, can't complain there at all.
I was quite disappointed with the cleanliness of the hotel. We found a box full of sauce from the restaurant in the drawer and in the safe was a mobile phone and papers. There was also a few hairs on the bed and in the bathroom.
We ate breakfast which was nice, it is all self serve apart from the hot drinks. They offer a full English breakfast, porridge, croissants, fruit, cereals, pancakes and fresh juice. All very nice!
Checking inn was rather simple too and when we needed an iron bringing up, they did it very quickly.
Also there was a group of grown men making an awful lot of noise until around 2am, and no one from the hotel asked them to quieten down, which was a bit annoying as I needed to get up for 6am.
I probably wouldn't stay here again for the couple of problems I mentioned because there is so many places in London to try!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Park_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Mrs_Park_11,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for the cleanliness of the room that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I am a regular user of the IHG group so as I have mentioned in other reviews it is often the staff that makes the stay memorable and my latest stay was no exception. The initial contact at check in was a pleasant experience with a lady called May who made us feel very welcome with a beaming smile and friendly demeanour. It made us feel as though nothing was too much trouble. The location was wonderful being close to Russell square and only seconds from the closest tube station. A 20 minute walk put us in the centre of Covent garden and we could walk to the British museum within 5 minutes. The room (executive) was functional and contained a safe, kettle, decent TV albeit with limited channel selection, robe and slippers and enough toiletries. The room was warm with a controllable heater and opening windows for ventilation. Enjoyable stay and I would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I'm very fussy about hotels and let me tell you all, it's Excellent!!! Not a thing wrong with this hotel. Clean, well refurbed, safe, secure, sooooo convenient, a 1 min walk to Russell square tube! Pay for the breakfast, it's worth every penny and cheap too, even has an American pancake machine that throws out delicious pancakes. Staff are lovely very willing. Right across the road is a lovely open shopping complex with good restaurants, Waitrose, Boots, shoe shops, River Island, New Look. Well no more to say really just FABULAAS!!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Gibo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should your travels bring you back to London. Once again, thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The service was great and the price we paid was relatively low. We were able to check out at 1400 rather than the standard 1200 thanks to membership of the hotel group's loyalty programme for which there is no fee. The room was what I would expect of a central London hotel in this price range, not spacious and probably best if only one person tries to move around the room at a time. The bed was an odd affair being on wheels and had a tendency to move even when sat on and was a little too soft for my liking. The room was quiet, even though it overlooked a road. The bathroom was clean and well lit but a little on the small size. There was a gap in the room furniture which looked distinctly fridge sized but sadly no fridge. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided.

The location was great. The hotel is within spitting distance of Russell Square tube station and fairly easily walkable from Kings Cross/Euston and even Soho.

Would I stay here again? I wouldn't rule it out, but I'd probably look for something with larger rooms and remember it in case my search didn't yield any positive results.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. The one we had (563) was larger than others that are available on some other f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were entertaining friends from Ireland and wanted to bring them to a show in London. We decided to stay at the Holiday Inn and make a night of it. I have used this hotel numerous times for business purposes during the day, but had never stayed the night. The check in process was swift and painless and although we had rooms on different floors, it wasn't a problem as we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in our rooms. The room was clean and functional and our breakfast was great, buffet style, but you could also order eggs cooked any way from the kitchen. The location was fab, you can walk from King's Cross, although Russell Square tube is down the road. When next staying in central London, I will be staying at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Irisheyesaresmilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#390 of 1,077 in London
2,181 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#474 of 1,077 in London
1,088 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#454 of 1,077 in London
2,157 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,077 in London
3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in London
#316 Business Hotel in London
#364 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing